res·o·nant LIVE

Urban Intervention by Mischa Kuball

For this year’s Berlin Art Week, the artist Mischa Kuball will expand his installation res·o·nant from the Jewish Museum Berlin to the city space.

With his light and sound installation, he plays two of the iconic voids of the museum building by architect Daniel Libeskind. The voids symbolize the physical gaps created by the destruction of Jewish life.

26–30 September

Oranienstraße 1, 10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

With res·o·nant LIVE, Kuball transfers the sharp corners and asymmetrical edges of the void in a floor installation. The intervention creates relationships between the inside of the museum and urban space.

As a site of intervention, Mischa Kuball chose the start of Kreuzberg’s Oranienstraße. He takes the reference to the poem Oranienstraße I by Paul Celan in Libeskind’s design of the museum building, where emblematic axes and voids are inscribed with numerous links to sites of Jewish life. With his conception, Kuball explores an additional space of resonance between the gaps as sites of memory and the Berlin present.

Supported by

Logo der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft

Media Partner

Logo: monopol. Magazin für Kunst und Leben

Oranienstraße 1, 10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

Where, when, what?

  • Entry fee

    free

res·o·nant

Light and Sound Installation by Mischa Kuball

Exhibition

from 17 November 2017
Read More

Calendar of Programs

At a glance ...

Read More

Juan Atkins: Deep Space

A Live Evolving Installation with Synthesizers

Berlin Art Week

28 and 29 September 2018
Read More

res·o·nant LIVE

Urban Intervention von Mischa Kuball

Zur Berlin Art Week erweitert der Künstler Mischa Kuball seine Installation res·o·nant ausgehend vom Jüdischen Museum Berlin in den Stadtraum.

Mit seiner Licht- und Klanginstallation bespielt er zwei der ikonischen Voids des Museumsgebäudes von Architekt Daniel Libeskind. Die Leerräume symbolisieren die physische Leere, die durch die Vernichtung jüdischen Lebens entstanden ist.

26. bis 30. September

Oranienstraße 1, 10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

Mit res·o·nant LIVE überträgt Kuball die spitzen Winkel und asymmetrischen Kanten der Voids in eine Bodeninstallation. Die Intervention schafft einen temporären Erfahrungsraum, der Beziehungen zwischen dem Inneren des Museums und dem urbanen Raum herstellt.

Als Ort der Intervention hat Mischa Kuball den Beginn der Oranienstraße in Kreuzberg ausgewählt. Damit nimmt er den Verweis auf das Gedicht Oranienstraße I von Paul Celan in Libeskinds Entwurf des Museumsgebäudes auf, in das mit seinen emblematischen Achsen und Voids zahlreiche Bezüge zu Orten jüdischen Lebens eingeschrieben sind. Mit seiner Konzeption spannt Kuball einen weiten Resonanzraum zwischen den Leerstellen als Erinnerungsorten und der Berliner Gegenwart.

Mit Unterstützung von

Logo der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft

Medienpartner

Logo: monopol. Magazin für Kunst und Leben

Oranienstraße 1, 10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

Was, wann, wo?

  • Wann

    26. bis 30. September 2018

  • Wo

    Oranienstraße 1, 10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

  • Eintritt

    frei

res·o·nant

Licht- und Klanginstallation von Mischa Kuball

Ausstellung

ab 17. November 2017
Weiterlesen

Veranstaltungskalender

Auf einen Blick ...

Weiterlesen

Juan Atkins: Deep Space

Live Installation in res·o·nant

Berlin Art Week

28. und 29. September 2018
Weiterlesen