Skip to main content

Please note: book your tickets online for a specific time slot!

Hetty Berg

Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin

Hetty Berg became the Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin on 1 April 2020. Originally from the Netherlands, she has held various positions at the Jewish Historical Museum in Amsterdam.

She began her work there as a curator in 1989. In the span of her 30-year career, she created over 30 original temporary exhibitions, and oversaw the creation and implementation of five permanent exhibitions. Since 2002 she worked as the manager and chief curator of the Jewish Historical Museum in Amsterdam, which expanded in 2012 into the city’s Jewish Cultural Quarter. Along with the Jewish Historical Museum, it includes a children's museum, the Portuguese Synagogue, the National Holocaust Museum, and the Hollandsche Schouwburg memorial site.

Hetty Berg was born in 1961 in The Hague. After studying dance for four years in London and Amsterdam, she studied theater studies in Amsterdam. While pursuing her career, she received a master's degree in management for non-profit organizations in Utrecht. Berg is proficient in six languages and is a member of several scholarly councils and committees; for example, since 2016, she has been a member of the Dutch National Committee for the Code of Ethics for Museums, and from 2007 to 2013, she was a member of the board of the Association of European Jewish Museums.

Her work and research focuses on cultural history, including Jewish performance, Jews in the Netherlands and museum studies. She has published numerous books and scholarly essays on these subjects; most recently in 2017 as coeditor of Site of Deportation, Site of Memory: The Amsterdam Hollandsche Schouwburg and the Holocaust and in 2020 as editor of Waterlooplein: De buurt binnenstebuiten.

In addition, she has organized many international symposia and scholarly conferences, for example, together with the American historian Georg Mosse (1918–1999), with the Israeli demographer and statistician Sergio Della Pergola, with the American Rabbi David Ellenson, as well as with the American author and educator Susannah Heschel.

Hetty Berg has been a member of the Liberal Jewish Community in Amsterdam for over 40 years. Together with her partner, the French photographer Frédéric Brenner, she travels regularly to Israel.

Portrait of Hetty Berg

Hetty Berg; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Yves Sucksdorff

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Hetty Berg

Direktorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Hetty Berg ist seit dem 1. April 2020 Direktorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin. Zuvor war die Nieder­länderin mehr als 30 Jahre lang am Jüdischen Historischen Museum in Amsterdam in unter­schiedlichen Funktionen tätig.

1989 begann sie dort als Kuratorin – im Laufe ihrer Karriere am Museum kuratierte die Kultur­historikerin mehr als 30 Wechsel­ausstellungen und verantwortete die Konzeption und Realisierung von fünf Dauer­ausstellungen. 2002 wurde sie zur Museums­managerin und Chef­kuratorin des Jüdischen Historischen Museums in Amsterdam, das 2012 expandierte und zum Jüdischen Kulturviertel wurde. Dieses umfasst neben dem Jüdischen Historischen Museum, dem Kinder­museum und der Portugiesischen Synagoge auch das Nationale Holocaust-Museum und die Gedenk­stätte Hollandsche Schouwburg.

Hetty Berg wurde 1961 in Den Haag geboren. Nach einer vierjährigen Tanz­ausbildung in London und Amsterdam studierte sie Theater­wissenschaften in Amsterdam. Neben ihrer Berufs­tätigkeit erwarb sie einen Master im Management für Non-Profit-Organisationen in Utrecht. Die Niederländerin beherrscht sechs Sprachen und ist Mitglied in mehreren wissen­schaftlichen Beiräten und Gremien; so ist sie seit 2016 Mitglied im niederländischen National­komitee für Ethische Richtlinien für Museen und war von 2007 bis 2013 im Vorstand der Association of European Jewish Museums.

Ihre Arbeits- und Forschungs­schwerpunkte sind jüdische Kultur­geschichte, Juden in den Nieder­landen und Museums­kunde. Dazu veröffentlichte sie zahlreiche Bücher und wissen­schaftliche Aufsätze, zuletzt 2017 als Mitheraus­geberin von Site of Deportation, Site of Memory, The Amsterdam Hollandsche Schouwburg and the Holocaust und 2020 als Herausgeberin von Waterlooplein: De buurt binnenstebuiten.

Darüber hinaus organisierte sie zahlreiche internationale Symposien und wissen­schaftliche Konferenzen u. a. mit dem US-amerikanischen Historiker Georg Mosse (1918–1999), dem israelischen Demografen und Statistiker Sergio Della Pergola, dem US-amerikanischen Rabbiner David Ellenson sowie der US-amerikanischen Publizistin und Pädagogin Susannah Heschel.

Hetty Berg ist seit über 40 Jahren Mitglied der liberalen jüdischen Gemeinde in Amsterdam. Mit ihrem Lebens­gefährten, dem französischen Fotografen Frédéric Brenner, reist sie regel­mäßig nach Israel.

Porträt von der Direktorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin Hetty Berg

Hetty Berg, Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff