Skip to main content

On 23 August 2020, the Jewish Museum Berlin is opening its new core exhibition. Until then the museum will be closed for renovations.

ANOHA

The Children's World of the Jewish Museum Berlin

Regrettably, due to the corona pandemic and the associated hygiene regulations, we are not yet able to open the new Children's World. We will inform you of the opening date as soon as possible.

A new place for discovery, exploration, and play is taking form, right across from the Jewish Museum Berlin: The ANOHA children's world will open to young visitors of preschool and grade-school age soon.

The story of Noah's ark from the Torah takes center stage at the children's museum. According to tradition, the ark was an enormous boat that Noah used to save his family and all of the animal species from the flood. More than 150 animals are gathered in the heart of the ANOHA children's world – a gigantic round ark made of wood, designed by the American firm Olson Kundig Architecture and Design.

Where

W. M. Blumenthal Academy
Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin Postal address: Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Using stories of the creation, flood, and new beginnings that appear in various religions, we want to encourage our youngest guests to think about respectful the respectful coexistence of people, animals, and nature, and to embolden them to take action toward a diverse and better world.

In the ark

Many animals live in the ark – large and small ones, popular animals and outsiders. We invite the children to accompany the animal passengers, take care of a zebra, cow, or one of their friends, and to contribute to their well-being.

Preliminary model of the Ark. Jewish Museum Berlin; Designed by Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Less popular animals such as the naked mole rat also have their place, standing for respect, openness, and tolerance of anything that may at first seem foreign. The extinct mammoth, as well as endangered animals such as polar bears draw attention to environmental problems, their consequences, and our possibilities for action.

All of the animals were created by selected artists using recycled materials. The sculptures can be explored in a number of ways – they can be used as monkey bars, hammocks, and snuggle caves. Some of the animals can produce noises, others contain treasures.

Entwurfzeichnung eines aus Holz gebauten Mammuts

Animals large and small from around the world populate the Ark and invite children to climb, make music, or feed them. The mammoth might look something like this. Jewish Museum Berlin; Designed by Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Offerings for children and families

The ANOHA children's world also contains several workshop rooms and studios – plenty of space for being creative, making music, putting on plays, and making something new together. In this way, the Jewish Museum Berlin is expanding its existing program for children and youth, with workshops specially designed for children and families, preschool and grade-school groups, as well as education professionals.

You'll be able to find more information here soon, as well as on ANOHA's child-oriented website

Entwurfzeichnung eines Nashorns, das in einen Kasten auf Rädern kotet

The animals in the exhibition will be constructed using found objects and recycled materials. Jewish Museum Berlin; Designed by Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Entwurf des Kindermuseums mit Eingangsbereich, Foyer, Bistro und Ausstellungsflächen.

Design for the Children’s Museum including the entranceway, lobby, bistro, and exhibition spaces. Jewish Museum Berlin; Designed by Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Early Excellence

The Children’s Museum and its programs follow the approach of “early excellence,” which emphasizes the importance of encouraging and educating children even before they start school. With the Children’s Museum, we aim to create an attractive environment for families with small children right in the middle of the city. Its location in our immediate neighborhood is especially important to us. We initiate collaborative partnerships and make connections with other institutions to create an open, family-friendly, and culturally diverse meeting place.

With support from

Children as Advisors

A dedicated Children’s Advisory Council has played an active role in shaping the new museum’s deveopment. The advisory council consists of children between the ages of eight and eleven.
In regular meetings, the children put forward their wishes for the museum and its educational programming. We discuss, develop, dream up, and discard new ideas. The workshops are designed and conducted using cultural education methods with the involvement of outside artists.

Children with construction helmets play with large letters of the lettering ANOHA

Children of our Children’s Advisory Council welcome the name of the new children's world; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Sibylle Baier

Sustainable Construction

We are also thinking about sustainability in our construction of the Children’s Museum. The load-bearing walls and ceilings are made of regional, sustainable raw materials, primarily wood. We have also largely forgone a mechanical air ventilation system, opting for a concept of natural air circulation instead.

Project Partners

The Children’s Museum is being created in collaboration with the Seattle-based agency Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design. Olson Kundig has a worldwide reputation for its innovative exhibition and educational concepts.

The Jewish Museum Berlin would like to thank all its supporters for their trust and their generosity.

Two small trees stand next to the sides of the Academy Building's entrance.

The Children’s Museum is being built behind the W. Michael Blumenthal Academy, in a former wholesale flower market. In 2012, the Academy was redesigned by the architect Daniel Libeskind, who also designed the museum building across the street. Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Jens Ziehe

Contact:

Ane Kleine-Engel
Head of ANOHA
a.kleine-engel@jmberlin.de

ANOHA

Die Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Ein neuer Ort zum Entdecken, Erforschen und Spielen entsteht derzeit direkt gegenüber dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin: Im Mai 2020 eröffnet die Kinderwelt ANOHA für junge Besucher*innen im Kita- und Grundschulalter.

Im Mittelpunkt des Kindermuseums steht die Erzählung der Arche Noah aus der Tora. Der Überlieferung nach war die Arche ein imposantes Boot, mit dem Noah seine Familie und alle Tierarten vor der Sintflut rettete. Auf das Herzstück der Kinderwelt ANOHA – eine riesige runde Arche aus Holz, entworfen vom US-amerikanischen Büro Olson Kundig Architecture and Design – ziehen mehr als 150 Tiere ein.

Ort

W. M. Blumenthal Akademie

Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
Postanschrift: Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin

Mit Geschichten von Schöpfung, Sintflut und Neuanfang, die in verschiedenen Religionen und Kulturen vorkommen, wollen wir unsere jüngsten Gäste zum Nachdenken über ein respektvolles Miteinander von Mensch, Tier und Natur anregen und sie ermutigen, für eine vielfältige und bessere Welt selbst aktiv zu werden.

Auf der Arche

Auf der Arche leben viele Tiere – große und kleine, Lieblingstiere und Außenseiter. Wir laden Kinder dazu ein, die tierischen Passagiere zu begleiten, sich um Zebra, Kuh und Co. zu kümmern und zu ihrem Wohlergehen beizutragen.

Entwurfsmodell der Arche. Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Entwurf: Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Dabei finden auch weniger beliebte Tiere, wie zum Beispiel der Nacktmull, ihren Platz und stehen für Respekt, Offenheit und Toleranz gegenüber allem, was zunächst fremd erscheinen mag. Das Mammut als bereits ausgestorbenes Tier sowie bedrohte Tierarten wie der Eisbär lenken die Aufmerksamkeit auf Umweltprobleme, ihre Folgen und unsere Handlungsmöglichkeiten.

Alle Tiere werden von ausgewählten Künstler*innen aus wiederverwerteten Materialien hergestellt. Die Skulpturen können vielfältig erkundet werden – mal sind sie Klettergerüst, mal Hängematte oder Kuschelhöhle. Einige Tiere können Geräusche und Klänge erzeugen, andere bewahren Schätze auf.

Entwurfzeichnung eines aus Holz gebauten Mammuts

Kleine und große Tiere aus aller Welt bevölkern die Arche und laden zum Klettern, Musizieren oder Füttern ein. So könnte zum Beispiel das Mammut aussehen. Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Entwurf: Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Angebote für Kinder und Familien

Zur Kinderwelt ANOHA gehören außerdem mehrere Workshop-Räume und Ateliers – viel Platz zum Kreativwerden, Musikmachen, Theaterspielen und um gemeinsam etwas Neues zu erschaffen. Damit erweitert das Jüdische Museum Berlin seine Workshop-Angebote für Kinder und Jugendliche um Workshop-Angebote speziell für Kinder und Familien, Kita- und Grundschulgruppen sowie pädagogische Fachkräfte.

Weitere Informationen erscheinen demnächst hier und in Kürze auf der kindergerechten Webpräsenz von ANOHA.

Entwurfzeichnung eines Nashorns, das in einen Kasten auf Rädern kotet

Die Tiere der Ausstellung werden aus Fundstücken und recyceltem Material gebaut. Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Entwurf: Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Entwurf des Kindermuseums mit Eingangsbereich, Foyer, Bistro und Ausstellungsflächen.

Entwurf des Kindermuseums mit Eingangsbereich, Foyer, Bistro und Ausstellungsflächen. Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Entwurf: Olson Kundig Architecture and Exhibit Design

Early Excellence

Das Kindermuseum und seine Angebote folgen dem Early-Excellence-Ansatz, der die Bedeutung der Förderung und Bildung im Vorschulalter betont. Mit dem Kindermuseum möchten wir ein attraktives Angebot für Familien mit kleinen Kindern mitten in der Stadt schaffen. Die Öffnung in die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft ist uns dabei besonders wichtig. Wir initiieren Kooperationen und vernetzen uns mit anderen Einrichtungen, um einen familienfreundlichen, offenen und kulturell vielfältigen Ort der Begegnung zu schaffen.

Gefördert von

Beratung durch Kinder

Ein eigens initiierter Kinderbeirat arbeitet aktiv an der Entwicklung des neuen Museums mit. Die Kinder im Beirat sind zwischen 8 und 11 Jahre alt.

In regelmäßigen Treffen bringen die Kinder ihre Wünsche zum Museum und den Vermittlungsprogrammen ein. Wir diskutieren gemeinsam und entwickeln neue Ideen, wir entwerfen und verwerfen. Die Workshops werden mit Methoden der kulturellen Bildungsarbeit unter Einbeziehung externer Künstler*innen gestaltet und durchgeführt.

Kinder mit Bauhelmen spielen mit großen Buchstaben des Schriftzugs ANOHA

Kinder unseres Kinderbeirats begrüßen den Namen der neuen Kinderwelt; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Sibylle Baier

Nachhaltige Bauweise

Auch beim Bau des Kindermuseums achten wir auf Nachhaltigkeit. Es wird vor allem Holz verwendet: die Tragkonstruktionen der Wände und Decken bestehen aus heimischen, nachhaltigen Rohstoffen. Außer­dem verzichten wir weitestgehend auf maschinelle Lüftungsanlagen und haben ein Konzept für die natürliche Be- und Entlüftung entwickelt.

Projektpartner

Das Kindermuseum entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architektur- und Ausstellungsbüro Olson Kundig aus Seattle. Olson Kundig sind weltweit bekannt für ihre innovativen Ausstellungs- und Vermittlungskonzepte.

Das Kindermuseum entsteht hinter der W. Michael Blumenthal Akademie, in einer ehemaligen Blumengroßmarkthalle. Die Akademie wurde 2012 vom Architekten Daniel Libeskind gestaltet, der auch den schräg gegenüberliegenden Museumsbau entworfen hat. Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Das Jüdische Museum Berlin dankt allen Förderern für das entgegengebrachte Vertrauen und das großzügige Engagement.

Kontakt:
Ane Kleine-Engel
Leiterin ANOHA
Gelia Eisert
Projektleiterin ANOHA
Ort

W. M. Blumenthal Akademie

Fromet-und-Moses-Mendelssohn-Platz 1, 10969 Berlin
Postanschrift: Lindenstraße 9-14, 10969 Berlin