Skip to main content

On 23 August 2020, the Jewish Museum Berlin is opening its new core exhibition. Until then the museum will be closed for renovations.

Mourning and Consolation

A Nelly Sachs Evening with Concert and Reading

With the Dresden Chamber Chor and the Actress Ute Wieckhorst

"Which of us dare offer consolation?" wrote the poet Nelly Sachs when confronted with the cruelty of the Holocaust in a poem. In tender yet harsh language, she found unique images for suffering, persecution, and extermination during the Nazi era.

On International Holocaust Remembrance Day, the Dresden Chamber Choir will be our guest for a concert that has the literary work of Nobel Prize winner Nelly Sachs at its heart.

Past event


Old Building, ground level, Glass Courtyard

Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

The actress Ute Wieckhorst will recite a selection of poems by Nelly Sachs, who escaped deportation at the last minute in 1940.

The haunting tone of her poetry inspired the composers Felicitas Kukuck and Isang Yun to write vocal pieces. Both of them experienced persecution first hand in the 20th century – Felicita Kukuck was subjected to Nazi reprisals because of her Jewish ancestors; Isang Yun was kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured by the South Korean secret service.

The choral works of Herman Berlinski – who found the leitmotif for his musical creation in the commemoration of the Holocaust – will frame the evening. With the requiem of the Spanish renaissance composer Tomás Luis de Victoria, the Dresden Chamber Choir provides a Christian reflection on consolation alongside modern literary and musical works.

Porträtfoto von Ute Wieckhorst mit Flechtfrisur im Halbprofil

Ute Wieckhorst; photo: Heike Steinweg


  • Nelly Sachs (1891–1970): Poetry and Prose
  • Tomas Luis de Victoria (1548–1611): Officium Defunctorum
  • Herman Berlinski (1910–2001): Miyi ten Roshi Mayim / Amen
  • Felicitas Kuckuck (1914–2001): Motettes (after texts by Nelly Sachs)
  • Isang Yun (1917–1995): The Lord is My Shepherd (after Psalm 23 and a text by Nelly Sachs)


  • Ute Wieckhorst, recital
  • Mike Svoboda, trombone
  • Georg Wieland Wagner, percussion
  • Dresden Chamber Choir
  • Hans-Christoph Rademann, conductor
Mann mit grau­me­liertem Haar und Brille in Frontalansicht

Hans-Christoph Rademann; photo: Matthias Heyde

Where, when, what?

  • Entry fee

    Tickets 15 euros, reduced 12 euros

  • Tickets

    Book tickets online (external website)
    or by phone on +49 (0)351 80 44 100

    For journalists Phone: +49 (0)30 25 993 419

    Please note

    In cooperation with the Dresden Chamber Choir and Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen