Skip to main content

The Jewish Museum Berlin will be closed for renovation until further notice. Regrettably, the corona pandemic has caused delays in the construction of the new exhibition. We will inform you of the opening date as soon as possible.

Educators’ Night

Kick-off Event for Pedagogical Professionals

On 17 May 2020, the time will be upon us at last – the Jewish Museum Berlin will open its new permanent exhibition and the children’s museum ANOHA for our youngest visitors aged 3 to 10. We are already working hard on developing our educational programs to include these two major new projects. As part of the kick-off Educators’ Night event on 26 November 2019, it is our pleasure to invite you, dear teachers, carers, and educators to familiarize yourselves with the offers surrounding the new exhibition in a relaxed atmosphere.

Past event

Where

W. M. Blumenthal Academy,
Klaus Mangold Auditorium
Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin (Opposite the Museum)

Take advantage of this opportunity to visit various themed areas and test our innovative educational offers for elementary, primary, and secondary levels that will be held on- and off-site in future. Our guides and museum educators look forward to speaking to you and incorporating your suggestions and wishes into the further development of the programs.

Grasp this unique chance to have a peek behind the construction site fences of the new children’s museum ANOHA and learn more about the impressive exhibition concept and content!

Drei Frauen sitzend

Photo: Nadja Rentzsch

Program

from 4.30 pm admission, accreditation
5 pm Educators’ Night opening
Welcome: Martin Michaelis (Managing Director, Jewish Museum Berlin)
Welcome: Jürgen Fitschen (Chairman, Deutsche Bank Foundation)
Panel discussion: Dr. Diana Dressel (Head of Education, Jewish Museum Berlin) and Dr. Ane Kleine-Engel (Head of ANOHA, Jewish Museum Berlin)
approx. 6 pm the programs in the themed rooms begin

Room 1: The New Permanent Exhibition – an in-depth look

Exhibition curators present the themes and content of the new permanent exhibition, which range from the history of relations between Jews and Christians in the Middle Ages to the significance of Israel for German Jews today. You will gain an overview of the entire exhibition and a detailed look at originals from the museum’s collection.

Room 2: The New Permanent Exhibition – learning formats for secondary schools

Following an overview of the topics covered by our new permanent exhibition, we present educational formats for schools. Our aim is to bring the contents of the exhibition and your requirements of it together. Thus we invite you to discuss your wishes and needs for the out-of-school learning location JMB with us. The results will flow directly into the conception of our educational programs.

Room 3: ANOHA – The educational concept of the new children’s museum

Based on the Jewish concept of Tikkun Olam, we ask the question in the children’s museum how each of us can help a little to make the world a better place. The centerpiece of the exhibition is an ark over 7 meters high with 150 animal inhabitants. In the exhibition and studio rooms, we would like to explore themes such as diversity and identity, climate change and a fair and sustainable use of resources. Support us in our search for topics, discuss pedagogical approaches with us, and learn about future group programs at ANOHA.

Children gymnastics on the lettering ANOHA

Photo: Sibylle Baier

Room 4: ANOHA ON TOUR – mobile programs for nurseries and primary schools

As part of our outreach program, we are currently working on a play for nursery-age children and an interactive exhibition format for primary schools. We will provide insights into the current state of development of these projects and look forward hearing your reactions and ideas and to discussing the examples and scene sketches we will show you.

Pointing fingers at an iPad

Photo: Svea Pietschmann

Room 5: Outreach – mobile programs for secondary schools

Discover, pick up, and test the mobile exhibition on.tour. The JMB Tours Schools in this room! We also present the new digital on.tour program Jewish Places, which has been on the road since August 2019. You will get to know the jewish-places.de website, which school students can use to research local Jewish history and also create their own contributions. We are still looking for schools interested in developing new mobile educational modules that address the themes of our new permanent exhibition – you are welcome to apply!

The new conception of our mobile services is supported by

Jewish Places

jewish-places.de

Where, when, what?

  • When Tuesday, 26 November 2019, 4.30–9 pm
  • Where W. M. Blumenthal Academy, Klaus Mangold Auditorium

    Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
    (Opposite the Museum)

    See location on map
  • Entry fee

    Free of charge (registration is no longer possible, the event is fully booked)

  • For journalists Phone: +49 (0)30 25 993 419
    presse@jmberlin.de

Educators’ Night

Auftaktveranstaltung für pädagogische Fachkräfte zur neuen Dauerausstellung und zum neuen Kindermuseum

Logo Educators' Night

Am 17. Mai 2020 ist es so weit: Das Jüdische Museum Berlin eröffnet eine neue Dauerausstellung und das Kindermuseum ANOHA für seine jüngsten Besucher*innen von 3 bis 10 Jahren. Wir arbeiten bereits jetzt intensiv an der Weiterentwicklung unserer pädagogischen Programme für diese beiden großen Projekte. Im Rahmen der Auftaktveranstaltung Educators' Night am 26. November 2019 laden wir Sie, liebe Lehrer*innen, Erzieher*innen und Pädagog*innen, ein, noch vor Eröffnung des „neuen“ JMB die begleitenden Angebote in entspannter Atmosphäre kennenzulernen.

26. November, 16:30 Uhr
Ort

W. M. Blumenthal Akademie,
Klaus Mangold Auditorium


Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
(gegenüber dem Museum)

Nutzen Sie die Chance und testen Sie in verschiedenen Themenräumen unsere innovativen Bildungsangebote für die Elementar-, Primar- und Sekundarstufe, die zukünftig im und außerhalb des Museums durchgeführt werden. Unsere Guides und Museumspädagog*innen freuen sich, mit Ihnen ins Gespräch zu kommen und Ihre Anregungen und Wünsche in die weitere Entwicklung der Programme einfließen zu lassen.

Werfen Sie auch einen exklusiven Blick hinter die Bauzäune des neuen Kindermuseums ANOHA. Wir bieten Ihnen die einmalige Möglichkeit, mehr über den beeindruckenden Ausstellungsbau und die -inhalte zu erfahren.

Drei Frauen sitzend

Foto: Nadja Rentzsch

Programm

ab 16:30 Uhr Einlass, Akkreditierung
17 Uhr Eröffnung der Educators’ Night
ca. 18 Uhr Öffnung der Themenräume

Raum 1: Die neue Dauerausstellung – ein vertiefender Blick

Kurator*innen der Ausstellung präsentieren Themen und Inhalte der neuen Dauerausstellung, die von der Beziehungsgeschichte von Juden und Christen im Mittelalter bis zur Bedeutung Israels für deutsche Jüdinnen und Juden heute reicht. Sie erhalten einen Überblick über die gesamte Ausstellung und einen detaillierten Blick auf Originale der Sammlung des Museums.

Raum 2: Die neue Dauerausstellung – Lernformate für weiterführende Schulen

Nach einem Überblick über die Themen unserer neuen Dauerausstellung stellen wir Ihnen Bildungsformate für Schulen vor. Unser Ziel ist es, Inhalte der Ausstellung und Ihre Bedarfe zusammenzubringen. Sie sind eingeladen, mit uns über Ihre Wünsche und Anforderungen an den außerschulischen Lernort JMB ins Gespräch zu kommen. Die Ergebnisse fließen direkt in die Konzeption der Bildungsprogramme ein.

Raum 3: ANOHA – Das pädagogische Konzept des neuen Kindermuseums

Angelehnt an das jüdische Konzept des Tikkun Olam stellen wir im Kindermuseum die Frage, was jede*r von uns tun kann, um die Welt ein Stück besser zu machen. Herzstück der Ausstellung ist eine über 7 Meter hohe Arche mit 150 tierischen Bewohner*innen. In den Ausstellungs- und Atelierräumen möchten wir Themen wie Vielfalt und Identität, Klimawandel sowie ein gerechter und nachhaltiger Umgang mit Ressourcen erkunden. Unterstützen Sie uns bei der Themensuche, diskutieren Sie mit uns die Vermittlungsansätze und informieren Sie sich über zukünftige Gruppenangebote im ANOHA.

Kinder turnen auf dem Schriftzug ANOHA

Foto: Sibylle Baier

Raum 4: ANOHA UNTERWEGS– mobile Angebote für KiTa und Grundschule

Im Rahmen der Outreach-Programme entsteht derzeit ein Theaterstück für Kinder im KiTa-Alter und ein interaktives Ausstellungsformat für die Grundschule. Wir geben Einblick in den aktuellen Entwicklungsstand dieser Projekte, kommen mit Ihnen anhand von Beispielen und Szenenskizzen ins Gespräch und freuen uns auf Ihre Reaktionen und Ideen.

Finger zeigen auf ein iPad

Foto: Svea Pietschmann

Raum 5: Outreach – mobile Angebote für weiterführende Schulen

In diesem Raum entdecken, wenden und testen Sie die mobile Ausstellung on.tour. Das JMB macht Schule. Außerdem präsentieren wir das neue digitale on.tour-Programm Jewish Places, das seit August 2019 unterwegs ist. Sie lernen die Webseite jewish-places.de kennen, mit der Schüler*innen jüdische Lokalgeschichte recherchieren und eigene Beiträge erstellen können.
Für die Entwicklung neuer mobiler Bildungsmodule, die sich mit Themen unserer neuen Dauerausstellung befassen, suchen wir noch interessierte Schulen – Sie können sich gerne bewerben.

Die Neukonzeptionierung der mobilen Bildungsprogramme wird gefördert durch

Anmeldeformular

Ort

W. M. Blumenthal Akademie,
Klaus Mangold Auditorium


Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
(gegenüber dem Museum)

Was, wann, wo?

  • Wann

    Dienstag, 26. November 2019, 16:30–21 Uhr

  • Wo
    W. M. Blumenthal Akademie,
    Klaus Mangold Auditorium

    
Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
    (gegenüber dem Museum)

  • Eintritt

    frei – Online-Anmeldung über das oben stehende Formular bis zum 10. November.

  • Anmeldung für Journalist*innen Tel.: +49 (0)30 25 993 419
    presse@jmberlin.de