Cilly Kugelmann

Program Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin (2002-2017)

Cilly Kugelmann was the Program Director and Vice Director of the Jewish Museum Berlin from September 2002 until March 2017. She had worked for the museum since May 2000, first as head of the Education department, and later also of the Science and Scholarship and Exhibitions departments.

Previously, Kugelmann worked at the Jewish Museum in Frankfurt am Main, where she directed the education program, ran public relations, and curated historical exhibitions (1986-2000).

Born in Frankfurt am Main in 1947, Cilly Kugelmann lived in Israel for five years starting in 1966. She spent a year there as an agricultural laborer on a kibbutz in the Galilee, then went on to study art history and general history at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She returned to Germany in 1971 and began a degree in educational sciences, sociology, and psychology. From 1972 to 1999, both during and after her studies, she organized political education conferences about Jewish history and the conflict in the Middle East.

After her degree, she gave courses on integration to ethnic German immigrants and asylum-seekers for the National Education Federation (1978–82). She then launched a self-help company for the chronically ill at the department of psychiatry and social psychiatry at the Elisabeth Foundation Hospital in Darmstadt (1982–1985), and taught education courses at Ruprecht-Karls University in Heidelberg (1982-1984), where she collaborated on an empirical investigation into Sinti and Roma persecution during the Nazi era (1984–1986).

Portrait photograph of Cilly Kugelmann

Cilly Kugelmann; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Yves Sucksdorff

Kugelmann was part of the editorial board of the magazine Babylon, Contributions to Contemporary Jewish Living, published from 1980 to 2010. She has also been involved in the publication of several books on the post-war history of Jews in Germany and on antisemitism.

Cilly Kugelmann

Programmdirektorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin (2002 bis 2017)

Cilly Kugelmann war von September 2002 bis März 2017 Programmdirektorin des Jüdischen Museums Berlin und Stellvertreterin des Direktors. Als Leiterin der Bildungsabteilung, später auch der Abteilung Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie der Ausstellungsabteilung war sie bereits seit Mai 2000 im Museum tätig.

Zuvor betreute Cilly Kugelmann von 1986 bis 2000 am Jüdischen Museum in Frankfurt am Main das Bildungsprogramm sowie die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und war als Kuratorin für historische Ausstellungen tätig.

1947 in Frankfurt am Main geboren, wanderte Cilly Kugelmann 1966 für fünf Jahre nach Israel aus. Dort verbrachte sie ein Jahr als landwirtschaftliche Hilfsarbeiterin in einem Kibbuz im Galil und studierte danach an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem Kunstgeschichte und Geschichtswissenschaft. 1971 kehrte sie nach Deutschland zurück und setzte ihr Studium in den Fächern Erziehungswissenschaften, Soziologie und Psychologie fort. Neben dem Studium und im Anschluss daran organisierte sie im Rahmen der politischen Bildung Tagungen und Konferenzen zu Themen der jüdischen Geschichte und zum Nahost-Konflikt (von 1972 bis 1999).

Nach dem Studium führte sie Eingliederungslehrgänge für Spätaussiedler*innen und Asylsuchende für den Bund für Volksbildung durch (1978–1982). Anschließend baute sie eine Selbsthilfefirma für chronisch Kranke an der Abteilung für Psychiatrie und Sozialpsychiatrie am Krankenhaus Elisabethenstift in Darmstadt auf (1982–1985) und lehrte Erziehungswissenschaften an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität in Heidelberg (1982–1984). Dort arbeitete sie auch an einer empirischen Untersuchung zur Verfolgungserfahrung von Sinti und Roma während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus mit (1984–1986).

Porträt im Libeskind-Bau

Cilly Kugelmann; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Cilly Kugelmann war Redaktionsmitglied der von 1980 bis 2010 erscheinenden Zeitschrift Babylon. Beiträge zur jüdischen Gegenwart und zudem an der Herausgabe mehrerer Bücher zur Nachkriegsgeschichte der Jüd*innen in Deutschland und zum Antisemitismus beteiligt.