"Life? or Theatre?": Afterword

Third and final part of the picture cycle by Charlotte Salomon

Grandfather Knarre tells Charlotte of the suicides in her family, from "Life? or Theatre?"Charlotte is afraid of going crazy, from "Life? or Theatre?"
Pictures (top to bottom):
Grandfather Knarre tells Charlotte of the suicides in her family, from "Life? or Theatre?", sheet 4860
Charlotte is afraid of going crazy, from "Life? or Theatre?", sheet 4907
© (for all pictures) Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam

Yellow: "Afterword"

The setting of the Singespiel is now a town in sunny southern France. The emigrated Charlotte Kann is living there with her grandparents. Now she learns of the tragedy of her family history, known to the observer since the "Prelude". The more Charlotte confronts the tragedy of the suicides, the more expressive her drawings become. The pictures seem sketchy and impulsive.

Contents

Charlotte is living in exile with her grandparents. When German troops invade France, the grandmother loses all hope and takes her own life shortly thereafter. Now her grandfather tells Charlotte about the suicides in her family, including her mother's suicide.

After the German Wehrmacht invades France in May 1940 Charlotte and her grandfather are brought, with many other refugees, to the internment camp in Gurs. In July 1940 they are released because of the grandfather's advanced age.

Charlotte Kann is close to a nervous breakdown. She sees herself presented with the choice of killing herself, or "etwas ganz verrücktBesonderes zu tun" ("doing something crazySpecial"), as she writes on one of the last sheets, filled only with text. In this she remembers Daberlohn's words, that one has to "figure oneself out in order to reinvent oneself". She begins with the work on "Life? or Theatre?".

Pictures

Soon you will be able to view a small selection of pictures from the first part of the cycle "Life? or Theatre?" here.

A catalog of the exhibition has been published.

When: 17 August to 25 November 2007,
daily from 10 to 8, Mondays to 10 (closed: 9/13+14, 9/22, 9/25, 11/17/2007)
Where: Jewish Museum Berlin, Lindenstrasse 9-14, 10969 Berlin

An exhibition of the Jewish Museum Berlin in collaboration with Joods Historisch Museum Amsterdam.

Mit einer Installation von Chantal Akerman. Vom 17. August bis 25. November 2007

»Leben? oder Theater?« - Nachwort

Dritter und letzter Teil des Bilderzyklus' von Charlotte Salomon

Großvater Knarre erzählt Charlotte von den Selbstmorden in ihrer Familie, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4860 - © Charlotte Salomon Foundation, AmsterdamCharlotte fürchtet, wahnsinnig zu werden, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4907 - © Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam
Bilder (von oben nach unten):
Großvater Knarre erzählt Charlotte von den Selbstmorden in ihrer Familie, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4860
Charlotte fürchtet, wahnsinnig zu werden, aus »Leben? oder Theater?«, Blatt 4907
© (für alle Bilder) Charlotte Salomon Foundation, Amsterdam

Gelb: »Nachwort«

Der Schauplatz des Singspieles ist nun ein Ort im sonnigen Südfrankreich. Die emigrierte Charlotte Kann lebt dort zusammen mit ihren Großeltern. Nun erst erfährt sie von der Tragik ihrer Familiengeschichte, von der der Betrachter schon seit dem »Vorspiel« weiß. Je mehr sich Charlotte mit der Tragik der Selbstmorde auseinandersetzt, desto expressiver werden ihre Zeichnungen. Die Bilder wirken skizzenhaft und impulsiv gemalt.

Inhalt

Charlotte lebt bei ihren Großeltern in der Emigration. Als die deutschen Truppen in Frankreich einmarschieren, verliert die Großmutter jegliche Hoffnung und nimmt sich bald darauf das Leben. Nun erfährt Charlotte von ihrem Großvater von den Selbstmorden in der Familie, auch vom Freitod ihrer Mutter.

Nach dem Einmarsch der deutschen Wehrmacht nach Frankreich im Mai 1940 werden Charlotte und ihr Großvater mit zahlreichen anderen Flüchtlingen in das Internierungslager Gurs gebracht. Im Juli 1940 werden sie wegen des hohen Alters des Großvaters freigelassen.

Charlotte Kann ist einem Nervenzusammenbruch nahe. Sie sieht sich vor die Frage gestellt, den Freitod zu wählen oder »etwas ganz verrücktBesonderes zu tun«, wie sie auf einem der letzten, nur mit Text gefüllten Blätter schreibt. Da erinnert sie sich an die Worte Daberlohns, man müsse »sich selbst ergründen, um sich neu zu erschaffen«. Sie beginnt mit der Arbeit an »Leben? oder Theater?«.

Bilder

Demnächst werden Sie hier eine kleine Auswahl an Bildern aus dem ersten Teil des Bilderzyklus »Leben? oder Theater?« anschauen können.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.

Wann: 17. August bis 25. November 2007,
täglich von 10 bis 20 Uhr, montags bis 22 Uhr (außer: 13./14.9., 22.9., 25.9., 17.11.2007)
Wo: Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Lindenstr. 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Eine Ausstellung des Jüdischen Museums Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Joods Historisch Museum Amsterdam.

Mit einer Installation von Chantal Akerman. Vom 17. August bis 25. November 2007