Museum on Site (main site) Kids, Students, Teachers Online Showcases Blogerim (blog)

Kafka-Fragmente op. 24 by György Kurtág

Caroline Melzer, soprano
Nurit Stark, violin
Isabel Robson / Susanne Vincenz, video
Concert with video, 10 April 2013

Videostill: a violinist and a singer in an abandoned roundhouse

The travellers (Caroline Melzer & Nurit Stark), videostill of the installation "Roundhouse Reverb"
© Robson / Vincenz


10 April 2013, 8 pm


Old Building, second level, Great Hall


5 euros, reduced rate 2.50 euros


Tel. +49 (0)30 259 93 488


Gesa Struve
Tel: +49 (0)30 259 93 517
Fax: +49 (0)30 259 93 330

The Kafka Fragments, Op. 24 for soprano and violin from 1987 are among the most important works of contemporary chamber music. György Kurtág used quotations, aphorisms, and sentence fragments by Franz Kafka which feature the motif of journey or path.

The performance of the Kafka Fragments in the installation "Roundhouse Reverb" seeks a new approach to the unique and highly complex work of György Kurtág. His composition for soprano and violin is performed as a concert, but increasingly also as a staged performance. This ambivalence of these two types of performance is even characterized in the score and is picked up on in "Roundhouse Reverb." Here the musical interpretation of the German singer Caroline Melzer and Israeli violinist Nurit Stark is extended to a cinematic level.
The concert is kindly supported by the Ernst von Siemens Foundation and will be broadcast live by "Deutschlandradio Kultur."

Please click here for further information on the installation "Roundhouse Reverb".

Stay in touch