“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Three Questions to Ármin Langer

Alina Gromova

As part of the series New German Stories, of the Academy Programs of the Jewish Museum Berlin we presented the book Ein Jude in Neukölln. Mein Weg zum Miteinander der Religionen (A Jew in Neukölln. My path to the coexistence of religions) by Ármin Langer on 19 October 2016. The author, who was our guest on this evening, spoke about his life as a Jewish activist and reported on his experiences as coordinator of the Berlin initiative Salaam-Schalom that sets an example of peaceful Jewish-Muslim coexistence.

Before the event, Alina Gromova asked Ármin Langer the following three questions:

Alina Gromova: Ármin, you decided at the age of 21 years to become a rabbi even though you are from a secular family. What led you to this decision back then?

Ármin Langer: Already as a child I was open to religion, but this feeling found no frame until I was 20. After moving from the small town where I grew up and in which there was no Jewish community to Budapest, I was able to take part in a Jewish service for the first time in my life. I knew I was in the right place.

Alina Gromova: In your book A Jew in Neukölln. My path to the coexistence of religions, you write that peaceful coexistence between Jews and Muslims in everyday life is in most cases taken for granted. Why then have you written a book about something that is implicit?

Ármin Langer: This implicitness is seen only by us, some Jews and Muslims in Neukölln – for everyone else who does not have encounters with neighbors of other faiths, this implicitness is invisible. Jews from Charlottenburg or “Biodeutsche” from Marzahn do not know how it is to have Muslim neighbors. They cannot report on the boredom of peaceful coexistence because they are part of more or less homogeneous neighborhoods. These people are of course thus more open to prejudice. When there are reports about Muslims in the media, it is always in connection with terrorist attacks – this only confirms these prejudices. That’s why I wrote this book – to show how coexistence in Neukölln works.

Alina Gromova: You claim that Jewish life in present-day Germany is not normal and Jews in this country are “treated like sacred cows.” What do you think could change this situation?

Ármin Langer: One should realize that Jews are neither better nor worse than non-Jews. If there is corruption in the Jewish Community in Berlin and municipal elections are manipulated, I think that should be brought to the public’s attention. We Jews also have our Tebartz-van Elsts. Many of us would welcome critical discourse on political and theological issues in our communities – this is the only way for us to evolve and contribute to a peaceful coexistence.

The questions were posed by Alina Gromova (Academy program on migration and diversity).

Black and white portrait of a young man with glasses in half profile

Ármin Langer; photo: Kat Kaufmann

Citation recommendation: 
Alina Gromova (2016), “The boredom of peaceful coexistence“. Three Questions to Ármin Langer.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6253
Interview Series (12) New German Stories Show all

New German Stories

Since 2014, our colleagues from the Academy program on migration and diversity have been holding regular events at the Jewish Museum in a series called New German Stories. The guests' lives speak to Germany, past and present, as a society of migration, and the events take these life stories as a springboard for exploring these themes. Beforehand, the guests are almost always interviewed. We have compiled these interviews for you here.

Karamba Diaby

26 May 2017
“We should close this representation gap”

Anita Awosusi

6 February 2017
On her book Our Father – A Sinti Family Recounts

Ármin Langer

18 October 2016
“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Marion Kraft

6 July 2016
"The part Black soldiers played in the liberation of Germany from Nazism has been largely neglected"

Çiçek Bacık

13 October 2015
“We’ve always been spoken and written about”

Fereshta Ludin

16 September 2015
“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

David Ranan

6 July 2015
“Other but not foreign”

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9 March 2015
On his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Alina Gromova

8 September 2014
Generation “kosher light”
Young Jews of Russian descent in Berlin

Canan Turan

4 July 2014
Kıymet or:
A cinematic tribute to my grandmother

Urmila Goel and Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19 March 2014
InderKinder
Dealing creatively with ethnic classifications

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham, and Özlem Topçu

29 January 2014
“New German stories”

„Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“

Drei Fragen an Ármin Langer

Alina Gromova

In der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten der Akademieprogramme des Jüdischen Museums Berlin stellten wir am 19. Oktober 2016 das Buch Ein Jude in Neukölln. Mein Weg zum Miteinander der Religionen von Ármin Langer vor. Der Buchautor, der an diesem Abend bei uns zu Gast war, sprach über seinen Alltag als jüdischer Aktivist und berichtete über seine Erfahrungen als Koordinator der Berliner Initiative Salaam-Schalom, die ein friedliches Miteinander von Jüd*innen und Muslim*innen vorlebt.

Am Vorabend der Veranstaltung stellte Alina Gromova Ármin Langer drei Fragen:

Alina Gromova: Ármin, Du hast Dich im Alter von 21 Jahren dafür entschieden, Rabbiner zu werden, obwohl Du aus einer säkularen Familie stammst. Was hat Dich damals zu dieser Entscheidung bewogen?

Ármin Langer: Ich war schon als Kind offen für Religiosität, allerdings hatte dieses Gefühl bis zu meinem 20. Lebensalter keinen Rahmen. Nachdem ich aus der Kleinstadt, in der ich aufwuchs und in der es keine jüdische Gemeinde gab, nach Budapest umgezogen war, konnte ich zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben an einem jüdischen Gottesdienst teilnehmen. Ich wusste, dass ich am richtigen Ort war.

Alina Gromova: In Deinem Buch Ein Jude in Neukölln. Mein Weg zum Miteinander der Religionen schreibst Du, dass das friedliche Zusammenleben zwischen Juden und Muslimen im Alltag in den meisten Fällen eine Selbstverständlichkeit sei. Warum verfasst man dann ein Buch über etwas, was selbstverständlich funktioniert?

Ármin Langer: Diese Selbstverständlichkeit wird nur von uns, manchen Juden und Muslimen in Neukölln gesehen – für alle anderen, die keine Begegnungen mit ihren andersgläubigen Nachbarn haben, bleibt dieses Miteinander unsichtbar. Juden aus Charlottenburg oder Biodeutsche aus Marzahn wissen nicht, wie es ist, mit muslimischen Nachbarn umzugehen. Sie können nicht von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens berichten, weil sie in mehr oder weniger homogenen Nachbarschafen ansässig sind. Natürlich sind diese Menschen dann auch offener für Vorurteile. Wenn über Muslime in den Medien berichtet wird, ist es immer im Zusammenhang mit Terroranschlägen – dies bestätigt nur diese Vorurteile. Deswegen habe ich das Buch geschrieben, um zu zeigen, wie das Zusammenleben in Neukölln funktioniert.

Alina Gromova: Du behauptest, dass jüdisches Leben im gegenwärtigen Deutschland nicht normal sei und Juden hierzulande „wie heilige Kühe behandelt werden“. Was könnte diese Situation Deiner Meinung nach verändern?

Ármin Langer: Man sollte realisieren, dass Juden weder besser noch schlechter sind als nicht-jüdische Menschen. Wenn in der jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin Korruption herrscht und dort Gemeindewahlen manipuliert werden, sollte das von der Öffentlichkeit zur Kenntnis genommen werden, finde ich. Wir Juden haben auch unsere Tebartz-van Elsts. Viele von uns wollen einen kritischen Diskurs über politische und theologische Fragen in unseren Gemeinden. Nur so können wir uns erneuern und unseren Beitrag zum friedlichen Miteinander leisten.

Die Fragen stellte Alina Gromova (Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität).

Schwarz-Weiß-Porträt eines jungen Mannes mit Brille im Halbprofil

Ármin Langer; Foto: Kat Kaufmann

Zitierempfehlung: 
Alina Gromova (2016), „Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“. Drei Fragen an Ármin Langer.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6253
Interviewreihe (12) Neue deutsche Geschichten Alle anzeigen

Neue deutsche Geschichten

Im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten laden unsere Kolleg*innen vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität seit 2014 regelmäßig Gesprächspartner*innen ins Jüdische Museum ein, um mit ihnen anhand ihrer Biografien Geschichte und Gegenwart Deutschlands als Migrationsgesellschaft zu thematisieren. Fast immer entstehen im Vorfeld dieser Veranstaltungen Interviews, die wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt haben.

Karamba Diaby

26. Mai 2017
„Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“

Anita Awosusi

6. Februar 2017
Über ihr Buch Vater unser – Eine Sintifamilie erzählt

Ármin Langer

18. Oktober 2016
„Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“

Marion Kraft

6. Juli 2016
“Der Anteil, den Schwarze Soldaten an der Befreiung Deutschlands vom Faschismus hatten, droht in Vergessenheit zu geraten”

Çiçek Bacık

13. Oktober 2015
„Bisher wurde immer über uns gesprochen und geschrieben“

Fereshta Ludin

16. September 2015
„Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“

David Ranan

6. Juli 2015
„Anders, aber nicht fremd“

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9. März 2015
„Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“

Alina Gromova

8. September 2014
Generation „koscher light“
Junge russischsprachige Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin

Canan Turan

4. Juli 2014
Kıymet oder:
Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter

Urmila Goel und Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19. März 2014
InderKinder
Über den kreativen Umgang mit Zuschreibungen

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham und Özlem Topçu

29. Januar 2014
„Neue deutsche Geschichten“