The Jewish Museum Berlin Presents the German Chancellor Angela Merkel with the "Prize for Understanding and Tolerance"

Press Information

Press Release, 27 June 2011

On Monday 24 October 2011, the Jewish Museum Berlin will proudly present the German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel with the "Jewish Museum Prize for Understanding and Tolerance." The museum is honoring the Chancellor’s worldwide commitment to human rights and human dignity, in particular her personal resolve to hand an openness to dialog on to future generations. Celebrating its 10th anniversary this fall, the museum would also like to express its gratitude to the German government for the personal and political support in fulfilling its goals and purpose.

At the gala celebration, museum director W. Michael Blumenthal will speak of the German Chancellor’s work and dedication for which she has already received the Leo Baeck Prize and most recently the US Medal of Freedom. The prize will be presented at a gala dinner celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Jewish Museum Berlin, this year a particularly special social event. Numerous nationally and internationally renowned guests from the arenas of politics, business, culture, and the media will attend. The award ceremony and the anniversary dinner will be preceded by a gala concert with Daniel Barenboim and the "Staatskapelle Berlin."

Press office
+49 (0)30 259 93 419
+49 (0)30 259 93 400

Jewish Museum Berlin Foundation
Lindenstraße 9–14
10969 Berlin

The museum has awarded this prize annually since 2002 to individuals who have shown a special commitment to encouraging the Federal Republic of Germany to face up to Nazi crimes, and to the critical analysis of anti-Semitism and racism. Dedication to human dignity, the integration of minorities, and dialog between cultures and religions are also honored.

Bertold Beitz, Heinz Berggruen (in blessed memory), Daniel Barenboim, Roland Berger, and the now deceased former Federal President Johannes Rau are among the previous prize winners. Last year, the prize went to the literary scholar Professor Jan Philipp Reemtsma and the business executive Dr. Hubertus Erlen.