Skip to main content

On 23 August 2020, the Jewish Museum Berlin is opening its new core exhibition. Until then the museum will be closed for renovations.

Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Three Questions to Ahmad Milad Karimi

Julia Jürgens
In the series New German Stories, which was launched in January 2014 as part of the Academy program, Ahmad Milad Karimi, Professor of Islamic Philosophy and Mysticism at the University of Münster, presented his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes (Osama bin Laden schläft bei den Fischen) at the Academy of the Jewish Museum Berlin on March 10, 2015.

On 9 March 2015 Julia Jürgens did a short interview with Ahmad Milad Karimi and asked him the following three questions:

In your autobiography you bring together Western popular culture and the history of Islamic intellectualism, the translation of the Koran and your PhD thesis on Hegel, Persian mysticism and a penchant for mafia films. If I may make a question of your book’s subtitle: What does Marlon Brando have to do with the pleasure you take in being Muslim?

That is a secret of the book, a secret concealed first and foremost by the fact that there is always more to people than the pigeonhole we like to keep them in.

Six years ago you published your new translation of the Koran. What motivated you to take up such a challenge and add a new translation to those already in existence?

The Koran is more than simply a book—it is the poetry of God. The Koran is rhythmic and melodious. It has a beat and a timbre. Every pause for breath is emotional and pregnant with meaning. The way in which the Koran comes into being by creating a resonant space at each reading touches the heart. The Koran is thus an act of beauty and a means to experience God. And it was this, which shaped my decision to translate the Koran, to translate it in such a way as to foreground this spirit, this experience also in the German version.

You and your family fled the war in Afghanistan in 1992. For over a year you were in the hands of traffickers, on an odyssee that took you to New Delhi and Moscow before you finally reached your destination, Germany. In the light of this experience, how do you view “Fortress Europe’s” current policy on refugees and asylum seekers?

What would Europe be without its refugees? The German philosopher Walter Benjamin, who took his own life when fleeing the Nazis in 1940, noted in his Arcades project that the idea of progress is rooted in the idea of catastrophe: “That ‘it goes on like this’ is the catastrophe.” The real catastrophe is the attitude of the general public to those who are forced to flee, to those who are in search of humanity but only rarely find it. To be able to stay here “on tolerance”, [i.e. be allowed only a provisional residence permit], to have one’s application for asylum “turned down,” to be “deported”— all these are verdicts that concern human beings. But these particular human beings are defined and treated as objects that cost money, that are a burden. By contrast, policy that respects the human rights of refugees and asylum-seekers calls for solidarity and, above all, for a comprehensive package of measures—the first of which must be the right to legal immigration. Europe will fail to meet its own standards of democracy if its asylum policy remains focused not on the needs of people in distress but on the economic interests of each of its member states.

The interview was conducted by Julia Jürgens (Academy program on migration and diversity).

book cover

Ahmad Milad Karimi Osama bin Laden schläft bei den Fischen (“Osama bin Laden is sleeping with fishes”, book cover); Herder Publishers

Citation recommendation:

Julia Jürgens (2015), Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes. Three Questions to Ahmad Milad Karimi.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6351

Interview Series: New German Stories (12)

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

„Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“

Drei Fragen an Ahmad Milad Karimi

In der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten, die seit Januar 2014 in den Akademieprogrammen stattfindet, stellte Ahmad Milad Karimi, Professor für islamische Philosophie und Mystik, am 10. März 2015 in der Akademie des Jüdischen Museums Berlin sein Buch Osama bin Laden schläft bei den Fischen vor.

Vorab – am 9. März 2015 – führte Julia Jürgens ein kurzes Interview mit Ahmad Milad Karimi und stellte ihm die folgenden drei Fragen:

In Ihrer Autobiographie bringen Sie westliche Populärkultur und islamische Geistesgeschichte, die Übersetzung des Koran und eine Doktorarbeit über Hegel sowie eine Vorliebe für Mafia-Filme und die persische Mystik zusammen. Um den Untertitel Ihres Buches als Frage zu formulieren: Was hat Marlon Brando damit zu tun, dass Sie gerne Muslim sind?

Das ist ein Geheimnis des Buches, ein Geheimnis, das vor allem darin verborgen ist, dass Menschen immer mehr sind als die Schubladen, in denen man sie gerne festhalten möchte.

Vor sechs Jahren haben Sie eine Neu-Übersetzung des Korans vorgelegt. Was hat Sie motiviert, sich einer solchen Herausforderung zu stellen und den schon bestehenden Übersetzungen eine weitere hinzuzufügen?

Der Koran ist mehr als nur Buch, es ist die Poesie Gottes. Der Koran ist rhythmisch, melodisch, hat Takt und Klang; jede Atempause ist bewegt und tragend. Die Weise, wie der Koran sich ereignet, indem er einen Resonanzraum schafft, dringt ins Herz. Gott in diesem Akt der Schönheit zu erfahren, macht den Koran aus. Mein Vorhaben den Koran zu übersetzen war von dieser Erfahrung geprägt, den Koran so ins Deutsche zu übertragen, dass dieser Charakter mehr im Mittelpunkt steht.

Sie sind 1992 mit Ihrer Familie vor dem Krieg aus Afghanistan geflüchtet. Gelotst von Schleppern haben Sie eine über ein Jahr dauernde Odyssee mit Stationen in Neu-Delhi und Moskau hinter sich gebracht, bevor Sie das Ziel Deutschland erreichten. Wie sehen Sie angesichts Ihrer Erfahrung die aktuelle Flüchtlings- und Asylpolitik der „Festung Europa“?

Was ist Europa ohne seine Flüchtlinge? Der deutsche Philosoph Walter Benjamin, der sich auf der Flucht vor den Nazis 1940 das Leben nahm, sagte einmal: „Der Begriff des Fortschritts ist in der Idee der Katastrophe zu fundieren. Dass es ‚so weiter‘ geht, ist die Katastrophe.“ Katastrophal ist die Haltung zu den Menschen, die auf der Flucht sind. Menschen, die nach Menschlichkeit trachten, aber diese kaum erfahren. „Duldung“, „Ablehnung“ und „Abschiebung“ sind Urteile, die Menschen betreffen. Aber die Menschen werden verortet, wie Dinge behandelt, die Geld kosten und lästig sind. Menschenrechtskonforme Flüchtlingspolitik fordert hingegen eine solidarische und allen voran umfassende Politik. Legale Einwanderungsprogramme müssten an erster Stelle stehen. Europa wird an seinem eigenen demokratischen Maßstab scheitern, wenn die Asylpolitik nicht Menschen im Blick hat, sondern die ökonomischen Interessen des jeweiligen Landes.

Das Interview führte Julia Jürgens (Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität).

Buchcover

Zitierempfehlung:

Julia Jürgens (2015), „Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“. Drei Fragen an Ahmad Milad Karimi.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6351

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback

Interviewreihe: Neue deutsche Geschichten (12)