Refik Veseli Schule

The Jewish Museum Berlin’s Partner School

Since June 2012, a close educational partnership has linked the Refik Vesli School in Berlin’s Kreuzberg district, an integrated secondary school, with the Jewish Museum Berlin.

In September of that year, the two institutions began collaborating on a weekly elective course called “History Workshop” with students in grades 9 and 10 (ages 14–15).

Other projects have been added over the years. Here is an overview.

Exhibition "A Is for Jewish"
(2017/2018)

From September 2017 to July 2018, over a hundred school students from three Berlin schools had their hand in the exhibition A Is for Jewish, on show at the Jewish Museum Berlin from 26 November 2018 to 30 September 2019.

In the exhibition, interviews with Berlin musicians, for example, that were prepared and conducted by young people from the Refik Veseli School can be heard. In addition, the students developed various theatrical formats such as The Game of Life, which they show in the program surrounding the exhibition.

The Game of Life 2018; photo: Anja Scheffer/sideviews e. V.

Some of the school students who reflected on the exhibition themes over a period of 18 months went on to found the youth committee Schattenmuseum (Shadow museum) in September 2018. They present their ideas and comments in a blog in the exhibition (to the German language blog).

The participation process was conceived and carried out by the artist collective sideviews in collaboration with the Jewish Museum Berlin.
The project was supported by the Friends of the Jewish Museum, the Cultural Agents for Creative Schools program, the Berlin Cultural Education Project Fund, and the Refik Veseli School.

MuseumUnLearn
(2017)

The project VOIDS.MuseumUnLearn in April 2017 was a research project conducted by school students from the Refik Veseli School about the Jewish Museum Berlin on how a museum can attract and be relevant for young people. The school students asked museum visitors, passers-by in the neighborhood, and employees how they perceived the museum and how they feel a museum for young people should look.

Above all, however, the young people themselves considered what a museum has to offer so that they want to visit. In a symposium that they organized, they discussed with visitors and museum staff why exhibition texts could not be written in a simpler style, why there were no texts in Turkish, Arabic or Hebrew, why the museum had not set up a chill corner for young people and how or whether young people would be involved in the museum’s exhibitions in the future.

The project was conceived and implemented by the artist collective sideviews in collaboration with the Jewish Museum Berlin, and supported by the Friends of the Jewish Museum, the Berlin Projects Funds for Cultural Education and the Refik Veseli School.

App through X-BRG: A Digital City Walk to Places of Resistance in Kreuzberg
(2017)

School students from the Refik Veseli School in Kreuzberg together with the Jewish Museum Berlin developed a digital treasure hunt for adults and young people aged 13 and over. The treasure hunt leads to places of resistance in Berlin-Kreuzberg and is all about questions such as: “Who do we see in the urban space? Who don’t we see? Which stories are told? (to the “App through X-BRG”).

Photo of traffic passing through a building

The »Kreuzberg Center« at Kottbusser Tor is one of the places the app through X-BRG leads to; Jewish Museum Berlin, photo: Fabian Schnedler

VOIDS.Leerstellen: A Dramatic Tour of the Museum’s Architecture
(2016)

A group of 26 eighth grade pupils undertook a research project on the museum architecture in September 2016. Four weeks long they explored the architecture and became experts on the space. The result was an open format between performance and interactive guided tour as well as an exhibition curated by school students in the museum’s Eric F. Ross Gallery.

The school students’ project was the third theatrical production by School and Museum. Interlinking the Refik Veseli School’s cultural profile Theater with the activities of the Jewish Museum Berlin is the aim of the cooperation. The project was carried out by director Anja Scheffer and stage designer Henrik Scheel from sideviews in cooperation with the Jewish Museum and the Cultural Agents for Creative Schools program. Several productions and cooperation formats have been created since 2016, such as the productions Golem or VOIDS.MuseumUnlearn.

Video documentation of the final results of VOIDS.Leerstellen (in German)

Student Film: The Middle East Conflict: A History Workshop Research Project
(2016)

In cooperation with the Jewish Museum Berlin, grade 9 students (age 14) from the History Workshop asked Berliners from Palestinian and Israeli families what they thought about the conflict in the Middle East. After a research stage, during which the students met the educators Shemi Shabat and Mohamed Ibrahim, they made lists of questions on the topic, which developed into the interview questions.

The participants in the 28-minute film (in German) talk about their experiences with discrimination and prejudice, their views about media coverage, the beginnings of the State of Israel, and the (im)possibility of resolving the conflict. All interviewees speak for themselves. The film does not represent the opinions of the authors .

Middle East Conflict: A History Workshop Research Project (in German)

A New Name for the School: Refik Veseli
(2015)

Students, parents, and teachers of the Eighth Integrated Secondary School democratically decided to rename themselves the Refik Veseli School. Refik Veseli was a 17-year-old apprentice at a photography studio in Tirana, Albania, when he met the Jewish photographer Mosche Mandil, who had fled Yugoslavia to escape the Nazis. But in 1943 the Germans invaded Albania too, and things became much more dangerous for Jews. The Veseli family, which was Muslim, decided to hide Mosche Mandil and his family at their house in Kruja. It turned out to be a three-year commitment. The Mandil family survived.

Timeline of Past Projects as Part of the School Partnership

  • 2015: Trip to the Holy Land: What the Media Don’t Show – During a ten-day trip to Israel and Palestine, students captured their impressions in photographs and assembled them into an online exhibition.
  • 2013: Turkey by Day and by Night – A student photography exhibition. In June 2013, we accompanied thirty-four students and five teachers on a ten-day trip to Turkey. The destinations included Istanbul, Izmir, and the Afacan “encounter center.” The itinerary in Istanbul included a gathering with students from the local Jewish school and visits to mosques, synagogues, and churches. In Izmir, we traced the footsteps of Jewish history. With Afacan as our base, we visited the ancient city of Bergama (Pergamon). The trip was made possible by financial support from the Umverteilen! Foundation.
  • 2012: X-Berg, My Name – A student film: everything about the film, from the concept to the camerawork, was done by students in grade 9 (age 14). They asked residents of the Kreuzberg district about Kreuzberg.
Contact
Fabian Schnedler
phone: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 430
fax: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 412
Final Products (3) Projects by School Groups Show all

Projects by School Groups

Projects by school and youth groups produce exhibitions, films, online documentation, and more.

Films and documentation from History Workshop projects

Films, tours, and online exhibits by students at our partner school, the Refik Veseli School

on.tour Pays a Visit to the Juvenile Detention Center

In 2008, the Jewish Museum Berlin initiated its first project week at the Plötzensee juvenile offenders’ institution

Kosher – Don't You Have That in Islam, Too?

An unusual exchange program organized by the on.tour mobile museum

Teachers

All Content for ...

A Is for Jewish

Journeys through Now in 22 Letters

Exhibition

26 November 2018 to 30 September 2019
Read More

Refik-Veseli-Schule

Partnerschule des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Seit Juni 2012 verbindet die Refik-Veseli-Schule in Berlin-Kreuzberg und das Jüdische Museum Berlin eine enge Bildungspartnerschaft.

Im September 2012 begann die Zusammenarbeit im wöchentlich stattfindenden Wahlpflichtkurs »Geschichtswerkstatt« mit Schüler*innen des 9. bzw. 10. Jahrgangs.

Weitere Projekte sind in den letzten Jahren dazugekommen, über die wir hier im Überblick berichten.

Ausstellung »A wie Jüdisch«
(2017/2018)

Von September 2017 bis Juli 2018 haben über hundert Berliner Schüler*innen von drei Berliner Schulen an der Ausstellung »A wie Jüdisch« mitgewirkt, die vom 26. November 2018 bis 30. September 2019 im Jüdischen Museum Berlin zu sehen ist.

In der Ausstellung sind z. B. Interviews mit Berliner Musiker*innen zu hören, die Jugendliche der Refik-Veseli-Schule vorbereitet und geführt haben. Darüber hinaus entwickelten Schüler*innen verschiedene theatrale Formate wie »Das Spiel des Lebens», die sie im Begleitprogramm der Ausstellung zeigen.

Spiel des Lebens 2018; Foto: Anja Scheffer/sideviews e. V.

Einige der Schüler*innen reflektierten über einen Zeitraum von anderthalb Jahren über die Ausstellungsthemen und gründeten im September 2018 das Jugendgremium »Schattenmuseum«. Ihre Ideen und Kommentare präsentieren sie in einem Blog in der Ausstellung (zum Blog).

Konzipiert und durchgeführt wurde der Beteiligungsprozess vom Künstler*innenkollektiv sideviews e. V. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin.

Das Projekt wurde unterstützt von den Freunden des Jüdischen Museums, dem Programm Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen, dem Berliner Projektfonds Kulturelle Bildung, der Refik-Veseli-Schule sowie der PwC-Stiftung.

Museum.VerLernen
(2017)

Das Projekt »VOIDS.Museum.VerLernen« im April 2017 war ein Forschungsprojekt von Schüler*innen der Refik-Veseli-Schule über das Jüdische Museum Berlin zur Frage, wie ein Museum für Jugendliche attraktiv und relevant sein kann. Schüler*innen fragten bei Museumsbesucher*innen, Passant*innen in der Nachbarschaft und Mitarbeiter*innen nach, wie sie das Museum wahrnehmen und wie ein Museum für Jugendliche in ihren Augen aussehen sollte.

Vor allem aber überlegten die Jugendlichen selbst, was ein Museum anbieten müsste, das sie gern besuchen würden. In einem von ihnen organisierten Symposion diskutierten sie mit Besucher*innen und Museumsmitarbeiter*innen, warum Ausstellungstexte nicht verständlicher formuliert werden könnten, warum es keine Texte auf Türkisch, Arabisch oder Hebräisch gäbe, warum das Museum keine Chill-Ecke für Jugendliche eingerichtet habe oder ob und wie junge Menschen in Zukunft an den Ausstellungen des Museum beteiligt sein werden.

Konzipiert und durchgeführt wurde das Projekt vom Künstler*innenkollektiv sideviews e. V. in Zusammenarbeit mit den Jüdischen Museum Berlin. Das Projekt wurde unterstützt von den Freunden des Jüdischen Museums, dem Berliner Projektfonds Kulturelle Bildung und der Refik-Veseli-Schule.

App durch X-BRG: Ein digitaler Stadtspaziergang zu Orten des Widerstands in Kreuzberg
(2017)

Schüler*innen der Kreuzberger Refik-Veseli-Schule entwickelten gemeinsam mit dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin eine digitale Schnitzeljagd für Erwachsene und Jugendliche ab 13 Jahren. Die Schnitzeljagd führt zu Orten des Widerstands in Berlin-Kreuzberg und dreht sich um Fragen wie »Wen sehen wir im Stadtraum? Wen nicht? Welche Geschichten werden erzählt?« (zur »App durch X-BRG«).

Fotografie eines Gebäuderiegels über einer autobefahrenen Straße

Das »Zentrum Kreuzberg« am Kottbusser Tor ist einer der Orte, zu denen die App durch X-BRG führt; Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Fabian Schnedler

VOIDS.Leerstellen. Eine szenische Führung durch die Architektur des Museums
(2016)

26 Schüler*innen einer 8. Klasse erforschten im September 2016 die Museumsarchitektur. Vier Wochen lang erkundeten sie die Architektur und wurden zu Expert*innen des Raumes. Es entstand ein offenes Format zwischen Performance und interaktiver Führung sowie eine von Schüler*innen kuratierte Ausstellung in der Eric F. Ross Galerie des Museums.

Video-Dokumentation des Projektergebnisses von VOIDS.Leerstellen, Regisseurin: Anja Scheffer (sideviews e. V.)

Das Schüler*innenprojekt war die dritte Theaterproduktion von Schule und Museum. Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist es, das kulturelle Profil »Theater« der Refik-Veseli-Schule mit den Aktivitäten des Jüdischen Museums Berlin zu verzahnen. Das Projekt wurde von der Regisseurin Anja Scheffer und dem Bühnenbildner Henrik Scheel von sideviews e. V. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jüdischen Museum und dem Programm Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen durchgeführt. Seit 2016 sind mehrere Produktionen und Formate der Zusammenarbeit entstanden, wie die Produktionen Golem oder VOIDS.MuseumVerLernen.

Nahostkonflikt. Eine Recherche der Geschichtswerkstatt
(2016)

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin fragten Schüler*innen der 9. Klasse der Geschichtswerkstatt Berliner*innen aus palästinensischen und israelischen Familien, was sie über den Nahostkonflikt denken. Nach einer Recherchephase, in der die Schüler*innen u. a. die Pädagogen Shemi Shabat und Mohamed Ibrahim trafen, formulierten sie ihre Fragen zum Thema, aus denen die Interviewfragen entstanden.

Die Protagonist*innen des etwa halbstündigen Films erzählen über ihre Erfahrungen mit Diskriminierungen und Vorurteilen, ihre Sicht auf die Berichterstattung in Medien, die Entstehung des Staates Israel und die (Un-) Möglichkeiten, den Konflikt zu lösen. Alle Interviewpartner*innen sprechen für sich selbst, der Film gibt nicht die Meinung der Autor*innen wider.

Nahostkonflikt. Eine Recherche der Geschichtswerkstatt

Ein neuer Schulname: Refik Veseli
(2015)

Schüler*innen, Eltern und Lehrer*innen der 8. Integrierten Sekundarschule Skalitzer Straße benannten ihre Schule in einem demokratischen Prozess in Refik-Veseli-Schule um. Refik Veseli war ein 17-jähriger Lehrling in einem Fotostudio im albanischen Tirana, als er 1942 den aus Jugoslawien vor den Nationalsozialisten geflohenen jüdischen Fotografen Mosche Mandil kennenlernte. Mit dem Einmarsch der Deutschen 1943 verschärfte sich die Situation für Jüdinnen*Juden in Albanien. Die muslimische Familie Veseli beschloss, Mosche Mandil und seine Familie in ihrem Haus in Kruje zu verstecken. Daraus wurden fast drei Jahre, die Familie Mandil überlebte.

Reise ins Heilige Land. Was Medien nicht zeigen
(2015)

Während einer zehntägigen Reise nach Israel und Palästina hielten die Schüler*innen ihre Eindrücke auf Fotos fest und stellten diese in einer Online-Ausstellung zusammen.

Türkei Tag und Nacht – Eine Fotoausstellung von Schüler*innen
(2013)

Im Juni 2013 begleiteten Mitarbeiter*innen des Jüdischen Museums Berlin 34 Schüler*innen und fünf Lehrer*innen für zehn Tage in die Türkei. Neben Istanbul waren Izmir und die Begegnungsstätte Afacan Ziele der Reise. Auf dem Programm standen in Istanbul ein Treffen mit Schüler*innen der dortigen Jüdischen Schule, Besuche von Moscheen, Synagogen und Kirchen. In Izmir folgte die Reisegruppe den Spuren jüdischer Geschichte, von Afacan aus besuchte sie das antike Bergama (Pergamon). Die Reise fand mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Stiftung Umverteilen! statt.

X-Berg, mein Name – Ein Film von Schüler*innen
(2012)

Schüler*innen der Klassenstufe 9 entwickelten einen Film, von der Idee bis zum Dreh. Sie befragten Kreuzberger*innen über Kreuzberg.

Ansprechpartner
Fabian Schnedler
Tel.: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 430
Fax: 
+49 (0)30 259 93 412
Ergebnisse (4) Projekte von Schüler*innen Alle anzeigen

Projekte von Schüler*innen

Aus Projekten mit Schulklassen oder Jugendgruppen entstehen unter anderem Ausstellungen, Filme oder Online-Dokumentationen.

Ergebnisse aus der Geschichtswerkstatt

Filme, Führungen und Online-Ausstellung von Schüler*innen unserer Partnerschule Refik-Veseli

on.tour zu Besuch in der Jugendstrafanstalt

2008 initiierte das Jüdische Museum Berlin erstmals eine Projektwoche in der Jugendstrafanstalt Berlin-Plötzensee.

Koscher – gibt's das nicht auch im Islam?

Ein außergewöhnlicher Schüler*innen­austausch im Rahmen des mobilen Museums on.tour (2012)

Traumwelten! Klangwelten

Eine Ausstellung mit Arbeitsergebnissen aus dem Ferienprogramm 2002 zum Thema Freud und Traumdeutung

Lehrer*innen

Alles für ...