Generation “kosher light”

Three Questions to Alina Gromova

Julia Jürgens
In 2013 the cultural anthropologist Alina Gromova published in her book Generation “kosher light” the results of her research on the lifestyle of young Jews of Russian-decent in Berlin. She presented the book on 9 September 2014 as part of the series New German Stories at the Academy of the Jewish Museum Berlin.

On 8 September 2014 Julia Jürgens did a short interview with Alina Gromova and and asked her the following three questions:

Julia Jürgens: Alina, for your study of an international group of young Jews in Berlin you took the city itself as your springboard. Exploring the locations where your subjects live, hang out, mingle and party enabled you to chart their diverse notions of identity, tradition and religion. Why did you opt for such an explicitly spatial focus?

Alina Gromova: Identity and tradition are terms often difficult to grasp, because they are interwoven with symbols, values, wishful thinking or memories. A space, however, has not only a symbolic but also a physical dimension and is therefore more palpable. Personally, I don’t see a space as a 3-D void waiting to be filled by people or things. On the contrary, people and things are what create a space in the first place. And urban space is especially fascinating, I find, because a broad cultural and religious spectrum often occupies one and the same spot, however tiny; and different elements simultaneously give rise there to their own spaces, so the result is a palimpsest of spaces that then interconnect.

Julia Jürgens: Your book is based on ethnographic field research that you undertook for your PhD thesis: for one year you accompanied fifteen Jews of Russian descent in their daily routines and had them show you their favorite cafés, meeting places, synagogues and restaurants. They even opened up their private space, their own homes to you. To what extent did your own biographical background help you gain access to this field? How did you find the right persons for your research and win their confidence?

Alina Gromova: Before I began the fieldwork, I had hardly any contact with other Jews of Russian descent, except within my own family. I therefore had to create my “field” from scratch, so to speak as a “distanced insider.” I attended Jewish religious services, cultural events and parties and took up contact with groups of people who were talking in Russian. I share their cultural background and language, so it was easy for me to join in their conversations. We know the same jokes, like the same Eastern European dishes and watched the same movies when we were kids. I was therefore quickly integrated in the groups and so had an easier time of it later, finding guinea pigs for my research.

Portrait of a woman with glasses who smiles and looks directly into the camera

Alina Gromova; Judith Metze

Julia Jürgens: The title of your book is Generation “kosher light.” Can you explain in a few words what distinguishes this generation?

Alina Gromova: The term “kosher light” is a colloquialism for a liberal approach to the traditional Jewish dietary laws, the kashrut. For example, people today may well avoid using milk and meat in the same dish and yet still prepare dairy products and meat in the same pot, rather than having one pot for each, as Jewish tradition requires. I’ve used the term “kosher light” for this young generation of Russian-speaking Jews, because these women and men take a self-assured and creative approach to Jewish tradition and religion and adapt them to their urban, Berlin-specific lifestyle—with regard not only to food, but also to clothes, to the Jewish tradition of study or to the choice of a partner.

The interview was conducted by Julia Jürgens (Academy program on migration and diversity).

book cover

Cover of the book Generation „koscher light“. Urbane Räume und Praxen junger russischsprachiger Juden in Berlin by Alina Gromova; transcript Verlag

Citation recommendation: 
Julia Jürgens (2014), Generation “kosher light”. Three Questions to Alina Gromova.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6353
Interview Series (12) New German Stories Show all

New German Stories

Since 2014, our colleagues from the Academy program on migration and diversity have been holding regular events at the Jewish Museum in a series called New German Stories. The guests' lives speak to Germany, past and present, as a society of migration, and the events take these life stories as a springboard for exploring these themes. Beforehand, the guests are almost always interviewed. We have compiled these interviews for you here.

Karamba Diaby

26 May 2017
“We should close this representation gap”

Anita Awosusi

6 February 2017
On her book Our Father – A Sinti Family Recounts

Ármin Langer

18 October 2016
“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Marion Kraft

6 July 2016
"The part Black soldiers played in the liberation of Germany from Nazism has been largely neglected"

Çiçek Bacık

13 October 2015
“We’ve always been spoken and written about”

Fereshta Ludin

16 September 2015
“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

David Ranan

6 July 2015
“Other but not foreign”

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9 March 2015
On his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Alina Gromova

8 September 2014
Generation “kosher light”
Young Jews of Russian descent in Berlin

Canan Turan

4 July 2014
Kıymet or:
A cinematic tribute to my grandmother

Urmila Goel and Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19 March 2014
InderKinder
Dealing creatively with ethnic classifications

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham, and Özlem Topçu

29 January 2014
“New German stories”

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Generation „koscher light“

Drei Fragen an Alina Gromova

2013 veröffentlichte die Ethnologin Alina Gromova mit Generation „koscher light“ die Ergebnisse ihrer Forschungsarbeiten zum Lebensstil junger russischsprachiger Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin und stellte das Buch am 9. September 2014 im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten in der Akademie des Jüdischen Museums Berlin vor.

Vorab – am 8. September 2014 – führte Julia Jürgens ein kurzes Interview mit Alina Gromova und stellte ihr die folgenden drei Fragen:

Alina, Du hast die Stadt als Ausgangspunkt Deiner Untersuchung von russischsprachigen Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin gewählt – aus den Orten, an denen sie wohnen, sich aufhalten, treffen und feiern, arbeitest Du die unterschiedlichen Auffassungen von Identität, Tradition und Religion heraus, die in dieser Gruppe existieren. Wieso hast Du Dich gerade für diese Raum-Perspektive entschieden?

Identität und Tradition sind Begriffe, die oft schwer zu greifen sind, weil sie aus Symbolen, Werten, Wunschprojektionen oder Erinnerungen bestehen. Ein Raum hat dagegen nicht nur eine symbolische, sondern auch eine materielle Seite und ist deshalb viel greifbarer. Für mich sind Räume keine dreidimensionalen Container, die mit Menschen oder Dingen gefüllt werden müssen; vielmehr werden sie durch diese überhaupt erst geschaffen. Die Stadträume sind für mich besonders spannend, weil hier eine große kulturelle und religiöse Vielfalt an einem engen Fleck möglich ist und deshalb an ein und demselben Ort mehrere Räume gleichzeitig entstehen, die von verschiedenen Gruppen konstruiert werden, die sich gegenseitig überlagern und miteinander in Berührung kommen.

Dein Buch beruht auf der ethnologischen Feldforschung, die Du im Rahmen Deiner Dissertation durchgeführt hast: Du hast 15 russischsprachige Jüdinnen*Juden ein Jahr lang durch Ihren Alltag begleitet und Dir ihre bevorzugten Cafés, Treffpunkte, Synagogen und Restaurants zeigen lassen. Auch in den privaten Raum, die Wohnung, haben sie Dir Zutritt gewährt. Inwiefern hat Dir Dein eigener biographischer Hintergrund beim Zugang zum Feld geholfen? Wie hast Du Deine Protagonist*innen gefunden und ihr Vertrauen gewonnen?

Bevor ich die Feldforschung angefangen habe, hatte ich außer zu meiner eigenen Familie kaum Kontakte zu anderen russischsprachigen Jüdinnen*Juden. Ich musste mir das „Feld“ also als eine „distanzierte Insiderin“ komplett neu erarbeiten. Ich habe jüdische Gottesdienste, kulturelle Veranstaltungen und Partys besucht und mich dort Gruppen von Menschen angeschlossen, die sich auf Russisch unterhielten. Da ich den kulturellen Hintergrund und die Sprache meiner Protagonist*innen teile, konnte ich mich leicht an ihren Gesprächen beteiligen; wir kennen dieselben Witze, mögen dieselben osteuropäischen Gerichte und haben als Kinder dieselben Filme gesehen. Ich wurde deshalb schnell in die Gruppen aufgenommen und konnte später Menschen leichter für die Teilnahme an meiner Forschung gewinnen.

Porträt einer Frau mit Brille, die lächelt und direkt in die Kamera schaut

Alina Gromova; Judith Metze

Dein Buch trägt den Titel Generation „koscher light“. Kannst Du in ein paar Sätzen erläutern, was diese Generation kennzeichnet?

Der Begriff „koscher light“ beschreibt umgangssprachlich einen liberalen Umgang mit den traditionellen jüdischen Speisevorschriften, der Kaschrut. Das bedeutet zum Beispiel, dass jemand zwar Milch und Fleisch nicht zusammen in einem Gericht verwendet, aber beides, Milchiges und Fleischiges, in derselben Pfanne zubereitet und nicht zwei verschiedene Pfannen hat, wie es die jüdische Tradition vorschreibt. Ich habe den Begriff „koscher light“ auf die junge Generation der russischsprachigen Jüdinnen*Juden übertragen, weil sie selbstbewusst und kreativ mit der Tradition und Religion umgehen und diese an ihren urbanen und berlinspezifischen Lebensstil anpassen. Dabei geht es nicht nur um Essen, sondern auch um Kleidung, jüdische Lerntradition oder Partner*innenwahl.

Das Interview führte Julia Jürgens (Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität).

Buchcover

Cover von Generation „koscher light“. Urbane Räume und Praxen junger russischsprachiger Juden in Berlin von Alina Gromova; transcript Verlag

Zitierempfehlung:

Julia Jürgens (2014), Generation „koscher light“. Drei Fragen an Alina Gromova.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6353

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback

Interviewreihe: Neue deutsche Geschichten (12)