"Life? or Theatre?": Main Section

Second part of the cycle by Charlotte Salomon

Paulinka Bimbam and the voice teacher Amadeus Daberlohn, from "Life? or Theatre? "Daberlohn would like to make Paulinka the greatest singer in the world, from "Life? or Theatre?"Daberlohn and Charlotte set out on a boat trip, from "Life? or Theatre?"
Pictures (top to bottom):
Paulinka Bimbam and the voice teacher Amadeus Daberlohn: "So we are supposed to work together?", from "Life? or Theatre? ", sheet 4378.
Daberlohn would like to make Paulinka the greatest singer in the world: "Yes, I present to the world its greatest singer. Worship me for this - I am your savior!", from "Life? or Theatre?", sheet 4385.
Daberlohn and Charlotte set out on a boat trip, DABERLOHN: "This is my new religion", from "Life? or Theatre?", sheet 4697r.
© (for all pictures) Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam

Red: "Main Section"

In the red part the characters Charlotte Kann, the singer Paulinka Bimbam and the voice teacher Amadeus Daberlohn play the main roles. A conflict-ridden complex of relationships develops between them. In the first half the voice teacher Daberlohn adores the singer Paulinka. Charlotte falls in love with the voice teacher and Daberlohn increasingly turns his attentions to Charlotte.

Instead of writing her texts for this part on tracing paper, Charlotte painted them into the pictures. The text becomes a characteristic element of the picture. When a character speaks, that character's face appears on a series of sheets. For loquacious Daberlohn's monologues she resorts to a special design element: his flow of words spans several pictures. In longer sequences it is distributed over many sheets.

Contents

The voice teacher Amadeus Daberlohn (Alfred Wolfsohn) appears. He is supposed to work as répétiteur, as piano accompanist, for Paulinka Bimbam's rehearsals. He is enthralled by Paulinka and wants to apply his theories of vocal training to mold her into the best singer in the world. Paulina doesn't think much of his ideas, though.

Daberlohn does make a great impression on Charlotte, however. His devotion and encouragement inspire her artistic ambition and her heart. Initially Daberlohn sees in Charlotte merely a suitable object for his theories about the soul and artistic expression. Charlotte and Daberlohn become better acquainted. She falls in love with him.
Now the secret love affair between Charlotte and Daberlohn begins. They meet for a boat trip and make love.

In the night of the pogroms, 9 November 1938, when synagogues and Jewish businesses in Germany are destroyed and Jews detained, Charlotte's father is among those arrested. He is sent to the Sachsenhausen concentration camp. With great effort, and thanks only to her good contacts, Paulinka manages to get him released. Life for Jews has become too dangerous in Germany. Charlotte is sent to her grandparents in the south of France. Paulinka and Albert decide to leave the country as well.

Pictures

Soon you will be able to view a small selection of pictures from the first part of the cycle "Life? or Theatre?" here.

A catalog of the exhibition has been published.

When: 17 August to 25 November 2007,
daily from 10 to 8, Mondays to 10 (closed: 9/13+14, 9/22, 9/25, 11/17/2007)
Where: Jewish Museum Berlin, Lindenstrasse 9-14, 10969 Berlin

An exhibition of the Jewish Museum Berlin in collaboration with Joods Historisch Museum Amsterdam.

Mit einer Installation von Chantal Akerman. Vom 17. August bis 25. November 2007

»Leben? oder Theater?« - Hauptteil

Zweiter Teil des Bilderzyklus' von Charlotte Salomon

Paulinka Bimbam und der Gesangspädagoge Amadeus Daberlohn, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4378 - © Charlotte Salomon Foundation, AmsterdamDaberlohn möchte Paulinka zur größten Sängerin der Welt machen, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4385 - © Charlotte Salomon Foundation, AmsterdamDaberlohn und Charlotte unternehmen eine Bootsfahrt, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4697r - © Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam
Bilder (von oben nach unten):
Paulinka Bimbam und der Gesangspädagoge Amadeus Daberlohn: »Wir sollen also zusammen arbeiten?«, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4378.
Daberlohn möchte Paulinka zur größten Sängerin der Welt machen: »Ja, ich schenke der Welt die größte Sängerin. Drum verehrt mich - ich bin Euer Erlöser!«, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4385.
Daberlohn und Charlotte unternehmen eine Bootsfahrt, DABERLOHN: »Das ist meine neue Religion«, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4697r.
© (für alle Bilder) Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam

Rot: »Hauptteil«

Im roten Teil spielen die Figuren Charlotte Kann, die Sängerin Paulinka Bimbam und der Gesangspädagoge Amadeus Daberlohn die Hauptrollen. Zwischen ihnen entwickelt sich ein konfliktreiches Beziehungsgeflecht. In der ersten Hälfte schwärmt der Gesangspädagoge Daberlohn für die Sängerin Paulinka. Charlotte verliebt sich in den Gesangspädagogen und auch Daberlohn wendet sich mehr und mehr Charlotte zu.

Charlotte schrieb ihre Texte hier nicht mehr auf Transparente, sondern malte sie in die Bilder hinein. Der Text wird ein charakteristisches Element der Bilder. Wenn eine Figur spricht, dann erscheint ihr Gesicht serienweise auf einem Blatt. Für die Monologe des redseligen Daberlohn greift sie zu einem besonderen Gestaltungsmittel: sein Redefluss erstreckt sich über mehrere Bilder. In langen Sequenzen ist er über viele Blätter verteilt.

Inhalt

Der Gesangspädagoge Amadeus Daberlohn (Alfred Wolfsohn) tritt auf. Er soll als Korrepetitor, als Klavierbegleiter bei den Proben, bei Paulinka Bimbam arbeiten. Er ist begeistert von Paulinka und will sie nach seinen Gesangstheorien zur besten Sängerin formen. Doch Paulinka hält nichts von seinen Ideen.

Auf Charlotte macht Daberlohn dagegen einen großen Eindruck. Seine Zuwendung und Ermutigung beflügeln ihren künstlerischen Ehrgeiz und ihr Herz. Daberlohn sieht in Charlotte zunächst nur ein geeignetes Objekt für seine Theorien über Seele und künstlerischen Ausdruck. Charlotte und Daberlohn lernen sich näher kennen. Sie verliebt sich in ihn.
Nun beginnt die heimliche Liebesgeschichte zwischen Charlotte und Daberlohn. Sie treffen sich zu einem Bootsauflug und lieben sich.

In der Pogromnacht des 9. November 1938, als Synagogen und jüdische Geschäfte in Deutschland zerstört und Juden verhaftet werden, wird auch Charlottes Vater festgenommen. Er kommt ins Konzentrationslager Sachenhausen. Paulinka erwirkt mit großer Mühe und nur dank guter Kontakte seine Freilassung. Das Leben ist für Juden in Deutschland gefährlich geworden. Charlotte wird zu ihren Großeltern nach Südfrankreich geschickt. Paulinka und Albert beschließen, ebenfalls das Land zu verlassen.

Bilder

Demnächst werden Sie hier eine kleine Auswahl an Bildern aus dem ersten Teil des Bilderzyklus »Leben? oder Theater?« anschauen können.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.

Wann: 17. August bis 25. November 2007,
täglich von 10 bis 20 Uhr, montags bis 22 Uhr (außer: 13./14.9., 22.9., 25.9., 17.11.2007)
Wo: Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Lindenstr. 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Eine Ausstellung des Jüdischen Museums Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Joods Historisch Museum Amsterdam.

Mit einer Installation von Chantal Akerman. Vom 17. August bis 25. November 2007