Open, Closed, Open

Multimedia Installation Awarded with the DAGESH Art Award

In the installation Open, Closed, Open - פתוח, סגור, פתוח the artists Liat Grayver, Yair Kira and Amir Shpilman combine media art, robotics, space, light, and sound in interaction with the visitors. While a robot mechanically draws Hebrew letters in a sandbox, visitors are invited to enter and reshape the sand. A sound composition of human voices allows to experience the Hebrew letters acoustically as well. By projecting the interaction onto a screen robot and visitor alike become objects of observation.

From the artists’ perspective the process of continuous evolving and interacting reflects the fluidity of the construction of identities, the transience of memory, and the experience of being Jewish today. The artwork’s concept was inspired by the poem “Open, Closed, Open - פתוח, סגור, פתוח“ by the Israeli poet Yehuda Amichai.

21 June to 11 August 2019
Where

Old Building, level 1, Education Room


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Black and white image of a section of sand with a Hebrew letter, superimposed by painted dots and arrows

Open Closed Open - פתוח סגור פתוח, Digital montage; courtesy of the artists

In 2018 the visual artist Liat Grayver, product designer Yair Kira, and composer Amir Shpilman were the recipients of the DAGESH Art Award presented by the Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Scholarship and the Jewish Museum Berlin. The prize money for the realization of the installation was donated by the Friends of the Jewish Museum.

Robots:
So Kanno, Naoto Hiede, Ahmad Taleb.

Vocals:
Mima Millo (Soprano), Cornelius Uhle (baritone), Galil Jamal (bass-baritone), Bojan Heyn (bass)

Sound:
João Pais

Loudspeaker Design:
Andreas Kakogiannis

Motion-Tracking, Visualization:
Casa Paganini, InfoMus, Vertigo STARTS

Audio recording:
Studio für Elektronische Musik, Hochschule für Musik Dresden

Text:
Yehuda Amichai. “Open Closed Open”, Schocken Publishing House Ltd., Tel Aviv, 1998

Translation:
Chana Bloch, Stephen Mitchell.

Financial and technical support:
Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk, Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Freundeskreis des Jüdisches Museums Berlin, Center of Excellence “Cultural Foundations of Social Integration” at the University of Konstanz, Makeblock Europe B.V., Solectric GmbH, and Ensemble Mosaik Berlin.

Logo: Society of the Friends of the Jewish Museum Berlin e.V.

Logo: DAGESH Kunstlab Eles

Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk Logo

Exhibition Information at a Glance

  • When

    21 June to 11 August 2019

  • Entry fee

    Included in admission (8 €, 3 € reduced)

  • Where

    Old Building, level 1, Education Room
    Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin] See Location on Map

Where

Old Building, level 1, Education Room


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Open, Closed, Open

Mit dem DAGESH-Kunstpreis ausgezeichnete multimediale Installation

Mit der Installation Open, Closed, Open – פתוח, סגור, פתוח verbinden die Künstler*innen Liat Grayver, Yair Kira und Amir Shpilman Medienkunst, Robotik, Raum, Licht und Klang mit der Interaktion der Besucher*innen. Während ein Roboter eigenständig hebräische Buchstaben in die Sandfläche schreibt, kann diese auch von den Besucher*innen betreten und bearbeitet werden. Durch eine Klangkomposition aus menschlichen Stimmen werden die hebräischen Buchstaben auch akustisch erfahrbar gemacht. Eine Video-Projektion des Geschehens macht die Besucher*innen und den Roboter zudem selbst zum Objekt der Betrachtung.

Dieser sich wandelnde und wechselseitig beeinflussende Prozess spiegelt für die Künstler*innen gegenwärtige Erfahrungen des Jüdisch-Seins, die Fluidität von Identitätskonstruktionen und die Vergänglichkeit von Erinnerung. Das Gedicht „Open, Closed, Open –פתוח, סגור, פתוח“ des israelischen Lyrikers Yehuda Amichai diente dem künstlerischen Konzept als Inspiration.

Ausstellung bereits beendet
Ort

Altbau 1. OG, Bildungsraum


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin

Schwarz-weiß-Bild eines Sandflächenausschnitts mit hebräischem Buchstaben, überlagert von gemalten Punkten und Pfeilen

Open Closed Open - פתוח סגור פתוח, Digital montage; Courtesy of the artists

2018 wurden die bildende Künstlerin Liat Grayer, der Produktdesigner Yair Kira und der Komponist Amir Shpilman mit dem ersten DAGESH-Kunstpreis des Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerks und des Jüdischen Museums Berlin prämiert. Das Preisgeld für die Realisierung der Installation stiftete der Freundeskreis des Jüdischen Museums.

Roboter:
So Kanno, Naoto Hiede, Ahmad Taleb.

Gesang:
Mima Millo (Soprano), Cornelius Uhle (baritone), Galil Jamal (bass-baritone), Bojan Heyn (bass)

Ton:
João Pais

Lautsprecherdesign:
Andreas Kakogiannis

Bewegungsaufzeichnung, Visualisierung:
Casa Paganini, InfoMus, Vertigo STARTS

Tonaufnahme:
Studio für Elektronische Musik, Hochschule für Musik Dresden

Text:
Yehuda Amichai. “Open Closed Open”, Schocken Publishing House Ltd., Tel Aviv, 1998

Engl. Übersetzung:
Chana Bloch, Stephen Mitchell.

Finanzielle und technische Unterstützung:
Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk, Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Freundeskreis des Jüdisches Museums Berlin, Center of Excellence “Cultural Foundations of Social Integration” at the University of Konstanz, Makeblock Europe B.V., Solectric GmbH, and Ensemble Mosaik Berlin.

Logo: Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Stiftung Jüdisches Museum Berlin e.V.

Logo: DAGESH Kunstlab Eles

Logo: Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk

Informationen zur Ausstellung im Überblick

  • Wann

    21. Juni bis 11. August 2019

  • Wo

    Altbau 1. OG, Bildungsraum
    
Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin Zum Lageplan

Ort

Altbau 1. OG, Bildungsraum


Lindenstraße 9–14, 10969 Berlin