Peter Schäfer

Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin

Peter Schäfer is the director of the Jewish Museum Berlin Foundation since 1 September 2014. He is one of the most internationally renowned scholars of Jewish Studies.

Director Peter Schäfer in front of the Jewish Museum Berlin's Libeskind Buildinglin

Peter Schäfer in front of the Jewish Museum Berlin's Libeskind Building; photo: picture alliance/dpa

Born in 1943 in Hückeswagen, he studied Catholic Theology, Philosophy and Jewish Studies in Bonn, Jerusalem, and Freiburg. In 1968 he received his Ph.D. in Jewish Studies, and in 1973 he completed his habilitation at the University of Frankfurt. He then held teaching positions at the universities of Tübingen and Cologne. In 1983, Peter Schäfer succeeded Jacob Taubes as Professor of Jewish Studies and Director of the Institute of Jewish Studies at the Free University of Berlin, a position that he held until 2008. In 1998, he was appointed Professor of Religion and the first Ronald O. Perelman Professor of Jewish Studies at Princeton University; from 2005 to 2013, he served as Director of Princeton's Program in Judaic Studies.

For his academic work, Peter Schäfer has been honored with numerous awards, including the Leibniz Prize in 1994, Germany's most prestigious research funding prize. In 2006, he received the Mellon Award, the highest award for scholars of the humanities in the United States, honoring him for his academic life's work and his substantial initiative in reviving the tradition of Jewish studies in Germany. In 2013, he received the Howard T. Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities, followed in 2014 by the Leopold Lucas Prize from the University of Tübingen, and in 2015 by the Reuchlin Prize of the city of Pforzheim.

Peter Schäfer holds honorary doctorate degrees from the University of Utrecht and the University of Tel Aviv. He has enjoyed several visiting professorships, amongst others at the University of Oxford, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Yale University and the Institute for Advanced Study Princeton. In 2002/03 he became a fellow at the "Historisches Kolleg" in Munich and in 2007/08 at the "Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin". He is a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy since 1987, a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Science and Humanities since 1994, a foreign member of the American Philosophical Society since 1997, a fellow of the American Academy for Jewish Research since 2006, and a honorary member of the "Verband der Judaisten in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V." since 2013. Peter Schäfer is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe Foundation since 2015. In April 2017 he has been elected a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences .

Peter Schäfer has published numerous books and academic papers, translated and published fundamental texts of the Jewish tradition, and was a founder and co-editor of several scholarly series and of the journal Jewish Studies Quarterly.

Peter Schäfer lives in Berlin with his wife Barbara Schäfer. They have two daughters and a son.

Biography of Peter Schäfer as PDF file

2017

pdf/349.85 KB/
english
/

Peter Schäfer

Direktor des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Seit 1. September 2014 ist Peter Schäfer Direktor der Stiftung Jüdisches Museum Berlin. Er ist einer der international angesehensten Judaisten unserer Zeit.

Geboren 1943 in Hückeswagen, studierte Peter Schäfer Theologie, Philosophie und Judaistik in Bonn, Jerusalem und Freiburg. 1968 wurde er im Fach Judaistik promoviert. 1973 habilitierte er sich an der Universität Frankfurt am Main. Anschließend lehrte er an den Universitäten Tübingen und Köln. 1983 wurde er als Nachfolger von Jacob Taubes auf den Lehrstuhl für Judaistik an der Freien Universität Berlin berufen, den er bis 2008 innehatte. 1998 folgte er einem Ruf an die Universität Princeton als Professor of Religion und erster Inhaber des Ronald O. Perelman-Lehrstuhls für Jüdische Studien; von 2005 bis 2013 leitete er dort als Direktor das Studien­programm für Judaistik.

Für sein wissenschaftliches Werk wurde Peter Schäfer mit vielen Auszeichnungen geehrt, darunter 1994 mit dem Leibniz-Preis, dem wichtigsten Forschungsförder­preis in Deutschland. 2006 erhielt er für sein wissenschaftliches Gesamtwerk und sein Verdienst um den Wieder­aufbau der jüdischen Studien in Deutschland den renommierten Mellon Award, die höchstdotierte Auszeichnung für Geistes­wissenschaftler in den Vereinigten Staaten. 2013 wurde er mit dem Howard T. Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities, 2014 mit dem Leopold-Lucas-Preis der Universität Tübingen und 2015 mit dem Reuchlin­preis der Stadt Pforzheim ausgezeichnet.

Porträt vor Architekturelementen im Libeskind-Bau

Peter Schäfer;
Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Jule Roehr

CC by-sa

Peter Schäfer ist Inhaber von Ehren­doktoraten der Universitäten Utrecht und Tel Aviv. Er war unter anderem Gast­professor an der Universität Oxford, der Hebrew University Jerusalem, der Yale University und am Institute for Advanced Study Princeton sowie Fellow am Historischen Kolleg München (2002/03) und am Wissenschafts­kolleg zu Berlin (2007/08). Seit 1987 ist er Corresponding Fellow der British Academy, seit 1994 ordentliches Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, seit 1997 Foreign Member der American Philosophical Society, seit 2006 Fellow der American Academy of Jewish Research und seit 2013 Ehren­mitglied des Verbandes der Judaisten in Deutschland. Seit 2015 gehört er dem Kuratorium der Stiftung Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas an. Im April 2017 wurde Peter Schäfer zum Foreign Honorary Member in die American Academy of Arts and Sciences gewählt.

Peter Schäfer hat zahlreiche Bücher und wissenschaftliche Aufsätze publiziert, grundlegende Texte der jüdischen Tradition übersetzt und herausgegeben und war Gründer und Mit­herausgeber mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Reihen sowie der Zeitschrift Jewish Studies Quarterly.

Peter Schäfer lebt mit seiner Frau Barbara Schäfer in Berlin. Er hat mit ihr zwei Töchter und einen Sohn.

Lebenslauf von Peter Schäfer als PDF

Stand: 2017

pdf/112.57 KB/
deutsch
/nicht barrierefrei