Skip to main content

On 23 August 2020, the Jewish Museum Berlin is opening its new core exhibition. Until then the museum will be closed for renovations.

The Jewish Museum Berlinʼs Board of Trustees

The members of the Jewish Museum Berlinʼs Board of Trustees are appointed by the German Federal President. Appointments and reappointments to the Board of Trustees are announced every five years as stipulated in the foundationʼs Articles. The Board of Trustees convened for its inauguaral meeting on 27 November 2001.

Its members are:


Prof. Monika Grütters – Minister of State in the Federal Chancellery and Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media


  • Dr. Klaus Lederer – Berlin's Senator for Culture and Europe
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Mangold – Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Rothschild GmbH
  • Milena Rosenzweig-Winter – Managing Director of the Jewish Community of Berlin
  • Sarah Ryglewski MP – Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Daniela Schadt – Journalist
  • Dr. Peter Tauber MP – Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister of Defence
  • Prof. Dr. Yfaat Weiss – Director of the Leibniz Institute for Jewish History and Culture – Simon Dubnow
  • Annette Widmann-Mauz MP – Minister of State at the Federal Chancellery, Commissioner of the Federal Government for Migration, Refugees, and Integration

Alternate Members:

  • Daniel Botmann – Managing Director of the Central Council of Jews in Germany
  • Dr. Herlind Gundelach – Former Senator
  • Martin Kelleners – Assistant Secretary of State, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Naumann – Former Federal Minister and Director of the Barenboim-Said Academy gGmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Raue – Lawyer and Partner, Raue LLP
  • Dr. Christine Regus – Head of the Department for Archives, Libraries, Memorials, Museums and Fine Arts, Senate Administration for Culture and Europe
  • Stephan Steinlein – State Secretary, Head of the Office of the Federal President
  • Dr. Günter Winands – Head of Department at the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media