Skip to main content

On 23 August 2020, the Jewish Museum Berlin is opening its new core exhibition. Until then the museum will be closed for renovations.

Kıymet or:
A Cinematic Tribute to My Grandmother

Three Questions to Canan Turan

Julia Jürgens
That immigrants from Turkey, Vietnam, Poland, India and Cameroon and their descendants have stories to tell is nothing new—the only new thing is that they are told as German stories. This is exactly what is happening in our series of events New German Stories. In this context, an event with film director Canan Turan took place at the Academy of the Jewish Museum on 8 July 2014, where she presented her film Kıymet, which tells the story of her grandmother who came to Berlin from Turkey in the early 1970s.

On 4 July 2014 Julia Jürgens did a short interview with Canan Turan and asked her the following three questions:

How did the idea to make a film about your grandmother Kıymet come about?

My grandmother is a strong, impressive personality with a history that is not only very dramatic, but also empowering, both for women and people of color. I’d had the film concept in mind for several years. Inspiration came above all from my grandmother’s decision to leave my grandfather, for this step was proof of her great courage and it also encouraged me to take a more emancipated approach to relationships. So it was therefore only a matter of time—and of funding—until I actually shot the film. While studying at Goldsmiths College in London I obtained the necessary structural support and so was finally able to realize the project.

An older woman with glasses and headscarf (left in the picture) is talking to a younger woman who also wears glasses and is standing at the right edge of the picture.

Canan Turan with her grandmother; Adriana Uribe

The film paints a very personal portrait. It turns the spotlight on the story of Kıymet and her family, and the violence and suffering she experienced in her marriage. The overall history of immigration from Turkey to Germany is told on the sidelines, so to speak. Why did you choose to approach her biography in this way?

The history of immigrants in Germany is the story of Kıymet or Ahmet, of Emine or Hüseyin, and of all the others who came here because they were no longer able or no longer wanted to live in their country of origin. To try to understand history without recourse to biographies and without appreciating the value of oral history is a very western/European approach, one that edits out people’s personal experience to the benefit of a “master narrative.” Moreover, I believe it is my responsibility as a filmmaker to talk about what I know best, about my own family, for instance. All other approaches harbor the risk of “othering,” of seeking to represent that which cannot be represented. In short: I know and admire my grandmother and I wanted to share her story, a story that simultaneously portrays the life of a remarkable woman and a slice of Germany’s migration history.

Kıymet by Canan Turan (film trailer)

From the early 70s onwards, your grandmother fought for workers’ rights and campaigned against racism and discrimination in factories and schools in Germany. In which associations was she active?

My grandma Kıymet became an active member of the trade union IG Metall in 1974. She often talked to me about immigrant workers’ strong involvement there, about how they mobilized for protest marches, campaigns, and the like, and especially for Labor Day on 1 May. In the 80s she worked as a cleaning woman at the Urban Hospital in Berlin-Kreuzberg and was very popular there among her colleagues, the nurses, and the doctors. People knew about her past as a member of the Workers’ Party of Turkey and elected her several times to the works committee. After the death of her eldest son in 1989, my grandmother took early retirement. I am sure she would otherwise have remained politically active for many more years, because she is still a very vigorous woman with an unshakeable commitment to equality and justice. But in recent years she has become more withdrawn, living quietly in her native village community on the Thracian Mediterranean coast. Her hard life as a “guest worker” in Germany and the domestic violence she suffered, the two main reasons for her retreat, have taken their toll—and many other immigrants have suffered a similar fate.

The questions were posed by our colleague Julia Jürgens from the Academy program on migration and diversity.

Citation recommendation:

Julia Jürgens (2014), Kıymet or: A Cinematic Tribute to My Grandmother. Three Questions to Canan Turan.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6355

Interview Series: New German Stories (12)

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Besuch des Museums ist nur mit einem Zeitfenster-Ticket möglich, das Sie in unserem Online-Shop erhalten.

Kıymet oder:
Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter

Drei Fragen an Canan Turan

Die Geschichten von Migrant*innen aus der Türkei, aus Vietnam, Polen, Indien oder Kamerun sind nicht neu – neu ist allein, dass sie als deutsche Geschichten erzählt werden. So auch in unserer Veranstaltungsreihe Neue deutsche Geschichten, in deren Rahmen die Regisseurin Canan Turan am 8. Juli 2014 zu Gast in der Akademie des Jüdischen Museums war. In ihrem Film Kıymet erzählt sie die Geschichte ihrer Großmutter, die Anfang der 1970er Jahre aus der Türkei nach Berlin kam.

Vorab – am 4. Juli 2014 – führte Julia Jürgens ein kurzes Interview mit Canan Turan und stellte ihr die folgenden drei Fragen:

Wie ist die Idee entstanden, einen Film über Ihre Großmutter Kıymet zu drehen?

Meine Großmutter ist eine starke, beeindruckende Persönlichkeit mit einer Geschichte, die nicht nur sehr dramatisch ist, sondern auch empowernd, für Frauen wie auch für People of Colour. Die Idee zum Film gab es schon seit einigen Jahren. Inspiriert hat mich vor allem die Trennung meiner Großmutter von meinem Großvater; sie hat damit großen Mut bewiesen und auch mich zu mehr Emanzipation in Beziehungen ermutigt. Den Film wirklich zu drehen war dann eigentlich nur noch eine Frage der Zeit bzw. der Finanzierung. Während meines Studiums am Goldsmiths College in London habe ich schließlich die notwendige strukturelle Unterstützung dafür bekommen und konnte das Projekt realisieren.

Eine ältere Frau mit Brille und Kopftuch (links im Bild) spricht mit einer jüngeren Frau, die ebenfalls eine Brille trägt und am rechten Bildrand steht

Die Regisseurin Canan Turan mit ihrer Großmutter; Adriana Uribe

Der Film zeichnet ein sehr persönliches Porträt. Er rückt die Geschichte von Kıymet, ihre Familie und Ehe, in der sie Gewalt und Leid erfuhr, in den Vordergrund. Die allgemeinere Geschichte der Einwanderung aus der Türkei nach Deutschland wird hingegen eher nebenher erzählt. Wieso haben Sie sich für diesen biografischen Zugang entschieden?

Die Geschichte der Migrantinnen und Migranten in Deutschland ist die Geschichte von Kıymet oder Ahmet, Emine, Hüseyin und allen anderen, die herkamen, weil sie in ihrem Herkunftsland nicht mehr leben konnten oder wollten. Geschichte ohne Biografien begreifen zu wollen und ohne den Wert von Oral History wertzuschätzen, ist ein sehr westlich/europäisches Konzept, das die menschliche Erfahrung zugunsten eines Master-Narrativs ausblendet. Als Filmemacherin sehe ich mich außerdem in der Verantwortung, von dem zu erzählen, was ich am besten kenne, wie z.B. meine eigene Familie. Alles andere läuft Gefahr, zu othern und repräsentieren zu wollen, was nicht repräsentierbar ist. Kurzum: Ich kenne und bewundere meine Großmutter und wollte ihre Geschichte teilen, die gleichzeitig das Leben einer bemerkenswerten Frau und ein Stück Migrationsgeschichte Deutschlands darstellt.

Trailer zum Film Kıymet von Canan Turan

Ihre Großmutter hat in Deutschland seit den frühen 1970er Jahren für die Rechte von Arbeiterinnen und Arbeitern gekämpft und sich gegen Rassismus und Diskriminierung an Betrieben und Schulen eingesetzt. In welchen Verbänden war sie aktiv?

Meine Oma Kıymet war seit 1974 aktives Mitglied der Gewerkschaft IG Metall. Sie erzählte mir oft davon, wie stark die migrantischen Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter dort vertreten waren und sich beispielsweise bei Demonstrationen und unterschiedlichen Protestaktionen, ganz besonders am 1. Mai, organisierten. In den 1980er Jahren arbeitete sie als Putzfrau im Urbankrankenhaus in Berlin-Kreuzberg und war dort in ihrem Kollegenkreis, unter den Krankenschwestern sowie Ärztinnen und Ärzten sehr beliebt. Man wusste von ihrer Vergangenheit als Mitglied der Arbeiterpartei der Türkei und wählte sie mehrfach in den Vorstand des Betriebsrats. Nach dem Tod ihres ältesten Sohnes 1989 ging meine Oma vorzeitig in Rente. Ich bin mir sicher, dass sie sonst noch viele Jahre politisch aktiv gewesen wäre, denn sie ist nach wie vor eine sehr tüchtige und von ihrem Sinn für Gleichheit und Gerechtigkeit fest überzeugte Frau. Doch seit einigen Jahren lebt sie eher zurückgezogen in ihrer Familien- und Dorfgemeinschaft an der thrakischen Mittelmeerküste. Wie vielen anderen Migrantinnen und Migranten hat ihr das harte Leben als „Gastarbeiterin“ in Deutschland und dazu das Leid in ihrer Ehe stark zugesetzt, das sind zwei zentrale Gründe für ihren Rückzug.

Das Interview führte Julia Jürgens (Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität).

Zitierempfehlung:

Julia Jürgens (2014), Kıymet oder: Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter. Drei Fragen an Canan Turan.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6355

Teilen, Newsletter, Feedback

Interviewreihe: Neue deutsche Geschichten (12)