Jewish Places

The Interactive Map About Jewish Life in Germany

Map with markers of different locations of Museums, Synagogues, and cemeteries

In recent years, the study of local and regional Jewish history in Germany has made significant advances. The results are available in a wide range of websites and archives, but are often hard to locate or only viewable in person.

The new Jewish Places website aims to consolidate research on Jewish life in Germany on one interactive map with appealing visualizations. This gives interested users of all ages an opportunity to learn visually about the connections between Jewish life and local history and to explore them from anywhere. Jewish Places encourages users to contribute their own information. They can upload or input text, images, or videos of synagogues, associations, and many other Jewish institutions onto the website and reach a broad audience.

Biographies and walking tours developed by experts use the power of storytelling to give novices an entry point into local Jewish history. The mobile version allows you to explore for yourself and guides you in person to actual venues of Jewish life.

Jewish Places is conceived as a collaborative project. All collaborators are pursuing the common goal of illustrating the complexity and diversity of Jewish life in Germany using a variety of content on the map. This will raise the visibility of educational institutions for local history and initiatives of Jewish life. Jewish Places is designed to fit the needs of local institutions and be used by regional projects in their educational activities.

Schools and universities will have access to freely available workshop instructions for Jewish Places, bringing Jewish history to life digitally and in person. The interdisciplinary approach helps students from the elementary school to university level draw social, historical, and spatial connections.

With the support of the Rothschild Foundation (Hanadiv) Europe, a prototype was developed in the funding period from March 2015 to May 2016. The launch of Jewish Places is planned for mid-2018.

It is being developed with the support of the Friends of the Jewish Museum Berlin in the U.S., the German Federal Agency for Civic Education, and the F.C. Flick Foundation.

If you have any questions about the project, please contact
Barbara Thiele
Head of Digital & Publishing
phone: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 308
fax: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 333

Jewish Museum Berlin
Lindenstraße 9–14
10969 Berlin

Jewish Places

Die interaktive Karte zu jüdischem Leben in Deutschland

Landkarte mit Markierungen, rechts Abbildung eines Gutshauses

Eine Landkarte jüdischen Lebens. Screenshot der Anwendung

Die Forschung hat in den vergangenen Jahren eine Vielzahl neuer Entdeckungen zur jüdischen Regionalgeschichte in Deutschland hervorgebracht. Die Ergebnisse finden sich in diversen Webangeboten oder Archiven wieder – häufig sind diese jedoch schwer aufzufinden oder nur direkt vor Ort einsehbar.

Die neue Website Jewish Places möchte die Forschungsinhalte zu jüdischem Leben in Deutschland auf einer interaktiven Karte bündeln und auf ansprechende Art visualisieren. Junge wie ältere Interessierte haben somit die Möglichkeit, lokalgeschichtliche Zusammenhänge zu jüdischem Leben visuell zu erfassen und unabhängig vom eigenen Standort zu entdecken. Jewish Places lädt dazu ein, eigenes Wissen beizutragen. Texte, Bilder oder Videos zu Synagogen, Vereinen und vielen weiteren jüdischen Einrichtungen können auf der Website hochgeladen und einem breiten Publikum präsentiert werden.

Von Expert*innen erarbeitete Biografien und Spaziergänge helfen Einsteiger*innen auf erzählerische Weise, einen Zugang zur jüdischen Lokalgeschichte zu finden. Die mobile Version ermöglicht es, dem eigenen Entdeckerdrang zu folgen und vor Ort zu den Schauplätzen jüdischen Lebens geführt zu werden.

Jewish Places versteht sich als Kooperationsprojekt. Gemeinsam verfolgen alle Partner das Ziel, die Komplexität und Diversität jüdischen Lebens in Deutschland anhand verschiedener Inhalte auf der Karte zu veranschaulichen.

Lokalgeschichtlichen Bildungseinrichtungen und Initiativen zu jüdischem Leben soll zu mehr Sichtbarkeit verholfen werden. Jewish Places orientiert sich am Bedarf lokaler Einrichtungen und soll Einsatz in der Bildungsarbeit von regionalen Projekten finden: Schulen und Universitäten werden frei verfügbare Workshop-Anleitungen zu Jewish Places angeboten, um jüdische Geschichte vor Ort digital erlebbar zu machen. Der fachübergreifende Ansatz hilft den Schüler*innen und Student*innen dabei, gesellschaftliche, geschichtliche und räumliche Bezüge zum Thema herzustellen.

Mit Unterstützung der Rothschild Foundation Hanadiv Europe wurde im Förderzeitraum März 2015 bis Mai 2016 ein Prototyp der Website entwickelt. Der Launch von Jewish Places ist für Mitte des Jahres 2018 geplant.

Die Entwicklung wird unterstützt von den Friends of the Jewish Museum Berlin in the U.S., der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung sowie der F. C. Flick Stiftung.

Bei Fragen zum Projekt wenden Sie sich an
Barbara Thiele
Head of Digital & Publishing
Tel.: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 308
Fax: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 333

Stiftung Jüdisches Museum Berlin
Lindenstraße 9–14
10969 Berlin