“We should close this representation gap”

Three Questions to Karamba Diaby

Serpil Polat, Sithara Weeratunga
The first black man in the German Parliament — that’s often how Karamba Diaby is introduced. In his book Mit Karamba in den Bundestag: Mein Weg vom Senegal ins deutsche Parlament (With Karamba to the Bundestag: My Journey from Senegal to the German Parliament) Diaby provides fascinating insight into his life, a story of many toppled prejudices.

He presented his book at the Jewish Museum Berlin on 1 June 2017 as part of the series New German Stories and spoke about his journey from Senegal to East Germany, his experiences after German reunification, casual racism, and the goals and visions he holds as a Member of Parliament.

On 26 May 2017 Sithara Weeratunga and Serpil Polat did a short interview with Karamba Diaby and asked him the following three questions:

Serpil Polat and Sithara Weeratunga: You came on a fellowship to East Germany from Senegal in the 1980s, doing your doctorate on the pollutant load in German allotment gardens. What motivated you to run as a candidate for parliament?

Karamba Diaby: As an adolescent in school and later university I was already involved in social issues. After the premature death of my parents when I was still a small child, my sister (who was 17 years older than I was) and her husband took me in. That family solidarity really shaped me. Years later, after I had been in Germany a long time, a documentary about Willy Brandt came on television on the anniversary of his death. ‘What a politician!’ I thought. My brother-in-law in Senegal used to tell me when I was a young man: “Nothing happens by itself.” And I discovered exactly this same maxim again with Willy Brandt. So that very night I joined the SPD.

Karamba Diaby is sitting on a staircase, wearing a blue suit with a red check tie.

Karamba Diaby; photo: Michael Bader

Serpil Polat and Sithara Weeratunga: You describe in your book the way your actual core political subjects (youth and social affairs, education and the environment) often get edged out of the spotlight because people focus on your skin color instead: considering this background, how did you come to decide to focus on this subject as well in your autobiography?

Karamba Diaby: Social justice, solidarity, and openness are the topics that I’m most involved in and am also associated with. But in my biography it was about examining a broader range of aspects of my life, to which the focus on skin color also belongs.

Serpil Polat and Sithara Weeratunga: Despite there having been a number of members of parliament in 2013 with (perceived) non-German origins, it was still a sensation that an Afro-German got elected to the Bundestag. In your opinion what’s the origin of this amazement and what role does it play in your electoral district of Halle in Saxony-Anhalt?

Karamba Diaby: Every fifth person in Germany has a history of migration. Among Bundestag members that number is a little different: only every twentieth. So it’s no wonder that some people are surprised when someone with roots in another country makes it into parliament. We should close this representation gap. In an immigration society it should be normal that someone’s national origin doesn’t decide what they can achieve in life. That is just as valid in politics as in the media, management, and culture.

The questions were posed by our colleagues Sithara Weeratunga and Serpil Polat from the Academy program on migration and diversity. They would also like to see more diversity in the Bundestag.

Citation recommendation: 
Serpil Polat, Sithara Weeratunga (2017), “We should close this representation gap”. Three Questions to Karamba Diaby.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6247
Interview Series (12) New German Stories Show all

New German Stories

Since 2014, our colleagues from the Academy program on migration and diversity have been holding regular events at the Jewish Museum in a series called New German Stories. The guests' lives speak to Germany, past and present, as a society of migration, and the events take these life stories as a springboard for exploring these themes. Beforehand, the guests are almost always interviewed. We have compiled these interviews for you here.

Karamba Diaby

26 May 2017
“We should close this representation gap”

Anita Awosusi

6 February 2017
On her book Our Father – A Sinti Family Recounts

Ármin Langer

18 October 2016
“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Marion Kraft

6 July 2016
"The part Black soldiers played in the liberation of Germany from Nazism has been largely neglected"

Çiçek Bacık

13 October 2015
“We’ve always been spoken and written about”

Fereshta Ludin

16 September 2015
“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

David Ranan

6 July 2015
“Other but not foreign”

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9 March 2015
On his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Alina Gromova

8 September 2014
Generation “kosher light”
Young Jews of Russian descent in Berlin

Canan Turan

4 July 2014
Kıymet or:
A cinematic tribute to my grandmother

Urmila Goel and Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19 March 2014
InderKinder
Dealing creatively with ethnic classifications

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham, and Özlem Topçu

29 January 2014
“New German stories”

„Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“

Drei Fragen an Karamba Diaby

Serpil Polat, Sithara Weeratunga
Der erste Schwarze im Deutschen Bundestag – so wird Karamba Diaby häufig vorgestellt. In seinem Buch Mit Karamba in den Bundestag: Mein Weg vom Senegal ins deutsche Parlament gibt Diaby einen spannenden Einblick in seine Lebens­geschichte, die viele Vorurteile ins Wanken bringt.

Diaby stellte sein Buch am 1. Juni 2017 im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten im Jüdischen Museum Berlin vor und sprach über seinen Weg vom Senegal in die DDR, seine Erfahrungen im Nachwendedeutschland, über Alltagsrassismen und seine Ziele und Visionen als Bundestagsabgeordneter.

Schon am 26. Mai 2017 machten Sithara Weeratunga und Serpil Polat ein kurzes Interview mit Karamba Diaby und stellten ihm folgende drei Fragen:

Serpil Polat und Sithara Weeratunga: Sie kamen in den 1980er-Jahren mit einem Stipendium vom Senegal in die DDR und promovierten zur Schadstoffbelastung deutscher Schrebergärten. Was hat Sie motiviert, sich anschließend als Kandidat für den Bundestag aufzustellen?

Karamba Diaby: Bereits als Jugendlicher habe ich mich in der Schule und später an der Uni für soziale Themen eingesetzt. Nach dem frühen Tod meiner Eltern, als ich noch ein kleines Kind war, haben mich meine 17 Jahre ältere Schwester und ihr Mann aufgenommen. Dieser familiäre Zusammenhalt hat mich sehr geprägt. Jahre später, als ich schon längst in Deutschland angekommen war, zeigte ein Sender zum Todestag von Willy Brandt eine Doku über ihn. ‚Was für ein Politiker!‘ – dachte ich mir. Mein Schwager im Senegal hatte mir schon als junger Mann immer gesagt: „Nichts kommt von selbst.“ Und genau diesen Grundsatz habe ich auch bei Willy Brandt entdeckt und bin deshalb noch in derselben Nacht in die SPD eingetreten.

Karamba Diaby sitzt auf einer Treppe, er trägt einen blauen Anzug mit rotkarierter Krawatte

Karamba Diaby; Foto: Michael Bader

Serpil Polat und Sithara Weeratunga: In Ihrem Buch beschreiben Sie, wie Ihre eigentlichen politischen Kernaufgaben (Jugend und Soziales, Bildung und Ökologie) durch die Thematisierung Ihrer Hautfarbe häufig aus dem Fokus geraten: Wieso haben Sie sich vor diesem Hintergrund dazu entschieden, dieses Thema auch selbst in Ihrer Autobiographie aufzugreifen?

Karamba Diaby: Soziale Gerechtigkeit, Zusammenhalt und Offenheit sind die Themen, für die ich mich einsetze und mit denen ich auch in Verbindung gebracht werde. In meiner Biographie geht es aber auch darum, mehrere Aspekte meines Lebens zu beleuchten und dazu gehört auch die Thematisierung der Hautfarbe.

Serpil Polat und Sithara Weeratunga: Obwohl es im Bundestagswahljahr 2013 mehrere Abgeordnete (vermeintlich) nicht-deutscher Herkunft gab, wird es zu einer Sensation, dass ein Afrodeutscher in den Bundestag gewählt wird. Was meinen Sie, woher rührt diese Verwunderung und welche Rolle spielt dabei Ihr Wahlkreis Halle in Sachsen-Anhalt?

Karamba Diaby: Jeder Fünfte hat in Deutschland eine Migrationsgeschichte. Bei den Bundestagsabgeordneten trifft das jedoch nur auf jeden Zwanzigsten zu. Deshalb ist es kein Wunder, dass sich einige darüber wundern, wenn es jemand in den Deutschen Bundestag schafft, der auch Wurzeln in einem anderen Land hat. Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen. Denn es muss in einer Einwanderungsgesellschaft zur Normalität werden, dass die Herkunft nicht darüber entscheidet, was im Leben erreicht werden kann. Das gilt für die Politik genauso wie für die Bereiche Medien, Verwaltung und Kultur.

Die Fragen stellten unsere Kolleginnen Sithara Weeratunga und Serpil Polat vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität. Sie würden im Bundestag auch gern mehr Vielfalt sehen.

Zitierempfehlung: 
Serpil Polat, Sithara Weeratunga (2017), „Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“. Drei Fragen an Karamba Diaby.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6247
Interviewreihe (12) Neue deutsche Geschichten Alle anzeigen

Neue deutsche Geschichten

Im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten laden unsere Kolleg*innen vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität seit 2014 regelmäßig Gesprächspartner*innen ins Jüdische Museum ein, um mit ihnen anhand ihrer Biografien Geschichte und Gegenwart Deutschlands als Migrationsgesellschaft zu thematisieren. Fast immer entstehen im Vorfeld dieser Veranstaltungen Interviews, die wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt haben.

Karamba Diaby

26. Mai 2017
„Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“

Anita Awosusi

6. Februar 2017
Über ihr Buch Vater unser – Eine Sintifamilie erzählt

Ármin Langer

18. Oktober 2016
„Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“

Marion Kraft

6. Juli 2016
“Der Anteil, den Schwarze Soldaten an der Befreiung Deutschlands vom Faschismus hatten, droht in Vergessenheit zu geraten”

Çiçek Bacık

13. Oktober 2015
„Bisher wurde immer über uns gesprochen und geschrieben“

Fereshta Ludin

16. September 2015
„Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“

David Ranan

6. Juli 2015
„Anders, aber nicht fremd“

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9. März 2015
„Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“

Alina Gromova

8. September 2014
Generation „koscher light“
Junge russischsprachige Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin

Canan Turan

4. Juli 2014
Kıymet oder:
Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter

Urmila Goel und Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19. März 2014
InderKinder
Über den kreativen Umgang mit Zuschreibungen

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham und Özlem Topçu

29. Januar 2014
„Neue deutsche Geschichten“