Skip to main content

The Jewish Museum Berlin will be closed for renovation until further notice. Regrettably, the corona pandemic has caused delays in the construction of the new exhibition. We will inform you of the opening date as soon as possible.

“Say it like it is!”

An interview with Ruth Wodak about media discourse around attacks committed by right-wing extremists and strategies to counter right-wing extremism

In October 2019, the linguist Ruth Wodak gave a talk at the Jewish Museum Berlin entitled Swing to the Right? Is Right-wing Populist Discourse Becoming the New Norm? In it, she analyzed how right-wing populists are constantly shifting the limits of what can be said, pushing their way in from the margins to the center of society. Extreme right-wing motives were behind recent attacks in Hanau and Halle; Latifa Hahn asks Ruth Wodak for her evaluation.

Again and again, extreme right-wing attacks in Germany, such as the terrorist attack in Hanau in early 2020 or in Halle the previous year, are described in the public media as “unthinkable” or “shocking.” This has been criticized by numerous Jewish and immigrant-focused organizations. What effect do such formulations have on public discourse?

Terms like those imply that such actions are surprising and incomprehensible. They also suggest that nothing can be done to prevent them, placing readers and listeners in a state of passivity and powerlessness.

To the contrary, we should try to explain such horrible acts by means of historical knowledge and knowledge of right-wing extremism, in order to place them in a larger context. Neither racism nor anti-Semitism are new; it is also not new that socio-economic problems and socio-political problems are displaced onto questions of identity and belonging. The strategy of making scapegoats responsible for complex problems is also neither new nor surprising. Nor is the fact that marginal right-wing parties operate on “great replacement” fears and apocalyptic threat scenarios.

This is why age-appropriate measures are needed to enlighten and educate people. Strict laws are also needed to counteract discrimination, racism, and anti-Semitism in all of their forms. Moral courage must also be learned, and that requires role models. Calling a spade a spade is a very important principle – we have to say it like it is; donʼt trivialize things or downplay them!

That means you have to react in a clear and forthright way, without conveying powerlessness.

How would you evaluate the participation of right-wing populists such as members of the AfD in public commemorations of the victims of National Socialism?

No one should be excluded from public events if they behave within the framework of the constitution and donʼt violate human rights or other civil rights (if they do so, legal action must be taken against them; see above).

Another question, however, is whether we want to commemorate together with groups that may be democratically elected but which exclude people ideologically. In Austria, the Jewish Community decided not to take part in ceremonies in which the FPÖ (Freedom Party of Austria) participates. This was already the case when the ÖVP (Austrian Peopleʼs Party) created a coalition with the FPÖ in 2018. And it is still true today.

How can we break through right-wing and populist discourses on social media?

Itʼs not easy because conspiracy theories and disinformation thrive in echo chambers and some of them are paid for with a lot of money. We should also look to the laws when counteracting the spread of hate messages and similar online clashes. This approach has already been carried out successfully several times, including in the European Court of Justice. However, it does mean that you have to fight back.

But if weʼre talking about the online spread of ideologies by democratically elected parties on their websites, in tweets, etc., then they have to be countered with argumentation—again, with education and enlightenment. The problem above all with social media is that now every politician can act as a journalist—that is, they can simply circumvent quality media sources. This is why good investigative journalism must be promoted and supported.

This interview was conducted by Latifa Hahn, March 2020

Citation recommendation:

Latifa Hahn (2020), “Say it like it is!”. An interview with Ruth Wodak about media discourse around attacks committed by right-wing extremists and strategies to counter right-wing extremism.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6955

Live recording (in German): Swing to the right? Is Right-wing Populist Discourse Becoming the New Norm?; Jewish Museum Berlin 2019

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

„Dinge beim Namen nennen!“

Ein Interview mit Ruth Wodak zum medialen Diskurs über Anschläge von Rechtsextremen und zu Strategien gegen Rechts­

Im Oktober 2019 hielt die Sprach­wissen­schaftlerin Ruth Wodak im Jüdischen Museum Berlin einen Vortrag zum Thema Rechtsruck? Zur Normalisierung rechts­populistischer Diskurse. Darin analysiert sie, wie Rechts­populist*innen die Grenzen des Sagbaren immer weiter verschieben und so von den Rändern in die Mitte der Gesellschaft drängen. Da die rechts­extremistisch motivierten Anschläge in Hanau und Halle neue Fragen aufwerfen, bat Latifa Hahn Ruth Wodak erneut um ihre Einschätzung:

Als Reaktion auf rechts­extremistische Anschläge und Angriffe in Deutschland wie der Terroranschlag in Hanau vom Frühjahr 2020 oder in Halle vom Herbst 2019 werden diese in der medialen Öffentlichkeit immer wieder als „unvorstellbar“ oder „schockierend“ bezeichnet. Dies wird von zahlreichen jüdischen und migrantischen Organisationen kritisiert. Wie wirken sich solche Formulierungen auf den öffentlichen Diskurs aus?

Begriffe wie diese implizieren, dass solche Aktionen sowohl überraschend wie unverständlich seien. Auch, dass man nichts dagegen unternehmen kann, sie versetzen Leser*innen und Hörer*innen eher in einen Zustand der Passivität und Ohnmacht.

Hingegen sollte man eher sowohl mit historischem Wissen wie auch mit dem Wissen über Rechts­extremismus versuchen, solche schreckliche Taten zu erklären und sie in einen größeren Kontext zu stellen. Weder sind Rassismus noch Antisemitismus neu; es ist auch nicht neu, dass sozio-ökonomische und sozio-politische Probleme auf Fragen der Identität und der Zugehörigkeit verschoben werden. Die Strategie, Sündenböcke für komplexe Probleme verantwortlich zu machen, ist ebenfalls nicht neu und überraschend. Weiter auch nicht, dass Rechtsaußen-Parteien mit „great replacement“-Ängsten und apokalyptischen Bedrohungs­szenarien operieren.

Daher sind Aufklärung und Bildung notwendige Maßnahmen, altersgerecht. Auch strenge Gesetze, die Diskriminierung, Rassismus und Antisemitismus in allen Ausprägungen entgegen­wirken. Zivilcourage muss ebenfalls erlernt werden, Rollen­modelle vorgestellt werden. „Call a spade a spade“ – die Dinge beim Namen nennen, ist ein ganz wichtiges Prinzip; nichts verniedlichen und verharmlosen!

Das heißt, man muss klar und deutlich reagieren und nicht Ohnmacht transportieren.

Wie bewerten Sie eine Teilnahme von Rechts­populist*innen wie Mitgliedern der AfD am öffentlichen Gedenken für die Opfer des National­sozialismus?

Bei öffentlichen Veranstaltungen sollte niemand ausgeschlossen werden, der sich innerhalb des Verfassungs­rahmens bewegt und nicht gegen Menschen­rechte und andere Grundrechte verstößt (denn sonst müssten gegen diese ja geklagt werden, siehe oben).

Eine andere Frage ist jedoch, ob man mit – zwar demokratisch gewählten, aber ideologisch ausgrenzenden – Gruppen gemeinsam gedenken will. In Österreich hat die Israelitische Kultus­gemeinde entschieden, nicht an Feierlich­keiten teilzunehmen, wo gewählte Vertreter*innen der FPÖ teilnehmen. Dies schon, als die ÖVP mit der FPÖ 2018 eine Koalition schloss. Dies ist auch heute noch der Fall.

Wie kann man rechte und rechts­populistische Diskurse in sozialen Medien durchbrechen?

Dies ist nicht einfach, da sich Verschwörungs­theorien und ähnliche Desinformation in Echokammern gut halten und teilweise mit viel Geld finanziert werden. Gegen die Verbreitung von Hass-Mails und entsprechende ‚shit-storms‘ sollte man auch anhand von Gesetzen vorgehen. Dies ist schon mehrfach gelungen, auch beim Europäischen Gerichtshof. Das heißt wiederum, dass man sich wehren muss.

Wenn es aber um die Verbreitung von Ideologien im Netz geht, die von demokratisch gewählten Parteien auf ihren Websites, durch Tweets etc. ausgeht, dann muss man diesen argumentativ entgegen­treten – also wiederum durch Bildung und Aufklärung. Das Problem, das sich durch Social Media vor allem ergibt, besteht darin, dass jetzt jede*r Politiker*in selbst journalistisch tätig sein kann – das heißt, man kann die Qualitäts­medien umgehen. Insofern muss guter investigativer Journalismus unterstützt und gefördert werden.

Das Interview führte Latifa Hahn, März 2020

Porträt Ruth Wodak

Ruth Wodak ist emeritierte Professorin für Diskurs­forschung (Lancaster University) und Angewandte Sprach­wissenschaften (Universität Wien), Foto: privat.

Video-Mitschnitt des Vortrags von Ruth Wodak zur Normalisierung rechtspopulistischer Diskurse; Veranstaltung vom 17. Oktober 2019; Jüdisches Museum Berlin 2019

Zitierempfehlung:

Latifa Hahn (2020), „Dinge beim Namen nennen!“. Ein Interview mit Ruth Wodak zum medialen Diskurs über Anschläge von Rechtsextremen und zu Strategien gegen Rechts­.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6955