Skip to main content

Judith Kessler

Interview and Photo from the Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES Exhibition Opening

Judith Kessler in front of her portrait in the exhibition ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES, next to her part of a window of the Libeskind building

Judith Kessler in the exhibition ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Jule Roehr

My name is Judith Kessler. I’m a social scientist, editor, and writer focusing on Jewish migration, biographical research, and contemporary culture.

Where did the idea for your portrait’s staging and setting come from?

It didn’t. I showed Frédéric Brenner a few places where you can see and “smell” German Nazi history beyond Jewish graves or plaques. For example, as the Charlottenburg tax office, where the address number is now affixed on the German eagle in the place of a broken-off swastika. Or – in the case of this photo – Langemarckhalle at the Olympic tower, an example of architecture with delusions of grandeur, martial sacrifice cults, and utter contempt for life which still make you shudder but seem completely ridiculous at the same time. All the more so now that there isn’t an Adolf there, but a Judith.

How do you experience Jewish life in Berlin?

A bit like a village. Everyone knows everyone. There’s always the other synagogue you don’t go to. And so-and-so is a knucklehead or not really Jewish. On the other hand, for as long as I can remember, Berlin has never been so much or so many exciting Jewish initiative(s) in art, culture, and society speaking to current issues that interest me – from diversity to secularity to connecting with non-Jewish and migrant communities to anti-antisemitism – plenty of challenges and areas of activity, including outside established structures.

Describe your life in Berlin in three adjectives.

Enticing. Psychosomatic. Pertinent.
(To be honest, I have issues with “adjectives.” Alternatively: diverse, feisty, lateral, heterogeneous, chaotic, entertaining, open.)

What would you wish for the future of Jewish life in Berlin?

I wish that instead of being retrospectively celebrated on anniversaries, we’d be able wear a Star of David without a problem. That we wouldn’t have our discourses determined by Jewish impersonators and free riders. That we wouldn’t be reduced (or inflated) to folklore, Holocaust, Israel and won’t reduce ourselves to those things. We’re neither Nathan the Wise nor Jud Süß.

A woman in black leather jacket stands in front of a gray-brown wall and looks to the side

From the photographic essay ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES by Frédéric Brenner; Jewish Museum Berlin, purchased with the support of the Friends of the Jewish Museum Berlin

Citation recommendation:

Jewish Museum Berlin (2021), Judith Kessler. Interview and Photo from the Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT: HEALED TO PIECES Exhibition Opening.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/8377

Share, Newsletter, Feedback

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Judith Kessler

Kurz­interview und Foto von der Ausstellungs­eröffnung Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT

Judith Kessler vor ihrem Porträt in der Ausstellung ZERHEILT, man sieht ein Fenster des Libeskind-Baus

Judith Kessler in der Ausstellung ZERHEILT; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Jule Roehr

Mein Name ist Judith Kessler, ich bin Sozialwissenschaftlerin, Redakteurin und Autorin mit den Schwerpunkten jüdische Migration, Biografieforschung und Gegenwartskultur.

Wie kam es zur Idee der Inszenierung in Ihrem Portrait?

Gar nicht. Ich habe Frédéric Brenner ein paar Orte gezeigt, wo man – jenseits jüdischer Gräber oder Gedenktafeln – deutsche NS-Geschichte sehen und „riechen“ kann: wie das Finanzamt Charlottenburg, bei dem über dem herausgebrochenen Hakenkreuz am Reichsadler jetzt die Hausnummer klebt, oder – im Fall dieses Fotos – eben die Langemarckhalle am Olympiaturm, eines der Beispiele für größenwahnsinnige Architektur, martialische Opferkulte und pure Lebensverachtung, die einen immer noch schaudern lassen, zugleich aber total lächerlich wirken. Umso mehr, wenn da heute eben kein Adolf, sondern eine Judith steht.

Wie erleben Sie jüdisches Leben in Berlin?

Ein bisschen wie auf dem Dorf. Jede/r kennt jede/n, in die Synagoge der/s Anderen geht man nicht, und XY ist eh ein Trottel oder kein echter Jude. Andererseits gab es in Berlin, seit ich denken kann, noch nie so viel(e) spannende jüdische Initiative(n) in Kunst, Kultur und Gesellschaft, die von Diversität, über Säkularität, die Verknüpfung mit nichtjüdischen und migrantischen Communities bis zu Anti-Antisemitismus aktuelle Themen aufgreifen, die mich interessieren – also Herausforderungen und Betätigungsfelder genug, auch außerhalb etablierter Strukturen.

Beschreiben Sie Ihr Leben in Berlin in drei Adjektiven.

reizvoll. psychosomatisch. sachdienlich.
(Ehrlich gesagt, habe ich Probleme mit „Adjektiven“ – alternativ: divers. quirlig. quer. heterogen. chaotisch. unterhaltsam. offen.)

Was würden Sie sich für das zukünftige jüdische Leben in Berlin wünschen?

Dass wir statt in Gedenkjahren abgefeiert zu werden, problemlos einen Davidstern tragen können, dass wir uns Diskurse nicht von Judendarstellern und Trittbrettfahrern bestimmen lassen, dass wir nicht auf Folklore, Religion, Holocaust, Israel reduziert (oder aufgeblasen) werden und uns selber nicht darauf reduzieren. Wir sind weder „Nathan der Weise“ noch „Jud Süß“.

Eine Frau in Lederjacke in schwarzer Lederjacke steht vor einer grau-braunen Wand und schaut zur Seite

Aus dem fotografischen Essay ZERHEILT von Frédéric Brenner; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, erworben mit Unterstützung der Freunde des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Zitierempfehlung:

Jüdisches Museum Berlin (2021), Judith Kessler. Kurz­interview und Foto von der Ausstellungs­eröffnung Frédéric Brenner – ZERHEILT.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/8377

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback