Header Image
Glossary - B

Salo W. Baron (1895-1989)

Noted historian Salo W. Baron was intensely involved in the search and preservation of Jewish cultural items in post-Holocaust Europe. He was the founder and president of the Commission on European Jewish Cul¬tural Reconstruction (CEJCR). The organization was the predecessor of the Jewish Cultural Reconstruction, Inc. (JCR), founded in 1947.


See:
Gustav Barthel (1903-?)

Gustav Barthel (1903-1972)

Gustav Barthel, director of the Städtische Kunstsammlungen Breslau (Municipal Art Collections Breslau), participated in art looting in Poland and co-authored the catalogue "Secured Works of Art in the General Government" that listed cultural assets that had been confiscated in Poland. Apart from that, he took advantage of his relationships to Jewish private collectors to acquire their works inexpensively.


See:
Baron Kurt von Behr (1890-1945)

Baron Kurt von Behr (1890-1945)

Together with Robert Scholz, the former Red Cross official Kurt von Behr headed the special "Fine Arts" team and the central task force in France until mid-1942. In this capcity he organized the so-called "Furniture Action," in which art objects, furniture and all types of household goods were confiscated from the homes of Jews who had either fled the country or had been deported.


See:
Isaac Bencowitz (1896-1972)

Isaac Bencowitz (1896-1972)

As Seymour Pomrenze’s successor, Isaac Bencowitz was responsible for the Offenbach Archival Depot from May to October 1946. He developed an ordering and identification system based on photographs of ex libris and library stamps that enabled the consolidation of libraries that had been torn asunder.


See:
Ernst Buchner (1892-1962)

Ernst Buchner (1892-1962)

Ernst Buchner, the director of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Painting Collections), assisted the Gestapo in the confiscation of Jewish collections. He played a crucial role in the removal of the Gent altarpiece to Germany. Dismissed from his position in 1945, he was reinstalled in 1953.


See:

Header Image
Glossar - B

Salo W. Baron (1895-1989)

Der Historiker Salo W. Baron engagierte sich als Gründer und Präsident der Commission on European Jewish Cultural Reconstruction (CEJCR) intensiv für die Auffindung und Bewahrung jüdischer Kulturgüter in Europa nach dem Holocaust. Die Organisation war Vorläuferin der 1947 gegründeten Jewish Cultural Reconstruction, Inc. (JCR).


Siehe auch:
Gustav Barthel (1903-?)

Gustav Barthel (1903-1972)

Gustav Barthel, Direktor der städtischen Kunstsammlungen Breslau, war am Kunstraub in Polen beteiligt und Mitautor des Katalogs »Sichergestellte Kunstwerke im Generalgouvernement«, der in Polen beschlagnahmte Kulturgüter verzeichnete. Außerdem nutzte er seine Beziehungen zu jüdischen Privatsammlern, um deren Werke günstig zu erwerben.


Siehe auch:
Baron Kurt von Behr (1890-1945)

Baron Kurt von Behr (1890-1945)

Der ehemalige Rotkreuzfunktionär Kurt von Behr leitete bis Mitte 1942 gemeinsam mit Robert Scholz den Sonderstab »Bildende Kunst« und die Hauptarbeitsgruppe Frankreich. In dieser Funktion organisierte er 1942 die sogenannte »Möbel-Aktion«, im Zuge derer Kunstgegenstände, Möbel und Hausrat aller Art aus den Wohnungen geflohener oder deportierter Juden beschlagnahmt wurden.


Siehe auch:
Isaac Bencowitz (1896-1972)

Isaac Bencowitz (1896-1972)

Als Nachfolger von Seymour Pomrenze war Isaac Bencowitz von Mai bis Oktober 1946 für das Offenbach Archival Depot verantwortlich. Er entwickelte ein auf Fotografien von Exlibris und Bibliotheksstempeln basierendes Ordnungs- und Identifizierungssystem, das die Zusammenführung auseinandergerissener Bibliotheken ermöglichte.


Siehe auch:
Ernst Buchner (1892-1962)

Ernst Buchner (1892-1962)

Der Direktor der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen Ernst Buchner unterstützte die Gestapo bei der Beschlagnahmung von in jüdischem Besitz befindlichen Sammlungen. An der Verschleppung des Genter Altars nach Deutschland war er maßgeblich beteiligt. 1945 aus dem Amt entlassen, konnte er es 1953 wieder antreten.


Siehe auch: