Skip to main content

Tal Alon and Olaf Kühnemann

Interview and Photo from the Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES Exhibition Opening

A woman and a man stand in front of a large-format photograph in the exhibition room, in which they can be seen in front of a brightly painted shed

Tal Alon and Olaf Kühnemann in the exhibition ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Jule Roehr

My name is Olaf Kühnemann, a descendant of the never ending ever-changing evolutionary chain, a physical person-Atheist, father to two teenagers, partner to Tal, artist.

My name is Tal Alon, founder and editor of SPITZ, Hebrew Magazine in Berlin, head of division at the German-Israeli Future Forum Foundation, a fan of vegetables, my boys, yoga, documentaries, my partner Olaf, flea markets, a good talk and a long walk (not necessarily in that order).

Where did the idea for your portrait’s staging and setting come from?

Olaf: The idea came about through Frederics interest and will to document with photography some of the stories of Israeli and Jewish life in Berlin. Tal observes and documents this process and changing reality with words through community journalism. Their two journeys connected and became a photo that shows some parts of our neighborhood life and relationship.

Tal: It was a long process we went through with Frederic and among ourselves. The location is Landwehr Canal in Kreuzberg, next to which we have been living for over a decade now. We take our evening walks there and feel very much connected to it. Olaf's painting in the background depicts his childhood living room in Herzeliya, Israel. Also in the frame are bicycles that are part of Olaf's thing to collect “dead” bicycles from the streets of Kreuzberg and to bring them back to life using parts from other dead bicycles. The bier bottle is also part of the setting. The setting corresponds with our multi-layered perception of “home”, which comes down eventually to us being home for one another.

How do you experience Jewish life in Berlin?

Olaf: This question is very hard for me to answer. Religion is a story made up and told by humans. Different groups of humans across the globe made up and insist on their exclusive identity stories. Jewish life in Berlin is another variation on the story of Judaism. The meeting of the Jewish German story within the place of Berlin is a very loaded and difficult story that imposes itself whenever it is discussed.
In a way I am inevitably trapped within dead people's dreams to realize one story over another.

I “experience” Jewish life in Berlin through my own personal upbringing, parents, physical environment, educational and cultural indoctrination, none of which I chose freely. The emotional, physical and ideological encounters as a human within these stories are always open, changing, and in constant negotiation within myself and with other members of this identity group.

Tal: To answer this question properly I would have to write an article... So I would just concentrate on my favorite way of experiencing Jewish life in Berlin, which is hearing Hebrew being spoken by locals (i.e. not tourists) on the streets of Kreuzberg.

Describe your life in Berlin in three adjectives.

Describing “life in a place” in 3 adjectives is a frustrating game to play...

Olaf: exciting, conflictual, meaningful

Tal: adventurous, balanced, fulfilling

What would your wish be for the future of Jewish life in Berlin?

Olaf: The past is in the past, the future is unknown. I wish for as many people as possible to be able to find balance and peace within their present lives and relationships. An acceptance of what is true and real in the present can have a positive transformative effect on how we shape “the future.”

Tal: Maybe not to be asked this question? ;-)

A man in jeans, lumberjack shirt and sneakers and a barefoot woman in a colorful dress are facing each other in front of a brightly painted shed, in the front right a bicycle leans against a tree, on the ground in front of it is a beer bottle

From the photographic essay ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES by Frédéric Brenner; Jewish Museum Berlin, purchased with the support of the Friends of the Jewish Museum Berlin

Citation recommendation:

Jewish Museum Berlin (2021), Tal Alon and Olaf Kühnemann. Interview and Photo from the Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES Exhibition Opening.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/8403

Share, Newsletter, Feedback

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Tal Alon und Olaf Kühnemann

Kurz­interview und Foto von der Ausstellungs­eröffnung Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT

Eine Frau und ein Mann stehen vor einer großformatigen Fotografie im Ausstellungsraum, auf der sie vor einem bunt bemalten Schuppen zu sehen sind

Tal Alon und Olaf Kühne­mann in der Ausstellung ZERHEILT; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Jule Roehr

Mein Name ist Olaf Kühnemann, ein Nach­komme der unendlichen, sich ständig verändernden Evolutions­kette, ein leib­haftiger Mensch – Atheist, Vater von zwei Teenagern, Partner von Tal, Künstler.

Mein Name ist Tal Alon, Gründerin und Heraus­geberin von SPITZ, einem hebräischen Magazin in Berlin, Referentin der Stiftung Deutsch-Israelisches Zukunfts­forum, Fan von Gemüse, meinen Jungs, Yoga, Dokumentar­filmen, meinem Partner Olaf, Floh­märkten, einem guten Gespräch und einem langen Spazier­gang (nicht unbedingt in dieser Reihen­folge).

Wie kam es zur Idee der Inszenierung in Ihrem Portrait?

Olaf: Die Idee entstand durch Frédérics Interesse und seinen Willen, einige der Geschichten israelischen und jüdischen Lebens in Berlin fotografisch zu dokumentieren. Tal beobachtet und dokumentiert diesen Prozess und die sich verändernde Realität mit Worten, durch Community-Journalismus. Ihre beiden Reisen verbanden sich und wurden zu einem Foto, das etwas von unserem Leben in der Nachbar­schaft und von unserer Beziehung zeigt.

Tal: Es war ein langer Prozess, den wir mit Frédéric und miteinander durchlaufen haben. Das Foto ist am Landwehr­kanal in Kreuzberg aufgenommen, wo wir nun schon seit über zehn Jahren wohnen. Wir machen dort unsere Abend­spaziergänge und fühlen uns sehr damit verbunden. Olafs Gemälde im Hinter­grund zeigt das Wohn­zimmer seiner Kindheit in Herzeliya, Israel. Zu sehen sind außerdem Fahrräder, die zu Olafs Ding gehören, „tote“ Fahrräder von Kreuzbergs Straßen aufzulesen und sie mit Teilen anderer toter Fahrräder wieder zum Leben zu erwecken. Die Bierflasche gehört auch zum Setting. Das Setting entspricht unserer viel­schichtigen Wahr­nehmung von „Heimat“, die letztlich darauf hinausläuft, dass wir füreinander Heimat sind.

Wie erleben Sie jüdisches Leben in Berlin?

Olaf: Diese Frage ist für mich sehr schwer zu beantworten. Religion ist eine von Menschen erfundene und erzählte Geschichte. Verschiedene Gruppen von Menschen auf der ganzen Welt haben sich ihre eigenen Identitäts­geschichten ausgedacht und beharren auf ihnen. Jüdisches Leben in Berlin ist eine weitere Variante der Geschichte des Judentums. Das Zusammen­treffen der jüdisch-deutschen Geschichte in Berlin ist eine sehr aufgeladene und schwierige Geschichte, die sich aufdrängt, wann immer sie diskutiert wird.

In gewisser Weise bin ich unweigerlich in den Träumen bereits toter Menschen gefangen, eine Geschichte vor einer anderen zu verwirklichen. Ich „erlebe“ jüdisches Leben in Berlin durch meine persönliche Erziehung, meine Eltern, meine physische Umgebung, meine schulische und kulturelle Indoktrination, die ich nicht frei gewählt habe. Die emotionalen, körperlichen und ideologischen Begegnungen als Mensch innerhalb dieser Geschichten sind immer offen, verändern sich und werden ständig in mir selbst und mit anderen Mitgliedern dieser Identitäts­gruppe verhandelt.

Tal: Um diese Frage richtig zu beantworten, müsste ich einen ganzen Artikel schreiben ... Also konzentriere ich mich auf meine Lieblings­erfahrung mit jüdischem Leben in Berlin, nämlich Einheimische (also nicht Touristen) auf Kreuzbergs Straßen Hebräisch sprechen zu hören.

Beschreiben Sie Ihr Leben in Berlin in drei Adjektiven.

Das „Leben an einem Ort“ mit drei Adjektiven zu beschreiben, ist ein frustrierendes Spiel...

Olaf: spannend, konfliktreich, bedeutungsvoll

Tal: abenteuerlich, ausgeglichen, erfüllend

Was würden Sie sich für das zukünftige jüdische Leben in Berlin wünschen?

Olaf: Die Vergangenheit liegt in der Vergangen­heit, die Zukunft ist unbekannt. Ich wünsche so vielen Menschen wie möglich, dass sie in ihrem gegen­wärtigen Leben und in ihren Beziehungen Gleich­gewicht und Frieden finden können. Anzunehmen, was in der Gegenwart wahr und wirklich ist, kann sich positiv darauf auswirken, wie wir „die Zukunft“ gestalten.

Tal: Vielleicht nicht diese Frage gestellt zu bekommen? ;-)

Ein Mann in Jeans, Caro-Hemd und Turnschuhen und eine barfüßige Frau im bunten Kleid stehen einander vor einem bunt bemalten Schuppen gegenüber, vorne rechts lehnt ein Fahrrad an einem Baum, auf dem Boden davor steht eine Bierflasche

Aus dem fotografischen Essay ZERHEILT von Frédéric Brenner; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, erworben mit Unterstützung der Freunde des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Zitierempfehlung:

Jüdisches Museum Berlin (2021), Tal Alon und Olaf Kühnemann. Kurz­interview und Foto von der Ausstellungs­eröffnung Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/8403

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback