Skip to main content
The drawing in comic style shows an androgynous figure in profile on magenta background. She wears a bright frock, her left hand is raised. An eagle has just flown out of her hand

Malka Who?

Podcast Series on the Exhibition Yael Bartana – Redemption Now (in English and German)

Malka, Who? – this is the title of the JMB podcast accompanying the Yael Bartana – Redemption Now exhibition.

The podcast focuses on the mysterious protagonist of Bartana’s video installation Malka Germania, which was produced specifically for the major show at the Jewish Museum Berlin.

The arrival of the androgynous savior figure in the German capital brings forth scenes from an imagined shared unconscious as past and future meld in an alternative present. Along with the theme of collective redemption, the video installation also addresses trauma, hopes for salvation, and desire for change.

Over the course of four episodes featuring well-known figures from culture and academia, as well as the curators and the artist herself, the exhibition podcast takes a closer look at Malka. Is she a redeemer? Is she the Messiah? Is she a fake?

A new episode will be released at the beginning of each month – you'll find them here and on all popular podcast­platforms. If you have any questions, suggestions, or feedback on the podcast, please send us an email at podcast@jmberlin.de.

Share, Newsletter, Feedback

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Die Zeichnung im Comic-Stil zeigt eine androgyne Figur im Profil auf magentafarbenem Hintergrund. Sie trägt eine helle Kutte, ihre linke Hand ist erhoben. Ein Adler ist gerade aus ihrer Hand losgeflogen

Malka, Who?

Podcast-Reihe zur Ausstellung Yael Bartana – Redemption Now (auf Deutsch und Englisch)

Malka, Who? – Malka, wer? – So lautet der Titel des JMB-Podcasts zur Ausstellung Yael Bartana – Redemption Now.

Im Mittelpunkt steht die mysteriöse Hauptfigur aus Bartanas Video­installation Malka Germania, die eigens für die große Werkschau im Jüdischen Museum Berlin produziert wurde.

Die Ankunft der androgynen Heilsgestalt in der deutschen Hauptstadt ruft Szenen aus einem imaginierten gemeinsamen Unbewussten hervor: Ver­gangenheit und Zukunft fallen in einer alternativen Gegenwart zusammen. Mit dem Thema der kollektiven Erlösung spricht die Video­installation auch Traumata, Heils­erwartungen und die Sehnsucht nach Veränderung an.

In vier Episoden und mit Persönlich­keiten aus Kultur und Wissenschaft, den Kurator*innen und der Künstlerin selbst nähert sich der Ausstellungs­podcast Malka. Ist sie Erlöserin? Ist sie Messias? Ist sie Fake?

Eine neue Folge gibt es jeweils am Monatsanfang – Sie finden sie hier und auf allen gängigen Podcast­plattformen. Für Fragen, Anregungen oder Feedback zum Podcast schicken Sie eine Mail an podcast@jmberlin.de.

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback