bios [torah]

Robot Installation

The robot installation "bios [torah]"

Installation bios [torah]

A robot – writing a Torah? And adopting the human act of writing instead of digital printing?

The exhibition The Creation of the World: Illustrated Manuscripts from the Braginsky Collection (2014) featured the Torah scribe Reuven Yaacobov working on a Torah in front of museumgoers. In contrast, the installation bios [torah] demonstrated that an industrial robot equipped with quill and ink could write a total of 304,805 Hebrew letters on an 80-meter roll of paper at human speed.

Past exhibition
Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Where

Libeskind Building, ground level, Eric F. Ross Gallery


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

The Installation

The installation "bios [torah]" by the artist collective robotlab makes reference to the act of Torah writing performed by a specially trained scribe called a sofer in Jewish tradition. Whereas the sofer guarantees the sanctity of the manuscript, the installation highlights its industrial reproducibility. It simulates a centuries-old cultural technique that has long been overtaken by developments in printing and other media.

A Torah written by the industrial robot is not kosher – its origins fulfill neither the material nor immaterial requirements of Jewish religious law. The robot does not distinguish between parchment and paper. It does not know any blessings. It writes what it is programmed to in the preset manner.

The installation title also refers to a fundamental component of computer technology, the Basic Input/Output System (BIOS). BIOS is the system upon which all other computer programs build and is thus as intrinsic to the evolution of machines as writing is to human cultural history.

robotlab

The robotlab artist collective examines the relationship between human and machine, repeatedly using industrial robots in its public installations and performances. robotlab creates experimental designs that open up new perspectives on the body and the mechanical movements of robots. Thus they serve as a preview of a future in which robots have become a visible part of daily life in society.

robotlab – Matthias Gommel, Martina Haitz, Jan Zappe
bios [torah] (2007/14)
Robot Installation

Work on Hebrew calligraphy and typesetting:
Sahar Aharoni, Karlsruhe

With the kind support of:
ZKM in Karlsruhe, KUKA in Augsburg, LAMY in Heidelberg, PAPIER UNION in Karlsruhe, CORDIER Papier in Bad Durkheim, WINTOPO in Biggleswade, UK

Exhibition Information at a Glance

  • When

    10 July 2014 to 12 April 2015

  • Where

    Libeskind Building, ground level, Eric F. Ross Gallery
    Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin See Location on Map

Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Where

Libeskind Building, ground level, Eric F. Ross Gallery


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

bios [torah]

Roboter-Installation

Die Roboter-Installation bios [torah]; robotlab

Roboter-Installation bios [torah]

Ein Roboter schreibt eine Tora? Und er greift dabei nicht etwa auf digitale Drucktechniken zurück, sondern eignet sich den menschlichen Schreibakt an?

In der Ausstellung Die Erschaffung der Welt. Illustrierte Handschriften aus der Braginsky Collection (2014) war unter anderem zu sehen, wie Tora-Schreiber Reuven Yaacobov live an einer Tora arbeitete. Als Kontrapunkt hierzu zeigte die Installation bios [torah] unseren Besucher*innen, dass und wie ein mit Schreibfeder und Tinte versehener Industrieroboter in der Geschwindigkeit der menschlichen Handschrift eine rund 80 Meter lange Papierrolle mit insgesamt 304.805 hebräischen Buchstaben beschreiben kann.

Ausstellung bereits beendet
Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Ort

Libeskind-Bau EG, Eric F. Ross Galerie


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Die Installation

Die Installation bios [torah] der Künstlergruppe robotlab verweist auf die Tätigkeit des Tora-Schreibens, die in der jüdischen Tradition von einem eigens dafür ausgebildeten Schreiber, dem Sofer, verrichtet wird. Während der Sofer die Heiligkeit der Schrift garantiert, unterstreicht die Installation deren industrielle Reproduzierbarkeit. Sie simuliert eine jahrhundertealte Kulturtechnik, die von den medialen Entwicklungen längst eingeholt wurde.

Eine Tora, die von dem Industrieroboter geschrieben wird, ist nicht koscher: Ihre Entstehung entspricht weder den materiellen noch den immateriellen Erfordernissen des jüdischen Religionsgesetzes. Der Roboter unterscheidet nicht zwischen Pergament und Papier. Er kennt auch keine Segenssprüche. Er schreibt, was und wie er programmiert wurde.

Der Titel der Installation enthält aber auch einen Verweis auf eine elementare Komponente der Computertechnik: das Basic Input Output System (BIOS). BIOS ist das System, auf dem alle Programme eines Computers aufbauen. Es ist für die Entwicklung der Maschine von ebenso fundamentaler Bedeutung wie die Schrift für die Kulturgeschichte des Menschen.

Rabbiner Reuven Yaacobov schreibt während der Laufzeit von Die Erschaffung der Welt. Illustrierte Handschriften aus der Braginsky Collection im Jahr 2014 in den Ausstellungsräumen an einer Tora; Jüdisches Museum Berlin

robotlab

Die Künstlergruppe robotlab setzt sich mit der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine auseinander. In ihren Installationen und Performances im öffentlichen Raum kommen immer wieder Industrieroboter zum Einsatz. robotlab schafft experimentelle Anordnungen, die neue Perspektiven auf den Körper und die mechanischen Bewegungen von Robotern ermöglichen. Sie antizipieren damit den Blick in eine Zukunft, in der Roboter zum sichtbaren Bestandteil gesellschaftlichen Alltags geworden sind.

robotlab/Matthias Gommel, Martina Haitz, Jan Zappe
bios [torah] (2007/14)
Roboterinstallation

Mitarbeit hebräische Kalligrafie und Satz:
Sahar Aharoni, Karlsruhe

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
ZKM Karlsruhe, KUKA Augsburg, LAMY Heidelberg, PAPIER UNION Karlsruhe, CORDIER Papier Bad Dürkheim, WINTOPO Biggleswade/UK

Informationen zur Ausstellung im Überblick

  • Wann

    10. Juli 2014 bis 12. April 2015

  • Wo

    Libeskind-Bau EG, Eric F. Ross Galerie
    Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin Zum Lageplan

Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Ort

Libeskind-Bau EG, Eric F. Ross Galerie


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin