“Other but not foreign”

Three Questions to David Ranan

Julia Jürgens
For his book, The shadows of the past are still long: Young Jews on their lives in Germany, culture researcher, David Ranan, conducted interviews with Jews between 20-40 whose grandparents survived the Holocaust and then settled in Germany after the war. The London-based author presented his book at the Academy of the Jewish Museum Berlin on 7 July 2015, as part of the series New German Stories.

On 6 July 2015 Julia Jürgens did a short interview with David Ranan and asked him the following three questions:

Julia Jürgens: One question you asked your interviewees deals with the “packed luggage” the first and second generation seem to have at the ready, an expression of their inner conflict between being able to safely stay or having to again flee. Is there still this conflict within the third generation or how else would you describe its sense of belonging to Germany?

David Ranan: Jews in Germany don’t keep a bag packed anymore. Nearly all the interviewees confirm this. This doesn’t mean they feel a sense of belonging. One described the feeling as “other but not foreign.” There are differences within the third generation, but generally speaking the younger Jews feel more German than the older ones. This is most evident, for example, in sports. One of my older interviewees said, “During the World Cup, those 10 years younger than I are wearing Germany jerseys. Their faces are painted in the German colors. They root for the German national team. This would never have happened in my family or in my family’s Jewish social circles.”

Julia Jürgens: For our New German Stories series, we tend to present authors who have an (auto)biographical perspective of migration. Today, a large portion of Germany’s Jewish population includes Jews from the former Soviet Union. However, this new German-Jewish viewpoint doesn’t come through in your book. What were your criteria in choosing interviewees?

David Ranan: I was interested in the development within Germany’s Jewish community whose first generation was so traumatized it passed this onto the second generation born in Germany. These were people with a difficult relationship to both Germany and Israel. This study concerns itself with the third generation. That’s why I sought young Jews with grandparents who settled in Germany directly after the Holocaust or within a few years of it.

Buchcover

Book cover; Nicolaische Verlagsbuchhandlung GmbH, Berlin

Julia Jürgens: The relationship to Israel is an important theme through your interviews. Where do Germany’s young Jews stand on Israel? What trends do you see?

David Ranan: The young speak emotionally about Israel and often mention it as a haven: if all else fails, they can go to Israel. A typical comment is, “You can always go there, but I couldn’t imagine doing so now because I feel at home here.” Nearly all felt the need to defend Israel from criticism. They themselves would rarely openly criticize Israel, even if they personally find much of the politics problematic, sometimes even very problematic. One interviewee even saw such criticism as betrayal.

The questions were posed by Julia Jürgens (Academy program on migration and diversity).

Portrait of the author; David Ranan

Citation recommendation: 
Julia Jürgens (2015), “Other but not foreign”. Three Questions to David Ranan.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6349
Interview Series (12) New German Stories Show all

New German Stories

Since 2014, our colleagues from the Academy program on migration and diversity have been holding regular events at the Jewish Museum in a series called New German Stories. The guests' lives speak to Germany, past and present, as a society of migration, and the events take these life stories as a springboard for exploring these themes. Beforehand, the guests are almost always interviewed. We have compiled these interviews for you here.

Karamba Diaby

26 May 2017
“We should close this representation gap”

Anita Awosusi

6 February 2017
On her book Our Father – A Sinti Family Recounts

Ármin Langer

18 October 2016
“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Marion Kraft

6 July 2016
"The part Black soldiers played in the liberation of Germany from Nazism has been largely neglected"

Çiçek Bacık

13 October 2015
“We’ve always been spoken and written about”

Fereshta Ludin

16 September 2015
“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

David Ranan

6 July 2015
“Other but not foreign”

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9 March 2015
On his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Alina Gromova

8 September 2014
Generation “kosher light”
Young Jews of Russian descent in Berlin

Canan Turan

4 July 2014
Kıymet or:
A cinematic tribute to my grandmother

Urmila Goel and Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19 March 2014
InderKinder
Dealing creatively with ethnic classifications

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham, and Özlem Topçu

29 January 2014
“New German stories”

„Anders, aber nicht fremd“

Drei Fragen an David Ranan

Julia Jürgens
Für sein Buch Die Schatten der Vergangenheit sind noch lang – Junge Juden über ihr Leben in Deutschland hat der Kulturwissenschaftler David Ranan Interviews mit Jüdinnen*Juden zwischen zwanzig und vierzig Jahren geführt, deren Großeltern den Holocaust überlebten und sich nach dem Krieg in Deutschland ansiedelten. Im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten stellte der in London lebende Autor am 7. Juli 2015 in der Akademie des Jüdischen Museums Berlin sein Buch vor.

Julia Jürgens stellte ihm vorab – am 6. Juli 2015 – die folgenden drei Fragen:

Julia Jürgens: Eine Frage, die Sie Ihren Interviewpartner*innen stellen, dreht sich um den Topos des ‚gepackten Koffers‘, der in der ersten und zweiten Generation die Zerrissenheit zwischen Bleiben- und Gehen-Wollen ausdrückte. Gibt es diese Ambivalenz in der dritten Generation noch, oder wie würden Sie das Gefühl von Zugehörigkeit zu Deutschland heute beschreiben?

David Ranan: Auf gepackten Koffern sitzen Juden in Deutschland heute nicht mehr. Das haben beinahe alle Interviewpartner bestätigt. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass man Zugehörigkeit empfindet. Einer beschrieb dieses Gefühl als „anders, aber nicht fremd“. Es gibt auch Unterschiede innerhalb der dritten Generation, aber in der Regel fühlen sich die Jüngeren mehr als Deutsche als die Älteren. Das wird zum Beispiel beim Sport deutlich. Einer meiner älteren Interviewpartner erzählte: „Wenn WM ist, dann ziehen sich die zehn Jahre Jüngeren Deutschlandtrikots an, sie malen sich Deutschlandfarben ins Gesicht und bejubeln die deutsche Nationalmannschaft. Bei uns hätte es das nicht gegeben, weder in meiner Familie, noch im jüdischen Freundeskreis meines Alters.“

Julia Jürgens: Wir stellen in unserer Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten normalerweise Autor*innen vor, die eine (auto-)biographische Perspektive auf das Thema Migration einnehmen. Die jüdische Gemeinschaft in Deutschland besteht heute zu einem großen Teil aus Einwander*innen aus den Ländern der ehemaligen Sowjetunion. Diese neue deutsch-jüdische Perspektive kommt jedoch in Ihrem Buch nicht vor. Was waren Ihre Kriterien für die Wahl der Interviewpartner*innen?

David Ranan: Mich interessierte die Entwicklung innerhalb der jüdischen Gemeinde in Deutschland, die in der ersten Generation so sehr traumatisiert war, was sich auf die zweite Generation der schon in Deutschland Geborenen übertrug. Das waren Menschen, die zu Deutschland wie auch zu Israel ein schwieriges Verhältnis hatten. Es geht in dieser Studie um die dritte Generation. Deswegen habe ich junge Juden gesucht, deren Großeltern sich direkt nach dem Holocaust oder einige Jahre nach Kriegsende in Deutschland niedergelassen haben.

Buchcover

Cover von Die Schatten der Vergangenheit sind noch lang von David Ranan; Nicolaische Verlagsbuchhandlung GmbH, Berlin

Julia Jürgens: Die Beziehung zu Israel ist ein wichtiges Thema der Interviews. Wie steht die junge Generation von Jüdinnen*Juden in Deutschland zu Israel? Welche Tendenzen sehen Sie?

David Ranan: Die jungen Leute sprechen sehr emotional über Israel und erwähnen oft, dass Israel für sie ein Zufluchtsort sei: Wenn alle Stricke reißen, kann man nach Israel gehen. Typisch ist die Aussage: „Man kann dort immer hingehen, aber trotzdem kann ich mir im Moment nicht vorzustellen, da zu leben, weil ich mich hier wohl fühle.“ Beinahe alle Interviewten haben das Bedürfnis, Israel gegen Kritik zu verteidigen. Auch wenn sie die israelische Politik in manchen Dingen problematisch, manchmal sogar sehr problematisch finden, sind sie nur in wenigen Fällen bereit, Israel öffentlich zu kritisieren. Ein Interviewpartner empfand solche Kritik sogar als Verrat.

Das Interview führte Julia Jürgens (Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität).

Porträt des Autors; David Ranan

Zitierempfehlung: 
Julia Jürgens (2015), „Anders, aber nicht fremd“. Drei Fragen an David Ranan.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6349
Interviewreihe (12) Neue deutsche Geschichten Alle anzeigen

Neue deutsche Geschichten

Im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten laden unsere Kolleg*innen vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität seit 2014 regelmäßig Gesprächspartner*innen ins Jüdische Museum ein, um mit ihnen anhand ihrer Biografien Geschichte und Gegenwart Deutschlands als Migrationsgesellschaft zu thematisieren. Fast immer entstehen im Vorfeld dieser Veranstaltungen Interviews, die wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt haben.

Karamba Diaby

26. Mai 2017
„Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“

Anita Awosusi

6. Februar 2017
Über ihr Buch Vater unser – Eine Sintifamilie erzählt

Ármin Langer

18. Oktober 2016
„Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“

Marion Kraft

6. Juli 2016
“Der Anteil, den Schwarze Soldaten an der Befreiung Deutschlands vom Faschismus hatten, droht in Vergessenheit zu geraten”

Çiçek Bacık

13. Oktober 2015
„Bisher wurde immer über uns gesprochen und geschrieben“

Fereshta Ludin

16. September 2015
„Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“

David Ranan

6. Juli 2015
„Anders, aber nicht fremd“

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9. März 2015
„Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“

Alina Gromova

8. September 2014
Generation „koscher light“
Junge russischsprachige Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin

Canan Turan

4. Juli 2014
Kıymet oder:
Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter

Urmila Goel und Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19. März 2014
InderKinder
Über den kreativen Umgang mit Zuschreibungen

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham und Özlem Topçu

29. Januar 2014
„Neue deutsche Geschichten“