Skip to main content

Please note: currently closed due to coronavirus restrictions

The Story of Uri Kozower

Lawyer Philipp Kozower was 37 when he married the 23-year-old medical student Gisela in 1931. A year later she gave birth to their first child, a daughter called Eva. The new parents had their picture taken with their baby in Berlin’s Monbijou Park: wearing a bright dress and straw hat, Gisela holds the baby towards the camera somewhat awkwardly, as if the picture should document that Eva exists.

By the time Eva’s sister Alice was born in 1934, the National Socialists had already enacted numerous laws against Jews as well as taken measures to exclude them from public life. Our online project 1933: The beginning of the end of German Jewry presents a variety of source materials from the Jewish Museum Berlin’s archives that bear witness to the disenfranchisement of German Jews. A display case with photographs and letters in our permanent exhibition details the Kozower family’s story:

The family’s youngest child was born in 1942. At this point Jewish parents in Germany were not permitted to name their children freely; rather, they had to choose from a list of acceptable names published by the Interior Ministry. Otherwise, newborn children – as all German Jews starting in 1939 – would simply be given the name Sara or Israel, depending on the gender. Gisela and Philipp chose the name Uri from the list. When Uri was three months old, the family was deported to Theresienstadt. From there they regularly wrote letters to relatives. Every letter is about the little boy: soon he’ll be able to hold his bottle by himself, he’s starting to crawl, he’s turning one.

“Uri is just adorable. He repeats everything we say now, and timidly tries to walk by himself,”

Photo of Gisela and Phillip Kozower with their baby in 1932

Gisela and Philipp Kozower with their daughter Eva, Berlin 13 August 1932; Jewish Museum Berlin, accession 2003/141/332, gift of Klaus M. Zwilsky

writes the ten-year-old Alice in July 1944. In October of 1944, Philipp, Gisela, Eva, Alice, and Uri are transported to Auschwitz. They are among the last people to be murdered in that death camp’s gas chambers.

A relative of the family, Klaus Zwilsky, saved the pictures together with the letters from Theresienstadt and donated them to the museum. Thanks to his conscientiousness and generosity, we’re able to tell the Kozower family’s story to our visitors. By displaying pieces like this in our permanent exhibition, we do the one thing we can in the face of Auschwitz: we make sure that the names, faces, and stories of the people killed there are not forgotten – not on January 27 or on any other day of the year.

Monika Flores Martínez, Permanent Exhibition

Photo of Eva and Alive Kozower

Eva and Alice Kozower with a picture book, Berlin ca. 1938; Jewish Museum Berlin, accession 2003/141/333, gift of Klaus M. Zwilsky

Citation recommendation:

Monika Flores (2014), The Story of Uri Kozower.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6725

Share, Newsletter, Feedback

Direkt zum Inhalt

Das Jüdische Museum Berlin bleibt bis auf Weiteres wegen Umbaus geschlossen. Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie kommt es leider zur Verzögerungen beim Bau der neuen Ausstellung. Über den Eröffnungstermin informieren wir Sie sobald wie möglich.

Die Geschichte von Uri Kozower

Monika Flores

Philipp Kozower ist 37 Jahre alt und Rechts­anwalt, als er 1931 die 23-jährige Medizin­studentin Gisela heiratet. Ein Jahr später bringt Gisela ihr erstes Kind zur Welt: Eva. Die frischen Eltern lassen sich mit ihrem Baby im Berliner Monbijou-Park ablichten. Auf dem Foto trägt Gisela ein helles Kleid und einen Strohhut. Das schlafende Kind hält sie – etwas ungelenk – in die Kamera, als sollte dokumentiert werden, dass es existiert.

Als im Jahr 1934 Evchens Schwester Alice geboren wird, haben die National­sozialist*innen bereits viele Maßnahmen getroffen, um Jüdinnen*Juden systematisch vom öffentlichen Leben auszuschließen. Unser Online-Projekt 1933: Der Anfang vom Ende des deutschen Judentums erzählt anhand von Dokumenten aus dem Archiv des Jüdischen Museums Berlin, was diese Maßnahmen für deutsche Jüdinnen*Juden bedeuteten. Auf die Geschichte der Familie Kozower gehen wir mit Fotografien und Briefen in einer Vitrine unserer Dauer­ausstellung ein.

Das Nesthäkchen der Familie wird 1942 geboren. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt können jüdische Eltern in Deutschland nicht frei entscheiden, wie ihre Kinder heißen, sondern müssen einen Namen aus einer vom Innen­ministerium heraus­gegebenen Liste wählen. Andernfalls bekommen die Neu­geborenen – wie alle deutschen Jüdinnen*Juden seit 1939 – die Zweit­namen Sara bzw. Israel. Gisela und Philipp wählen aus der Liste den Namen Uri. Als er drei Monate alt ist, wird die Familie nach Theresien­stadt deportiert. Von dort schreiben sie regelmäßig an Verwandte. In jedem Brief geht es um den Kleinen: Bald hält er seine Flasche allein, beginnt zu krabbeln, feiert seinen ersten Geburtstag.

„Uri ist zum Fressen süß, jetzt plappert er jedes Wort nach und versucht schüchtern allein zu laufen“,

Gisela und Philipp Kozower mit ihrer Tochter Eva, Berlin 13. August 1932; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Inv.-Nr. 2003/141/332, Schenkung von Klaus M. Zwilsky

schreibt die zehnjährige Alice im Juli 1944. Im Oktober 1944 besteigen Philipp, Gisela, Eva, Alice und Uri einen Transport nach Auschwitz. Sie gehören zu den letzten Menschen, die in den Gaskammern des Vernichtungs­lagers ermordet werden.

Die Bilder hat ein Verwandter der Familie, Klaus Zwilsky, zusammen mit den Briefen aus Theresien­stadt aufbewahrt und dem Museum gestiftet. Dank seiner Sorgfalt und seinem Geschenk können wir die Geschichte der Familie Kozower heute unseren Besucher*innen erzählen. Als Exponate unserer Dauer­ausstellung zeugen sie von dem, was uns angesichts von Auschwitz bleibt: dass wir die Namen, Gesichter und Geschichten der Personen, die hier getötet wurden, nicht vergessen – nicht am 27. Januar und nicht an allen anderen Tagen des Jahres.

Monika Flores Martínez, Dauerausstellung

Eva und Alice Kozower, Berlin ca. 1938; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Inv.-Nr. 2003/141/333, Schenkung von Klaus M. Zwilsky

Zitierempfehlung:

Monika Flores (2014), Die Geschichte von Uri Kozower.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6725