Léontine Meijer-van Mensch

Program Director

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch assumed her position as Program Director and Deputy Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin on February 1, 2017. Having been a member of the museum’s founding team and a freelancer in the education department from 2001 to 2005, she comes back with an expertise on innovative museum practices and the social role of museums.

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch was born in 1972 in Hilversum, Netherlands. She studied Modern and Theoretical History and Jewish Studies in Amsterdam, Jerusalem, and Berlin, and completed a postgraduate program in European Cultural Heritage Protection, with a special focus on Museum Studies, at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder. From 2003 to 2005, she was project coordinator of the postgraduate research program “Europa Fellows II” at the Collegium Polonicum in Słubice, Poland.

In 2006, Léontine Meijer-van Mensch returned to Amsterdam, working first in the education department of the Jewish Historical Museum, then at the internationally renowned Reinwardt Academy (part of the Amsterdam University of the Arts). There, her teaching and research focused on museum theory and professional ethics. From 2014 until her move to the Jewish Museum Berlin, she was the Assistant Director of the Museum of European Cultures in Berlin.

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Yves Sucksdorff

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch is a member of several museum advisory boards and committees. Among others, she was founding president of the International Committee for Collecting (COMCOL) from 2010 to 2016. She was elected to the Executive Council of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) for a three-year term in July 2016. Since 2014, she has served on the editorial board of the ICOM journal Museum International. Since November 2016, she has been on the board of the museums association Landesverband der Museen zu Berlin.

In her professional work and research, Léontine Meijer-van Mensch is interested in participatory strategies in museum work. Her focus lies particularly on contemporary issues and a stronger societal role for museums. As well as giving numerous workshops and lectures, she regularly chairs public events and discussions.

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch lives with her husband Peter van Mensch in Berlin and Northern Bohemia, Czech Republic.

Biography of Léontine Meijer-van Mensch as pdf-file

2017

pdf/136.62 KB/
english
/

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch

Programmdirektorin

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch ist seit dem 1. Februar 2017 Programmdirektorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin und Stellvertreterin des Direktors. Als Mitglied im Gründungsteam und als freie Mitarbeiterin in der Bildungsabteilung war sie schon von 2001 bis 2005 im Museum tätig.

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch wurde 1972 in Hilversum in den Niederlanden geboren. Sie studierte »Neue und Theoretische Geschichte« und »Jüdische Studien« in Amsterdam, Jerusalem und Berlin sowie »Schutz Europäischer Kulturgüter« mit Schwerpunkt Museologie in Frankfurt (Oder). Von 2003 bis 2005 arbeitete sie als Projektkoordinatorin des Graduiertenkollegs »Europa Fellows II« am Collegium Polonicum in Słubice, Polen.

2006 lebte Léontine Meijer-van Mensch wieder in Amsterdam und arbeitete zunächst im Jüdischen Historischen Museum in der Bildungsabteilung und später an der international renommierten Reinwardt Akademie (Fakultät der Amsterdamer Hochschule der Künste). Dort war sie als Dozentin und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin für museologische Theorie und Berufsethik tätig. Von 2014 bis zu ihrem Wechsel an das Jüdische Museum Berlin war sie stellvertretende Direktorin des Museums Europäischer Kulturen (Berlin).

Porträtfoto Léontine Meijer-van Mensch

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch ist Mitglied in verschiedenen museologischen Beiräten und Gremien. So war sie von 2010 bis 2016 Gründungspräsidentin des International Committee for Collecting (COMCOL). Im Juli 2016 wurde sie für drei Jahre in das Executive Council des Internationalen Museumsrats (ICOM) gewählt. Seit 2014 ist sie Redaktionsmitglied der ICOM-Zeitschrift Museum International. Seit November 2016 gehört sie dem Vorstand des Landesverbandes der Museen zu Berlin e. V. an.

Ihre Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte sind partizipative Strategien in der Museumsarbeit, eine Hinwendung zur Gegenwart sowie eine stärkere gesellschaftliche Rolle von Museen. Neben zahlreichen Workshops und Vorträgen moderiert sie regelmäßig öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Diskussionsrunden.

Léontine Meijer-van Mensch ist verheiratet und wohnt mit ihrem Ehemann Peter van Mensch in Berlin und Nordböhmen.

Lebenslauf Léontine Meijer-van Mensch

pdf/357.16 KB/
deutsch
/nicht barrierefrei