Skip to main content

With time slot tickets only – you can book these tickets in our ticket shop.

Mike Banks: Soundscapes

Live Installation for Berlin Art Week

As part of Berlin Art Week, the American musician Mike Banks will be performing his piece Soundscapes live at the Jewish Museum Berlin.

On two days, he will playing music in the res·o·nant installation by Mischa Kuball, incorporating multiple synthesizers whose sounds interact with Mischa Kuball’s installation and Daniel Libeskind’s architecture. The result will be an ever-shifting sound performance that gives visitors a new perspective on Mischa Kuball’s installation and the museum’s Voids.

Past event

Map with all buildings that belong to the Jewish Museum Berlin. The Libeskind building is marked in green

Where

Libeskind Building, lower level, axes
Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Mike Banks

Mike Banks is a record producer and a key player in the Detroit techno scene. Together with Jeff Mills, he co-founded the music project and internationally known record label Underground Resistance. Bank’s projects and Underground Resistance stand apart for both their radical musical taste and their persistent social criticism.

About res·o·nant by Mischa Kuball

Mischa Kuball’s installation res·o·nant brings to life two of the iconic Voids in the Libeskind Building of the Jewish Museum Berlin. The installation consists of several rotating projectors that cast light fields shaped like the Voids’ blueprints on the walls and ceilings of the 24-meter-tall spaces. Spinning mirrors and stroboscopic flashes are designed to spark “resonance between architecture and skin.” Speakers scattered around the space play 60-second sound clips produced exclusively for res·o·nant by more than 150 musicians.

Berlin Art Week

To the webseite

Mike Banks

More on Wikipedia

Supported by

carharrt - work in progress

Media partners

Logo: monopol. Magazine for art and living

Where, when, what?

  • When Friday 28 September, 4–8 pm
    Saturday 29 September, 4–8 pm
  • Where Libeskind Building, lower level, axes

    Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

    See location on map
  • Entry fee

    Included in admission (8 euros, reduced rate 3 euros)

  • For journalists Phone: +49 (0)30 25 993 419
    presse@jmberlin.de

Share, Newsletter, Feedback

Mike Banks: Soundscapes

Live Installation im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week

Anlässlich der Berlin Art Week tritt der US-amerikanische Musiker Mike Banks mit der Live-Performance »Soundscapes« im Jüdischen Museum Berlin auf.

An zwei Tagen bespielt er die Installation res·o·nant von Mischa Kuball. Dabei bringt er mehrere Synthesizer zum Einsatz, deren Sounds Verbindungen zur Installation Mischa Kuballs und Architektur Daniel Libeskinds herstellen. Es entsteht eine sich ständig wandelnde Sound-Performance, die Besucher*innen Mischa Kuballs Installation und die Voids neu erleben lässt.

leider verpasst
Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Ort

Libeskind-Bau UG, Achsen


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Mike Banks

Mike Banks ist als Musikproduzent eine Schlüsselfigur des Detroit Techno. Gemeinsam mit Jeff Mills gründete er das Musikprojekt und Label Underground Resistance (UR) und wurde damit international bekannt. Neben einer unverwechselbaren musikalischen Radikalität zeichnen sich die Projekte von Banks und Underground Resistance dadurch aus, dass sie immer wieder auch sozialkritische Kommentare enthalten.

Über res·o·nant von Mischa Kuball

Mit der Installation res·o·nant bespielt Mischa Kuball zwei der ikonischen Leerräume (Voids) im Libeskind-Bau des Jüdischen Museums Berlin. Die Installation besteht aus mehreren rotierenden Projektoren, die in den 24 Meter hohen Räumen Lichtfelder in Form der Void-Grundrisse an Wände und Decken werfen. Mittels drehender Spiegelelemente und Stroboskop-Blitzen entsteht eine »Resonanz zwischen Architektur und Haut«. Über einzelne im Raum verteilte Lautsprecher sind jeweils 60-sekündige Soundclips zu hören, die von mehr als 150 Musiker*innen eigens für res·o·nant produziert wurden.

Berlin Art Week

zur Webseite

Mit Unterstützung von

Logo der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft
carharrt - work in progress

Medienpartner

Logo: monopol. Magazine for art and living
Gebäudeplan mit Markierung des Libeskindbaus
Ort

Libeskind-Bau UG, Achsen


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Was, wann, wo?

  • Wann

    Freitag, 28. September, 16 bis 20 Uhr
    Samstag, 29. September, 16 bis 20 Uhr

  • Wo
    Libeskind-Bau UG, Achsen

    
Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

  • Eintritt

    mit dem Museumsticket (8 Euro, erm. 3 Euro)

Veranstaltungskalender

Auf einen Blick ...

Weiterlesen

res·o·nant LIVE

Urban Intervention von Mischa Kuball

Berlin Art Week

26. bis 30. September 2018
Weiterlesen