Skip to main content

Please note: book your tickets online for a specific time slot!

“Original Voices Ensure a Diversity of Per­spec­tives”

Interview with Lisa Albrecht about the New JMB App

The JMB App will be launched to coincide with the opening of the new core exhibition on 23 August 2020; Jewish Museum Berlin, graphic: Verena Blöchl, NOUS

The picnic tables under the plane trees in the Museum Garden of the Jewish Museum Berlin are nearly empty. Lisa Albrecht is sitting where museumgoers usually stop for a break. She is the project manager of the JMB App, which is being launched in the late summer, parallel to the opening of new core exhibition. How is an audioguide being developed as an app? What methods have been used along the way to make sure the app meets users’ needs? In the sunshine amidst birdsong, Lisa talked about the working process, “design thinking” methods, and her enthusiasm for audio formats.

When the new core exhibition opens, the JMB App will replace the museum’s audioguide. Why is the guide called “JMB App”?

We’re calling our audioguide the JMB App because it’s an app for the whole museum. Besides the core exhibition, it will cover the Axes on the lower level of the Libeskind Building, the Garden, and the architecture. And at some point in the future, we would like to add content for the temporary exhibitions as well.

Why isn’t it a pure audioguide anymore?

Alongside audio, users can also read text, play games, watch videos, and view images. With the app, visitors can see their current location. That helps them find their way around the museum. In another development stage, we could also announce events or sell tickets to the museum. An app is the more suitable way to offer such diverse formats and features.

Portrait of Lisa Albrecht with glasses and jacket with flower pattern in the museum garden

After working at the Deutsches Hygiene Museum (German Hygiene Museum) and the Cologne-based public broadcaster WDR, Lisa Albrecht is now overseeing the JMB App; Jewish Museum Berlin; photo: Immanuel Ayx

The author of an older article in the Süddeutsche Zeitung [a major daily newspaper published in Munich] cautions against “weakening the autonomy of the exhibited item” and imagines that the visitors of the future will spend the whole time staring at little screens. How can app developers complement the exhibition experience with the audioguide?

We spent a lot of time thinking about this question. The core exhibition includes many media stations, which we don’t want our app to compete with. That’s why, on the first level, we always offer audio segments. To reinforce the autonomy of visitors and exhibited artifacts, the app doesn’t start playing anything automatically. The visitors decide for themselves how they want to use the app. During the script edits, I deleted any wordings that might influence perception. I was pretty strict about that. The app is a medium that enriches – but doesn’t replace – the experience of touring the exhibition.

Pocket-Sized World Explainers

More on SZ.de (in German)

In the core exhibition, the app has various different emphases. The 13 Lives tour, for example, allows visitors to explore the exhibit through the lens of life stories, including the life of Günter Loewinski.

Günter Loewinski was eleven years old when his father advised him to take up a sport involving self-defence.

Günter Loewinski: “He said his motto was, ‘Being a Jew means being a fighter.’”

Self-defence? Fighting? Günther Loewinski, born in 1922, didn’t understand what his father meant at first. But he enjoyed his new hobby – boxing.

_Sound: Sounds of boxing training _

Günter Loewinski: “So we went to a boxing club … It was called JBC Berlin – Jewish Boxing Club Berlin.”

Max Buchbaum, a well-known youth trainer, took him under his wing. Soon Loewinski was winning Jewish sports club competitions nationally. At the age of 14, he won a youth boxing championship in Essen. As a reward his trainer gave him a very special trophy …

Günter Loewinski: “He said to me, ‘Here, have one of my trophies. I had your name put on it. You’re the best young fighter in Essen.’”

Loewinski trained as a tailor. Because he had a Jewish father and a non-Jewish mother, the Nazi government considered him a “Second Degree Half-breed” and he was forced to do compulsory labor. One day he was travelling on the subway in Berlin with his girlfriend Hannelore.

Günter Loewinski: “We were going up the stairs from the underground and there was a drunk Nazi paramilitary in full uniform coming towards us. He was really drunk! Hannelore was a First Degree Half-breed and didn’t have to wear her star. And anyway, he tried to molest her and I said, ‘Hannelore, see if there’s anyone on the street.’ And I gave him one under the chin and he fell right down the stairs. Then we got scared of course. We ran into the first good house entrance and stood there for two or three hours. Then I went home and my mother was very upset. My father was happy though.”

I’m glad that the JMB App is a cross-sectional project. We got to know a lot of colleagues that way.

You collaborated with a very wide range of departments to produce the content. Was that challenging?

When many people are involved, it takes a lot of communication to incorporate all stakeholders and service providers. I’m glad that the JMB App is a cross-sectional project. In addition to the curators, we also collaborated with Building Management, Marketing, the Website, and two external agencies, Antenna Audio and Nous. We got to know a lot of colleagues that way.

Your team wrote scripts about the core exhibition before it was installed. How did you write about rooms that you couldn’t view yet?

The curators assembled packets of materials about the stations we selected for the JMB App. As well as views of objects, articles, and background materials, we had access to texts about objects that were already on display in the old core exhibition. We arranged the editing process so that the curators would check the scripts. But we also wrote on location when possible. That’s how the parts about the gardens and the architecture were composed.

The audio track about the Jewish Museum Berlin’s gardens includes recordings of landscape architect Hans Kollhoff and the landscape designers Cornelia Müller and Jan Wehberg.

Which content especially captivated you when you were working on the scripts?

The core exhibition is full of many amazing stories. I was especially fascinated by Sylvin Rubinstein’s flamenco dress.

What was so fascinating about it?

At first, the object provoked a sense of irritation. Why would a flamenco dress be on display at the Jewish Museum? On the JMB App, a short track recounts a bit about the man who wore the dress. After the disappearance of his twin sister, flamenco dancer Sylvin Rubinstein performed in dresses to commune with her. They also served as a disguise. Dressed as a woman, he carried out attacks for the Resistance. It’s a very moving story. And the nice thing is that you can easily listen to it while you’re looking at the dress in the exhibition.

In the JMB App, visitors learn more about Sylvin Rubinstein’s extraordinary life.

_Flamenco-Music_

Sylvin Rubinstein: “Flamenco suited us better. It’s Sephardic, it’s Moorish, and the Gypsies kept it alive. When I dance it, it’s like my sister is with me.”

Sylvin Rubinstein had an extraordinary life. Born in Russia and raised in Poland, he and his twin sister Maria were a celebrated duo in the 1930s. Under the stage names _Dolores and Imperio_, they danced their way through Europe. When the Second World War broke out, they were living in Warsaw. One year later they were confined in the Warsaw Ghetto.

Sylvin Rubinstein: “We’d only find death there.”

They escaped and, shortly afterwards, were forced to separate. Maria was supposed to catch up with the family but the plan didn’t succeed. Sylvin never saw his sister Maria again. He joined the Resistance, helping prisoners, hiding Jewish children and planning attacks. Disguised as a female singer, he threw two hand grenades into the audience of a restaurant mainly visited by SS and Gestapo members. Shortly afterwards, with forged papers, he fled to Berlin and was liberated here.

Sylvin Rubenstein never got over the loss of his sister. From then on, he took on her role when dancing. He sewed himself Flamenco dresses and performed in cabarets throughout Germany. He was able to build on the couples’ former success but this time as Dolores, alone. He never danced with a partner again.

Sylvin Rubinstein: “But God gave me Flamenco. And when I danced, he always gave me my little sister to accompany me.”

With recordings of original voices, we ensure a diversity of perspectives and avoid a one-sided museum perspective.

You conducted many interviews for the app. Why is that important?

We already used a lot of recorded interviews in the previous audioguide. It enriched the content and was well-received by visitors. With recordings of original voices, we ensure a diversity of perspectives and avoid a one-sided museum perspective. For example, we interviewed the architect Daniel Libeskind and the artist Yael Bartana.

Daniel Libeskind on the voids that cut through the building of the Jewish Museum Berlin; Jüdisches Museum Berlin 2017

Daniel Libeskind: “The word ‘void’ in architecture in English is usually a technical word to say there is nothing kind of below or above. ‘Die Leere’ in German. I wanted to create a space that is not a technical name for not knowing something, but a space of encounter that is a space of absence which is a real space, which is a physical space. It’s not a conceptual space. You can look at it. You can feel the exhibitions. No matter how continuous and somehow also discontinuous. Whatever you do there will always be discontinuous across that gap. That gap is not that wide, but it’s enough to bring a light, a sharp gleam of light that cuts through the building. So the building is cut through light. And much of the building is conceived through light. It’s a story in light, from darkness, from entry, to the beautiful baroque building, to the darkness, to the … to the choice of routes.”

How did it feel listening to voice actors recording the completed scripts in the studio?

It’s an incredibly amazing feeling. When I was sitting in the studio, I forgot about the drafting and editing process, which hadn’t always been easy. Having lots of people involved in drafting and editing doesn’t necessarily make the script better. So it was that much nicer to notice how well the writing flowed out loud. Besides, we have fantastic voice actors such as Heike Warmuth, Elmar Börger, Stephan Buchheim and Robert Frank. I was especially pleased that we were able to get Sandra Hüller on board for the project. She gave the scripts a personal touch during the recording sessions.

The actress and speaker Sandra Hüller sits with headphones in front of the microphone in the recording studio

Sandra Hüller (more on Wikipedia) during the recording sessions for the JMB App; Jewish Museum Berlin; photo: Heiko Niebur

I used to hang out in museums all the time and listened to audioguides to improve my Spanish.

When and how did you personally discover audioguides?

When I was seventeen, I spent a summer working in Madrid as an au-pair and got bored during my free time. I used to hang out in museums all the time and listened to audioguides to improve my Spanish. Even then, I thought it was a pity that this awesome medium is often implemented so uncreatively.

Did you then choose a degree program in this area?

After graduating high school, I thought about whether to study sound at a film academy, but in the end I decided to study social sciences and linguistics and did internships in radio and some audio projects on the side. I wrote my bachelor’s thesis about an audio walk by the Canadian artist Janet Cardiff, and then for my master’s, I produced my own artistic audio walk Hör-Spuren (Audio Traces) through Ernst Thälmann Park in Berlin.

What advice would you give readers who want to become app developers?

Use and listen to audioguides with a critical ear. For example, there are some great projects by Rimini Protokoll and for a while the platform B-Tour put on a festival of walks.

Janet Cardiff

More on Wikipedia

Rimini Protokoll

More on Wikipedia

B-Tour

More on Wikipedia

By selecting different personas, you can regularly check whether the app is meeting different users’ needs.

The Jewish Museum Berlin has a variety of visitors. They come from all age groups and many different nationalities. How did you approach this diversity of potential users in your working process?

We applied the “persona” method from the toolkit of design thinking. In this method, you sketch out possible users, and try to cover the gamut of different museum visitors.

What would one of those “personas” look like?

For the app, one of the personas we developed was a sixteen-year-old named Bruno who comes to the museum with his parents and is bored. Another persona is Gertrud. She is seventy, is familiar with the subject matter, and interested in more in-depth knowledge. By selecting personas that are extremely different from each other, you can consult them during the production process to regularly check whether the app is meeting different users’ needs.

Design Thinking

More on Wikipedia

We made sure that the audio tracks would still work even if the visitors couldn’t see the objects.

One particularly important audience for the museum and the app are visitors with disabilities. Can they use the app?

For the initial version of the app, we decided to focus on visitors who are blind or partially sighted as a target audience. We made sure that the audio tracks would still work even if the visitors couldn’t see the objects. The app also reads all written text aloud and offers instructions for how to feel 3D tactile paintings. For visitors who are deaf or hard of hearing, we offer readable transcripts of all audio tracks. This is a minimal offering that we plan to build on in future versions.

Can you give me an example of a unique format that caters specifically to visitors who are blind or partially sighted?

For several stops on our architecture tour, we interviewed the museum guide Jonas Hauer, who is blind. This way we were able to integrate his perspective of the space into the voice recordings. This is a bonus for sighted visitors as well.

For blind visitors, the Garden of Exile is one of the most intuitive places. Our museum guide Jonas Hauer, who is blind himself, explains why.

I am a particularly impatient museumgoer. Does the JMB App have any tours I can complete in a short amount of time?

The exhibition encompasses more than 3,000 square meters (32,000 sq. ft.). Looking through the entire exhibition would probably take a museumgoer all day. And that’s why we developed short tours for visitors with less time to spend. For example, there’s a tour called What is... ?, in which visitors learn more about the Jewish religion, Hebrew words, and Jewish holidays. You can also stroll through and just listen to the audio tracks that catch your interest.

What does kashrut mean? This audio track explains Jewish dietary laws.

_Jingle_

What does …

… kashrut mean?

Kashrut is a set of dietary laws which regulate the purity of food or what is kosher and can be eaten.

The kashrut is founded in the Torah. There are many rules about what is allowed to be served and what isn’t.

All fruits, vegetables and cereals are allowed. Meat and fish, however, are more complicated.

Kosher (meaning “suitable”) meat comes from ruminants with split hooves such as beef or lamb. But it is allowed under only one condition: The animal must have been slaughtered in a kosher way, i.e. with only one slash of the knife.

The meat of pigs and rabbits, for example, is not kosher. Poultry and fish do not appear randomly on the menu either. Birds cannot be scavengers and animals living in the sea must have bones and scales if they are to be eaten.

The Torah also says, “Thou shalt not cook a kid in its mother's milk.” That’s why meat and dairy products are not eaten together. Cheeseburgers and lasagnas, for example, are taboo.

The core of your identity is impacted by how seriously you take the kashrut and how strictly you follow it.

Why should visitors download the JMB App to their smartphone before they get to the museum?

There are several advantages for visitors of bringing their own devices and headphones. Most people know their way around their own devices well. Also, the app shows them tallies of the stations they’ve visited, the centuries they’ve traversed, the games they’ve played, and how many minutes they’ve listened to so far. Users also have the ability to save favorites so they can check out stations at home that they didn’t have time for in the exhibition. And the app is free of charge, by the way.

The interview was conducted by Immanuel Ayx, July 2020

Citation recommendation:

Immanuel Ayx (2020), “Original Voices Ensure a Diversity of Per­spec­tives”. Interview with Lisa Albrecht about the New JMB App .
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/7143

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

„O-Töne sor­gen für eine Viel­falt an Perspek­tiven“

Interview mit Lisa Albrecht über die neue JMB App

Mit der Eröffnung der neuen Dauerausstellung am 23. August 2020 launcht auch die JMB App; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Graphik: Verena Blöchl, NOUS

Die Bierbänke unter den Platanen im Museumsgarten des Jüdischen Museums Berlin sind fast leer. Wo normalerweise Besucher*innen eine Pause machen, sitzt Lisa Albrecht. Sie ist die Projektleiterin für die JMB App, die parallel zur Eröffnung der neuen Dauerausstellung im Spätsommer launcht. Wie wird ein Audioguide in App-Form entwickelt? Mit welchen Methoden kann im Arbeitsprozess geprüft werden, ob die App die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer*innen erfüllt? Während die Sonne scheint und die Vögel zwitschern, erzählt Lisa vom Arbeitsprozess, Methoden aus dem Design Thinking und ihrer Begeisterung für Audioformate.

Die JMB App löst ab Eröffnung der Dauer­ausstellung den Audioguide ab. Warum heißt der Guide JMB App?

Unser Audioguide heißt JMB App, weil er eine App für das ganze Museum ist. Neben der Dauer­ausstellung bespielen wir die Achsen im Unter­geschoss des Libeskind-Baus, die Gärten und die Architektur. Und perspektivisch wollen wir auch Inhalte für Wechsel­ausstellungen anbieten.

Warum ist er kein reiner Audioguide mehr?

Neben Audios können User*innen auch Texte lesen, Spiele spielen sowie Videos und Bilder anschauen. Die Besucher*innen erfahren über die App, wo sie sich gerade befinden. So können sie sich im Museum orientieren. Außerdem könnten wir in einer weiteren Ausbau­stufe der App Ver­anstaltungen ankündigen oder Museums­tickets verkaufen. Um diese Vielfalt an Formaten und Features anzubieten, ist eine App am geeignetsten.

Porträt von Lisa Albrecht mit Brille und Jacke mit Blumenmuster im Museumsgarten

Nach Stationen am Deutschen Hygiene-Museum und beim WDR ist Lisa Albrecht nun verantwortlich für die JMB App; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Immanuel Ayx

In einem älteren Artikel in der Süddeutschen Zeitung warnt der Autor vor einer „Schwächung der Autonomie des Ausstellungs­stücks“ und dass alle Besucher*innen nur noch auf kleine Bild­schirme starren. Wie können App-Macher*innen mit dem Audioguide das Ausstellungs­erlebnis ergänzen?

Über diese Frage haben wir uns viele Gedanken gemacht. In der Dauer­ausstellung stehen viele Medien­stationen, zu denen wir mit der App nicht in Konkurrenz treten wollten. Deswegen bieten wir auf der ersten Ebene immer Audios an. Um die Autonomie der Besucher*innen und der Ausstellungs­stücke zu stärken, startet die App Inhalte nicht automatisch. Die Besucher*innen entscheiden selber, wie sie die App nutzen. Formulierungen, die die Wahr­nehmung beeinflussen, habe ich bei den Text­korrekturen gestrichen. Da war ich relativ streng. Denn die App ist ein Angebot, das den Ausstellungs­rundgang mit zusätzlichen Angeboten bereichert, ihn aber nicht ersetzt.

Welten­erklärer im Taschen­format

Mehr auf SZ.de

Die App setzt in der Dauer­ausstellung unterschiedliche Schwer­punkte. Die Tour 13 Leben ermöglicht zum Beispiel einen Rund­gang anhand von Biografien. Eine von ihnen ist die von Günter Loewinski.

Günter Loewinski war elf Jahre alt, als sein Vater ihm riet, einen Verteidigungssport zu lernen.

Günter Loewinski: „Seine Parole war, meinte er: ‚Jude sein heißt Kämpfer sein‘.“

Verteidigung? Kämpfer? Günter Loewinski, Jahrgang 1922, verstand zuerst nicht, worauf der Vater hinauswollte. Doch er fand Gefallen an seinem neuen Hobby: dem Boxen.

Sound: Geräusche Training: dumpfe Schläge auf Sandsack, Atmen, Rufe Trainer_

Günter Loewinski: „Und wir kamen zu einem Boxclub, der hieß JBC Berlin – Jüdischer Boxclub Berlin.“

Max Buchbaum, ein bekannter Jugendtrainer, nahm ihn unter seine Fittiche. Bald schon siegte Loewinski in überregionalen Turnieren der jüdischen Sportverbände. Mit 14 Jahren wurde er Meister bei einem Jugendboxturnier in Essen. Als Auszeichnung bekam er von seinem Trainer eine sehr persönliche Trophäe:

Günter Loewinski: „Und dann sagt er zu mir: ‚Du, hier hast du eine von meinen Trophäen. Ich habe deinen Namen draufgedruckt. Du bist der beste Jugendkämpfer von Essen gewesen.‘“

Loewinski machte eine Schneiderlehre. Weil er einen jüdischen Vater und eine nichtjüdische Mutter hatte, musste er ab 1939 jedoch als sogenannter „Mischling zweiten Grades“ Zwangsarbeit leisten. Eines Tages war er mit seiner Freundin Hannelore in der Berliner U-Bahn unterwegs:

Günter Loewinski: „Wir gingen die Treppe von der Untergrundbahn herauf und da kommt uns entgegen ein betrunkener SA-Mann in voller Uniform! Er war ganz, ganz schön betrunken! Sie war Mischling ersten Grades. Ich war Mischling zweiten Grades. Sie brauchte keinen Stern tragen. Und er hat sie angepöbelt. Und ich sage: ‚Hannelore, guck mal, ob jemand auf der Straße ist.‘ Und ich habe ihm ein Ding gegeben mit der rechten Faust, da ist er runtergepoltert die Treppen. Wir haben natürlich Angst bekommen. Wir sind im ersten, besten Hausflur hereingerannt und haben dort zwei, drei Stunden gestanden. Und ich bin nach Hause gekommen, das meinen Eltern erzählt, und meine Mutter war aufgeregt. Der sich gefreut hat, das war mein Vater!“

Ich bin froh, dass die JMB App ein Schnitt­stellen­projekt ist. Dadurch haben wir viele Kolleg*innen kennen­gelernt.

Bei der Produktion der JMB App habt ihr mit den unter­schiedlichsten Abteilungen zusammen­gearbeitet. War das heraus­fordernd?

Wenn viele Menschen involviert sind, erfordert das viel Kommuni­kation, damit alle Stake­holder*innen und Dienst­leister*innen mitein­bezogen werden. Ich bin froh, dass die JMB App ein Schnitt­stellen­projekt ist. Wir haben neben den Kurator*innen auch mit dem Gebäude­management, dem Marketing, der Website und den externen Agenturen Antenna Audio und Nous zusammen­gearbeitet. Dadurch haben wir viele Kolleg*innen kennen­gelernt.

Ihr habt Texte über die Dauer­ausstellung geschrieben, als diese noch nicht aufgebaut war. Wie habt ihr über Räume geschrieben, die ihr euch nicht anschauen konntet?

Die Kurator*innen haben uns zu den Stationen, die wir für die JMB App ausgewählt haben, Material­pakete zusammen­gestellt. Neben Objekt­ansichten, Artikeln und Hintergrund­material standen uns Texte zu Objekten zur Verfügung, die wir bereits in der alten Dauer­ausstellung gezeigt haben. Wir haben den Redaktions­prozess so gestaltet, dass die Kurator*innen die Texte geprüft haben. Aber wir haben auch vor Ort getextet, wenn das möglich war. So sind zum Beispiel die Texte zu den Gärten und zur Architektur entstanden.

In dem Audio-Track über die Gärten des Jüdischen Museums Berlin kommen der Garten­architekt Hans Kollhoff und die Landschafts­gestalter*innen Cornelia Müller und Jan Wehberg zu Wort.

Welche Inhalte haben dich bei der Text­arbeit besonders gefesselt?

In der Dauer­ausstellung werden viele spannende Geschichten erzählt. Das Flamenco­kleid von Sylvin Rubinstein hat mich besonders fasziniert.

Was war daran so faszinierend?

Das Exponat sorgt im ersten Moment für Irritation: Warum wird im Jüdischen Museum ein Flamenco­kleid ausgestellt? In der JMB App erzählt dann ein kurzer Track etwas über den Träger des Kleides: Der Flamenco-Tänzer Sylvin Rubinstein ist nämlich nach dem Verschwinden seiner Zwillings­schwester in Kleidern aufgetreten, um ihr nahe zu sein. Außerdem konnte er sich so tarnen und hat als Frau verkleidet Anschläge im Widerstand verübt. Das ist eine sehr bewegende Geschichte. Und der Vorteil beim Hören ist, dass man sich währenddessen das Kleid in der Ausstellung in Ruhe ansehen kann.

Besucher*innen erfahren in der JMB App mehr über Sylvin Rubinsteins außergewöhnliches Leben.

_Musik: Flamenco_

Sylvin Rubinstein: „[D]er Flamenco hat uns gelegen! [...] Er ist sephardisch, er ist maurisch, und die Zigeuner haben ihn gewahrt. […] Wenn ich habe getanzt, ich habe gehabt mein Schwesterlein immer dabei.“

Sylvin Rubinstein hatte ein außergewöhnliches Leben. In Russland geboren, in Polen aufgewachsen, feierte er mit seiner Zwillingsschwester Maria in den 1930er-Jahren Triumphe. Als „Dolores und Imperio“ tanzten sie sich durch ganz Europa. Den Kriegsbeginn erlebten sie in Warschau, ein Jahr später wurden sie in das Warschauer Ghetto eingewiesen.

Sylvin Rubinstein: „[H]ier finden wir nur den Tod.“

Sie flohen – und mussten sich kurz darauf trennen: Maria sollte die Familie nachholen, doch der Plan ging nicht auf. Sylvin sah Maria nie wieder. Er ging in den Widerstand, half Gefangenen, versteckte jüdische Kinder – und plante Attentate. Als Sängerin verkleidet warf er zwei Handgranaten ins Publikum eines vornehmlich von SS und Gestapo besuchten Lokals. Kurz darauf floh er mit falschen Papieren nach Berlin. Hier erlebte er die Befreiung.

Den Verlust seiner Schwester überwand Sylvin Rubinstein nie. Fortan übernahm er ihre Rolle beim Tanz: Er nähte sich Flamencokleider und trat in Varietés in ganz Deutschland auf: Als Dolores knüpfte er an seine früheren Erfolge an – allerdings allein. Nie wieder tanzte er mit einer Partnerin.

Sylvin Rubinstein: „Aber Gott mir hat gegeben den Flamenco. Und wenn ich habe getanzt, er mir hat gegeben mein Schwesterlein immer dabei.“

Mit O-Tönen sorgen wir für eine Vielfalt an Perspektiven und vermeiden eine einseitige Museums­perspektive.

Für die App habt ihr viele Interviews geführt. Warum ist das wichtig?

Schon beim vorherigen Audioguide haben wir viel mit Original­tönen gearbeitet. Das hat die Inhalte bereichert und ist gut bei den Besucher*innen angekommen. Mit O-Tönen sorgen wir für eine Vielfalt an Perspektiven und vermeiden eine einseitige Museums­perspektive. Wir haben zum Beispiel den Architekten Daniel Libeskind und die Künstlerin Yael Bartana interviewt.

Daniel Libeskind über die Voids, die das Gebäude des Jüdischen Museums Berlin durchziehen (in englischer Sprache); Jüdisches Museum Berlin 2017

Wie ist das Gefühl, wenn die fertigen Texte von den Sprecher*innen im Studio eingesprochen werden.

Das ist ein wahn­sinnig tolles Gefühl. Als ich im Studio saß, habe ich den nicht immer leichten Redaktions­prozess vergessen. Wenn viele Personen an der Text­redaktion beteiligt sind, macht das die Texte nicht unbedingt besser. Umso schöner war es zu merken, dass der Text gesprochen funktioniert. Außerdem haben wir tolle Sprecher*innen wie Heike Warmuth, Elmar Börger, Stephan Buchheim und Robert Frank. Besonders gefreut habe ich mich, dass wir Sandra Hüller für das Projekt gewinnen konnten. Sie hat den Texten bei den Auf­nahmen eine persönliche Note gegeben.

Sandra Hüller

Mehr bei Wikipedia

Die Schauspielerin und Sprecherin Sandra Hüller sitzt mit Kopfhörern vor dem Mikrofon im Aufnahmestudio

Sandra Hüller bei den Aufnahmen für die JMB App; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Heiko Niebur

Ich war ständig in den Museen und habe mir, um mein Spanisch zu verbessern, Audioguides angehört.

Wann und wie hast du das Thema Audioguide für dich entdeckt?

Als ich 17 Jahre alt war, habe ich einen Sommer als Au-pair in Madrid gearbeitet und mich in meiner freien Zeit gelangweilt. Daher war ich ständig in den Museen und habe mir, um mein Spanisch zu verbessern, Audio­guides angehört. Ich fand es schon damals sehr schade, dass dieses tolle Medium oft so unkreativ umgesetzt wird.

Hast du dann ein Studium in diese Richtung gewählt?

Nach dem Abi habe ich überlegt, ob ich Ton an der Film­hochschule studiere, habe mich dann für ein geistes- und sprach­wissen­schaftliches Studium entschieden und nebenher Praktika beim Radio und eigene Audio­projekte gemacht. Meine Bachelor-Arbeit habe ich über einen Audiowalk der kanadischen Künstlerin Janet Cardiff geschrieben und als Master-Arbeit dann selbst den künstlerischen Audio­walk Hör-Spuren durch den Ernst-Thälmann-Park in Berlin produziert.

Welche Tipps würdest du Leser*innen geben, die App-Macher*innen werden wollen?

Kritisch Audioguides nutzen und hören. Es gibt zum Beispiel tolle Projekte vom Rimini Protokoll und einige Zeit gab es ein Spazier­gangs-Festival der Plattform B-Tour.

Wenn man unter­schiedliche Personas aussucht, kann man regel­mäßig prüfen, ob die App die unter­schiedlichen Nutzer*innen­bedürf­nisse erfüllt.

Das Jüdische Museum Berlin hat unter­schiedlichste Besucher*innen. Alle Alters­gruppen und unter­schiedliche Nationalitäten sind vertreten. Wie habt ihr euch in eurem Arbeits­prozess diesen potentiell diversen Nutzer*innen angenähert?

Wir haben aus dem Design Thinking Toolkit die Methode der Persona angewendet. Bei dieser Methode skizziert man mögliche Nutzer*innen und versucht damit die Band­breite an unter­schiedlichen Museumsbesucher*innen abzudecken.

Wie sieht so eine Persona aus?

Bei der App haben wir unter anderem den 16-jährigen Bruno entwickelt, der mit seinen Eltern ins Museum kommt und gelangweilt ist. Eine weitere Persona ist Gertrud. Sie ist 70 Jahre alt, hat sich schon mit dem Thema befasst und ist an vertiefendem Wissen interessiert. Wenn man Personas aussucht, die extrem unterschiedlich sind, kann man im Produktions­prozess anhand der Personas regel­mäßig prüfen, ob die App die unterschiedlichen Nutzer*innen­bedürf­nisse erfüllt – ob für die unter­schiedlichsten Besucher*innen, was dabei ist.

Design Thinking

Mehr bei Wikipedia

Wir haben darauf geachtet, dass die Audios auch funktionieren, wenn die Besucher*innen die Objekte nicht sehen.

Eine besonders wichtige Ziel­gruppe für das Museum und die App sind Besucher*innen mit Ein­schränkungen. Können sie die App nutzen?

Für die erste Version der App haben wir als Ziel­gruppe Besucher*innen mit Seh­einschränkungen und Blinde gewählt. Wir haben darauf geachtet, dass die Audios auch funktionieren, wenn die Besucher*innen die Objekte nicht sehen. Die App liest außerdem alle Schrift­texte vor und bietet Tast­anleitungen für Tast­gemälde. Besucher*innen mit Hör­einschränkung bieten wir alle Audio-Texte zum Mitlesen an. Das ist ein minimales Angebot, das für zukünftige Versionen noch ausgebaut werden soll.

Kannst du ein besonderes Format nennen, das sich speziell an Besucher*innen mit Seh­einschränkungen und Blinde richtet?

Wir haben für einige Stationen unserer Architektur-Tour den blinden Museums­guide Jonas Hauer interviewt. Dadurch konnten wir in O-Tönen seine Perspektive auf den Raum integrieren. Das ist auch für sehende Besucher*innen ein Mehr­wert.

Für blinde Besucher*innen ist der Garten des Exils einer der überschaubarsten Orte. Warum das so ist, erklärt der blinde Museumsguide Jonas Hauer.

Ich bin ein besonders ungeduldiger Museums­besucher. Hat die JMB App Touren, die ich in kurzer Zeit schaffen kann?

Die Ausstellung hat eine Fläche von mehr als 3.000 Quadrat­metern. Um die ganze Ausstellung anzuschauen, bräuchte ein*e Museums­besucher*in wahr­scheinlich einen ganzen Tag. Gerade deswegen haben wir für Museums­typen mit wenig Zeit kurze Touren entwickelt. Es gibt zum Beispiel die Tour Was ist eigentlich …?, mit der Besucher*innen mehr über die jüdische Religion, hebräische Worte und jüdische Feste erfahren. Außerdem könntest du frei flanieren und dir nur die Audio-Tracks anhören, die dich interessieren.

Was ist eigentlich Kaschrut? Der Audio-Track erklärt das jüdische Speise­gesetz.

_Jingle_

Was ist eigentlich …

… Kaschrut?

Kaschrut, das Speisegesetz, regelt die rituelle Reinheit der Nahrung – also was koscher ist und gegessen werden darf.

Grundlage der Kaschrut ist die Tora. Eine Fülle von Regeln bestimmt, was auf den Teller kommt – und was nicht.

Erlaubt sind alle Früchte, Gemüse und Getreidearten. Bei Fleisch und Fisch wird es allerdings komplizierter.

Koscher, also tauglich, ist Fleisch von Wiederkäuern mit gespaltenen Hufen wie Rind oder Lamm. Allerdings nur unter einer Bedingung: Das Tier muss auf koschere Weise geschlachtet worden sein: Das heißt, mit nur einem Schnitt.

Nicht koscher ist zum Beispiel das Fleisch von Schweinen und Kaninchen. Auch Geflügel und Fisch kommen nicht wahllos auf den Speiseplan. Vögel dürfen keine Aasfresser sein und Wassertiere müssen Gräten und Schuppen haben, um als Nahrung zu dienen.

In der Tora steht auch: „Du sollst ein Zicklein nicht in der Milch seiner Mutter kochen“. Darum werden Fleisch- und Milchprodukte nicht zusammen gegessen. Cheeseburger und Lasagne sind also tabu.

Wie ernst man die Kaschrut nimmt und wie streng man sie befolgt, berührt den Kern der eigenen Identität. Für den italienischen Autor Primo Levi bedeutete dies: „[E]in Jude ist, […] wer keine Salami essen sollte, aber es doch tut[.]“

Warum sollten Besucher*innen sich vor ihrem Museums­besuch die JMB App auf ihr Smart­phone laden?

Wenn Besucher*innen ihr eigenes Gerät und Kopf­hörer mitbringen, hat das mehrere Vorteile. Die meisten Menschen kennen sich auf ihrem eigenen Gerät gut aus. Die App stellt außerdem eine Statistik bereit, in der die geschafften Stationen, die durch­laufenen Jahr­hunderte, die gespielten Spiele und die gehörten Minuten gezählt werden. Zudem haben User*innen die Möglichkeit, Favoriten zu speichern. So können sie dann zu Hause Stationen nachholen, für die sie in der Ausstellung keine Zeit hatten. Die App ist übrigens kostenfrei.

Das Interview führte Immanuel Ayx, Juli 2020

Zitierempfehlung:

Immanuel Ayx (2020), „O-Töne sor­gen für eine Viel­falt an Perspek­tiven“. Interview mit Lisa Albrecht über die neue JMB App.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/7143