Berlin Gallery Weekend 2019:
Monika Werkstatt

Elektronic live improvisation in the installation »res·o·nant« by Mischa Kuball

Gruppenfoto mit Frauen aus der Musikband

Monika Werkstatt - Ambient Werkstatt; photo: Mara von Kummer

For the Gallery Weekend, the five musicians of Monika Werkstatt working with the music legend Gudrun Gut will immerse the light installation res·o·nant by Mischa Kuball with electronic sounds. It will be the third experimental live gig in the installation space, following performances by bassist William Parker and Detroit techno mainstay Mike Banks.

26 April and 27 April, each 4-8 pm
Map of the Museum's buildings
Where

Jewish Museum Berlin

Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

On 26 and 27 April the collective will perform its "Ambient Werkstatt" in various formations inside the installation situated in two of the famous Voids of the Libeskind building. The musicians want to get involved, mix, and shuffle and to animate enjoyment and learning. Monika Werkstatt does not make music as "pure weekend entertainment but with an unrestrained genuine experimental approach, that is revealing and also vulnerable in its freedom."

We want to inspire in a session without a twin safety net. Mistakes and fractures can occur during the experiment, but the collective performance continues until it’s back in the flow. We want to be more than music.

Monika Werkstatt are:
Sonae
Beate Bartel
Danielle de Picciotto
Gudrun Gut
Islaja
Pilocka Krach

Ladislav Zajac / Archive Mischa Kuball, Dusseldorf, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

About res·o·nant by Mischa Kuball

Mischa Kuball’s installation res·o·nant brings to life two of the iconic Voids in the Libeskind Building of the Jewish Museum Berlin. The installation consists of several rotating projectors that cast light fields shaped like the Voids’ blueprints on the walls and ceilings of the 24-meter-tall spaces. Spinning mirrors and stroboscopic flashes are designed to spark "resonance between architecture and skin." Speakers scattered around the space play 60-second sound clips produced exclusively for res·o·nant by more than 220 musicians.

Supported by

Map of the Museum's buildings
Where

Jewish Museum Berlin

Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Where, when, what?

  • Entry fee

    Included in admission (8 euros, reduced rate 3 euros)

  • Please note The electronic improvisation takes place in the installation res•o•nant by Mischa Kuball

  • For journalists Phone: +49 (0)30 25 993 419
    presse@jmberlin.de

res·o·nant

Light and Sound Installation by Mischa Kuball

Exhibition

17 November 2017 to 1 September 2019
Read More

Calendar of Programs

At a glance ...

Read More

Music

More on This Topic ...

Berlin Gallery Weekend 2019:
Monika Werkstatt

Elektronische Live-Improvisation in der Lichtinstallation »res·o·nant« von Mischa Kuball

Gruppenfoto mit Frauen aus der Musikband

Monika Werkstatt - Ambient Werkstatt; Foto: Mara von Kummer

Die fünf Musikerinnen der Monika Werkstatt um Musik-Legende Gudrun Gut bringen zum Gallery Weekend elektronische Klänge in die Lichtinstallation res·o·nant von Mischa Kuball. Damit wartet nach den Auftritten von Bassist William Parker und Detroit-Techno-Urgestein Mike Banks der dritte experimentelle Live-Gig auf die Besucher*innen.

leider verpasst
Ort

Jüdisches Museum Berlin

Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

In wechselnder Besetzung tritt das Kollektiv am 26. und 27. April mit seiner »Ambient Werkstatt« in der Installation in den Libeskind-Voids im Jüdischen Museum Berlin auf. Dabei geht es den Musikerinnen ums Mitmischen, Einmischen, Genießen und Lernen. Monika Werkstatt macht Musik nicht als »reines Wochenend-Entertainment sondern mit klarem experimentellem Ansatz, sich öffnend und in seiner Freiheit auch verletzbar«.

Wir wollen inspirieren durch eine Session ohne doppeltes Netz, wo während des Experimentierens Fehler und Brüche entstehen können, und wo es immer weiter geht, bis der Bogen im kollektiven Auftritt sich wieder geschlossen hat. Wir wollen mehr als Musik sein.

Monika Werkstatt sind:
Beate Bartel
Danielle de Picciotto
Gudrun Gut
Islaja
Pilocka Krach
Sonae

Ansicht der Lichtinstallation

Ladislav Zajac/Archiv Mischa Kuball, Düsseldorf, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017.

Über res·o·nant von Mischa Kuball

Mit der Installation res·o·nant bespielt Mischa Kuball zwei der ikonischen Leerräume (Voids) im Libeskind-Bau des Jüdischen Museums Berlin. Die Installation besteht aus mehreren rotierenden Projektoren, die in den 24 Meter hohen Räumen Lichtfelder in Form der Void-Grundrisse an Wände und Decken werfen. Mittels drehender Spiegelelemente und Stroboskop-Blitzen entsteht eine »Resonanz zwischen Architektur und Haut«. Über einzelne im Raum verteilte Lautsprecher sind jeweils 60-sekündige Soundclips zu hören, die von mehr als 220 Musiker*innen eigens für res·o·nant produziert wurden.

Mit Unterstützung der

Logo der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft
Ort

Jüdisches Museum Berlin

Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Was, wann, wo?

  • Wann

    Freitag, 26. April und Samstag, 27. April 2019, jeweils 16-20 Uhr

  • Wo
    Jüdisches Museum Berlin

    Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

  • Eintritt

    Mit dem Museumsticket (8 Euro, erm. 3 Euro)

  • Hinweis Die elektronische Improvisation findet in der Installation res•o•nant von Mischa Kuball statt

  • Anmeldung für Journalist*innen Tel.: +49 (0)30 25 993 419
    presse@jmberlin.de

res·o·nant

Licht- und Klanginstallation von Mischa Kuball

Ausstellung

17. November 2017 bis 1. September 2019
Weiterlesen

Veranstaltungskalender

Auf einen Blick ...

Weiterlesen

Musik

Mehr zum Thema ...