Skip to main content

The Jewish Museum Berlin will be closed for renovation until further notice. Regrettably, the corona pandemic has caused delays in the construction of the new exhibition. We will inform you of the opening date as soon as possible.

“This four-minute performance means three to four months of training”

Interview with Susanne Benizri, youth counselor for Baden and leader of the Jewrovision team “Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa” 2017

David Studniberg

In 2017, Jewrovision, the largest singing and dancing competition for Jewish youth in Europe, will take place for the 16th time. Last year an audience of over 2,000 gathered at the Rose Garden Hall in Mannheim, accompanying the brilliant stage show produced by youth centers with frenetic applause.

From an evening program at a Jewish recreational camp to a big event

It’s hard to imagine that Jewrovision 2002 was just one of a number of evening programs at a Jewish recreational camp called Machané. Back then, at a recreational center in Bad Sobernheim (not far from Frankfurt), six groups from various cities appeared on a stage just three yards wide. Today, only 15 years later, there are 18 teams presenting their multi-media performances on enormous stages in much larger venues. An extraordinary development. The Central Council for Jews in Germany took over sponsorship of the whole event in 2013. This year the host city will be Karlsruhe. As part of the Jewish Youth of Baden (Jüdische Jugend Baden or JuJuBa), the Karlsruher Kids have been training for a number of months together with their friends from Jewish youth centers in Mannheim, Rottweil, and Pforzheim for the big performance on 18 February 2017.

Kippot with magen David

Kippot memorabilia Jewrovision; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Roman März

In the run-up to the event I asked Susanne Benizri, youth counselor for Baden and leader of the team “Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa”, a few questions:

Dear Mrs Benizri, you have been active for over 30 years in Jewish youth work, particularly for the Jewish youth centers in Baden. What does Jewrovision offer Jewish youth in your opinion?

I always say: Jewrovision would have been invented sooner or later. It’s not only about the four-minute performance onstage and the weekend where everyone meets — although these three days are certainly extremely important. These four minutes, though, mean three to four months of training, every single Sunday. I find it incredible to motivate children and young people from the ages of 12 to 17 to get up on Sunday morning, leave their PlayStations and computers, come to the youth center and work together for such a long time on a project. Jewrovision gets young people excited at an age when it’s otherwise hard to reach them. The Central Council makes this event possible and I cannot thank them enough for it.

What happens with the kids during rehearsals? What do you gain the most from?

The group dynamic is the decisive factor. Everyone works together on one theme, which they transpose into dance and music as well as through the choice of their costumes. A 12-year-old and a 17-year-old are usually worlds apart. But in this project they’re practicing side by side, experiencing the highs and lows together, learning how to deal with frustration and how to be fair with each other. It creates a real connection between them all and binds the youth center very closely together.

“The kids should have fun on stage. That’s more important than anything.”

The motto of Jewrovision 2017 is “United Cultures of Judaism”. How did you and your team interpret this theme?

We come from different countries and wherever we travel, we go to synagogue and are invited to Shabbat. What we eat, the way we pray, the holy days we celebrate — that’s what connects all of us Jews around the world to one another. We realize this. Then we wondered, above and beyond this, what our Jewish values might mean. A strong Jewish value that I always underscore as a religion teacher: there isn’t just one way to believe in G-d and be a good person, but rather a variety of ways. I believe that we can all learn something from this universal Jewish principle. Wherever we come from, whomever or whatever we believe in, the important thing is that we live together. That’s why we as a team chose as our focus the peaceful coexistence of religions and cultures, and thus expanded the motto “United Cultures of Judaism” to “United Cultures of Humanity”.

Jewrovision

Further information on the Jewrovision website (in German)
www.jewrovision.de

“We expanded the motto ‘United Cultures of Judaism’ to ‘United Cultures of Humanity.’”

Your team “Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa” returned home both of the last two years with the trophy. What do you think your chances are for third in a row?

All 18 teams have practiced hard for this performance and each wants to finish the weekend at the fore. I think we’ve improved since last year and I like our message. Of course I want us to win, but I wouldn’t presume to predict that we will for sure. It was simply incredible that we won the last two years. We certainly want to use that positive energy and try to do our best. The most important thing is the time before and the time afterwards — and that we’re all together. That’s not just lip service, I really mean it and I tell the kids too. They should have fun on stage. That’s more important than anything.

The interview was conducted by David Studniberg, who provided the team “Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa” support as a vocal coach in their rehearsals.

Citation recommendation:

David Studniberg (2017), “This four-minute performance means three to four months of training”. Interview with Susanne Benizri, youth counselor for Baden and leader of the Jewrovision team “Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa” 2017.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6845

Direkt zum Inhalt

Ab 23. August 2020 präsentiert die vollständig neu gestaltete Dauer­ausstellung jüdische Geschichte und Gegenwart in Deutschland. Bis dahin bleibt das Jüdische Museum Berlin wegen Umbaus geschlossen.

„Dieser Vier-Minuten-Auftritt bedeutet drei bis vier Monate Training“

Interview mit Susanne Benizri, Leiterin des Jewrovision-Teams der Jüdischen Jugend Baden 2017

David Studniberg

2017 findet zum 16. Mal die Jewrovision statt, der größte Gesangs- und Tanz­wettbewerb für jüdische Jugendliche in Europa. Allein im vergangenen Jahr saßen über 2.000 Zuschauer*innen im Saal des Mannheimer Rosen­gartens und begleiteten die fulminanten Bühnen­shows der Jugend­zentren mit frenetischem Applaus.

Vom Abend­programm bei jüdischen Freizeit­lagern zum Großevent

Schwer vorzustellen, dass die Jewrovision 2002 noch eins von mehreren Abend­programmen während eines jüdischen Freizeit­lagers (Machané) war. Damals, im Freizeitlager­haus in Bad Sobern­heim, traten sechs Gruppen aus verschiedenen Städten auf einer drei Meter breiten Bühne auf. Heute, 15 Jahre später, sind es bereits 18 Teams, die auf riesigen Bühnen in noch größeren Veranstaltungs­hallen ihre multimedial unterstützten Bühnen­performances präsentieren. Eine unglaubliche Entwicklung. Seit 2013 trägt der Zentral­rat der Juden in Deutschland die Schirm­herrschaft über die Groß­veranstaltung. Austragungs­ort wird in diesem Jahr Karlsruhe sein. Als Teil der Jüdischen Jugend Baden (JuJuBa) trainieren die Karlsruher Kids seit mehreren Monaten zusammen mit ihren Freund*innen aus den jüdischen Jugend­zentren Mannheim, Rottweil und Pforzheim für den großen Auftritt am 18. Februar 2017.

Dunkelblau-rote Kippot mit Davidstern

Kippot-Fanartikel zur Jewrovision; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Roman März

Ich stellte im Vorfeld Susanne Benizri, Jugend­referentin für Baden und Leiterin des Teams „Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa“, ein paar Fragen:

Liebe Frau Benizri, Sie sind seit über 30 Jahren in der jüdischen Jugend­arbeit, und insbesondere für die jüdischen Jugend­zentren in Baden tätig. Was beutet, Ihrer Meinung nach, die Jewrovision für die jüdische Jugend?

Ich sage immer: Die Jewrovision müsste man erfinden, wenn es sie noch nicht gäbe. Es geht nicht nur um den Vier-Minuten-Auftritt auf der Bühne und um ein Wochen­ende, an dem sich alle treffen – auch wenn diese drei Tage schon extrem wichtig sind. Dieser Vier-Minuten-Auftritt bedeutet drei bis vier Monate Training, und zwar jeden Sonntag. Kinder und Jugendliche im Alter von 12–17 Jahren zu motivieren, sonntags morgens aufzustehen, ihre Playstation und ihren Computer alleine zu lassen, ins Jugend­zentrum zu kommen und über so eine lange Zeit zusammen an einem Projekt zu arbeiten, das finde ich unglaublich. Die Jewrovision begeistert Jugendliche in einem Alters­bereich, den man sonst nur schwer erreichen kann. Dass der Zentralrat dieses Event möglich macht, dafür kann ich ihm gar nicht genug danken.

Was passiert bei den Jugendlichen während der Proben? Wodurch profitieren Sie am meisten?

Die Gruppen­dynamik ist hierbei der entscheidende Punkt. Alle arbeiten gemeinsam an einem Thema, das sie tänzerisch, gesanglich und durch die Auswahl der Kostüme umsetzen. Zwischen einem 12-Jährigen und einem 17-Jährigen liegen normalerweise Welten. In diesem Projekt aber trainieren sie Seite an Seite, erleben Höhen und Tiefen zusammen, lernen mit Frustration umzugehen und fair zu den anderen zu sein. So etwas schafft Verbundenheit unter den Kids und schweißt ein Jugend­zentrum extrem zusammen.

„Die Kids sollen Spaß auf der Bühne haben, das ist wichtiger als alles andere.“

Das Motto der Jewrovision 2017 heißt „United Cultures of Judaism“. Wie haben Sie und Ihr Team dieses Thema interpretiert?

Wir kommen aus verschiedenen Ländern, und egal wohin wir reisen, gehen wir in eine Synagoge und werden zum Schabbat eingeladen. Das, was wir essen, die Art, wie und was wir beten, und welche Feste wir feiern, ist das, was uns Juden auf der ganzen Welt miteinander verbindet. Das haben wir uns bewusst gemacht. Danach haben wir uns gefragt, was unsere jüdischen Werte darüber hinaus bedeuten können. Ein starker jüdischer Wert, den ich als Religions­lehrerin immer gerne hervorhebe: Es gibt nicht nur einen Weg, an G’tt zu glauben und ein guter Mensch zu sein, sondern verschiedene. Ich glaube, dass wir alle aus diesem universellen jüdischen Grundsatz etwas lernen können. Egal, woher wir kommen, egal, an wen oder an was wir glauben, wichtig ist, wie wir zusammenleben. Deswegen haben wir als Team unseren Schwerpunkt auf die friedliche Koexistenz der Religionen und Kulturen gesetzt und somit das Motto „United Cultures of Judaism“ zu „United Cultures of Humanity“ erweitert.

„Wir haben das Motto ‚United Cultures of Judaism‘ zu ‚United Cultures of Humanity‘ erweitert.“

Ihr Team „Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa“ durfte in den letzten beiden Jahren den Siegerpokal mit nach Hause nehmen. Wie hoch schätzen Sie Ihre Chancen für ein „Triple“ ein?

Alle 18 Teams haben hart für diesen Auftritt trainiert und jedes möchte am Ende ganz weit vorne sein. Ich finde, dass wir uns zum Vorjahr noch einmal gesteigert haben und ich mag unsere Message. Ich würde es mir natürlich wünschen, dass wir gewinnen, aber ich möchte nicht so vermessen sein zu sagen, dass wir es auf jeden Fall schaffen. Dass wir in den beiden Jahren zuvor gewonnen haben, ist einfach unglaublich. Diese positive Energie wollen wir nutzen und versuchen, unser Bestes zu geben. Am Wichtigsten ist ohnehin die Zeit davor, die Zeit danach, und dass wir alle zusammen sind. Das ist kein Lippen­bekenntnis, genau so meinen wir es, und so sagen wir es auch den Kids. Sie sollen Spaß auf der Bühne haben, das ist wichtiger als alles andere.

Das Interview führte David Studniberg, der das Team „Or Chadash Mannheim feat. JuJuBa“ als Vocal Coach in den Proben begleitete.

Zitierempfehlung:

David Studniberg (2017), „Dieser Vier-Minuten-Auftritt bedeutet drei bis vier Monate Training“. Interview mit Susanne Benizri, Leiterin des Jewrovision-Teams der Jüdischen Jugend Baden 2017.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6845