“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

Questions to Fereshta Ludin

Julia Jürgens, Rafiqa Younes
To win the right to work as a teacher in the classroom while wearing her headscarf, Fereshta Ludin had to go all the way to the German Supreme Court (see below Background Information: German Supreme Court Rulings on Headscarf Ban). On 17 September 2015, she joined us as part of the series New German Stories to introduce her book Enthüllung der Fereshta Ludin. Die mit dem Kopftuch (“The Unveiling of Fereshta Ludin: The One with the Headscarf”).

On 16 September 2015 Rafiqa Younes and Julia Jürgens did an interview with Fereshta Ludin and asked her the following questions:

Julia Jürgens and Rafiqa Younes: Did you ever guess that the first lawsuit you filed against your employers, in 1998 when you were 25 years old, would set off a nationwide debate about the headscarf ban?

Fereshta Ludin: You can’t really imagine something like that. I was still very young and idealistic. I wanted to work as a teacher and had no intention of provoking the public or any politicians.

Julia Jürgens and Rafiqa Younes: From your perspective, was it worth it to go all that way through courts, becoming, as you did, a public figure – “the one with the headscarf” as the title of your book ironically references?

Fereshta Ludin: I don’t regret a single step along the way. I would have regretted much more, to have had to endure the injustice. I took an active stand against discrimination by going through the courts. Many other women were also affected. It was never my aim to become a public person. Germany’s public projected the subject ‘headscarf’ onto me and reduced many educated, competent women simply to their scarf. For years. I hope that it changes in the future. That would be my wish.

Julia Jürgens and Rafiqa Younes: What was it like for you to experience the reactions to the debate: did you receive support from unexpected quarters? Or was there criticism that surprised you?

Fereshta Ludin: There was criticism constantly and from almost all sides, including the Muslim community. I was surprised when politicians had the courage to speak out on a positive note and, regardless of what they personally thought about headscarves, to stand up for the right of these women to work and not to be discriminated again. There were only a few like this for me to admire, however.

Buchcover

Book cover of Enthüllung der Fereshta Ludin. Die mit dem Kopftuch (“The Unveiling of Fereshta Ludin: The One with the Headscarf”); Deutscher Levante Verlag

Julia Jürgens and Rafiqa Younes: What is your sense of the situation today in Germany for women who wear a headscarf? Would you say that the atmosphere in public has changed?

Fereshta Ludin: The atmosphere has changed politically. It’s not as closed and prejudiced, but there is still a lot to do in terms of anti-discrimination work. In my view it is crucial to stand up for and promote ethnic, cultural, and religious diversity more strongly. In the last 17 years, since the start of the public debate about the headscarf, Muslim women have had to fight long and hard against discrimination. Many people don’t realize this, so I think we should talk and reflect openly about it.

Julia Jürgens and Rafiqa Younes: In your book you write that ever since you decided at the age of 12 to wear a headscarf, you have been confronted with the same questions: were you forced to wear it, isn’t the headscarf a symbol of oppression, etc.? What questions would you rather be asked?

Fereshta Ludin: I would rather not have constantly to explain the reasons and to justify my personal choice to wear the scarf. Every woman should decide how she dresses herself, including Muslims with the headscarf. It shouldn’t matter what religious convictions another person has when they are standing in front of you, man or woman. What’s important is what they say, how they behave. I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf.

After she successfully completed her training in 1998, teacher Fereshta Ludin was denied a job in the Baden-Württemberg school system because she refused to stop wearing her headscarf. She sued, pursuing the case through all the possible appeals. On 24 September 2003, the German Supreme Court sided with the plaintiff and concluded that “a ban on wearing the headscarf, for teachers in schools and in the classroom, does not have an adequate, specific, legal basis in the existing law of the State of Baden-Württemberg.”

At the same time, the court pointed the states towards a possible successful basis for such a ban. Eight German states subsequently passed laws prohibiting the wearing of religious garments or symbols in schools and to some extent in other areas of public service. In five states (Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hessen, North Rhine-Westphalia, and Saarland) variously written exceptions for Western-Christian and Jewish items of clothing and signs were included in the laws.

In a new decision on 27 January 2015, the Supreme Court found a general headscarf ban for teachers at public schools unconstitutional.

Citation recommendation: 
Julia Jürgens, Rafiqa Younes (2015), “I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”. Questions to Fereshta Ludin.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/en/node/6345
Interview Series (12) New German Stories Show all

New German Stories

Since 2014, our colleagues from the Academy program on migration and diversity have been holding regular events at the Jewish Museum in a series called New German Stories. The guests' lives speak to Germany, past and present, as a society of migration, and the events take these life stories as a springboard for exploring these themes. Beforehand, the guests are almost always interviewed. We have compiled these interviews for you here.

Karamba Diaby

26 May 2017
“We should close this representation gap”

Anita Awosusi

6 February 2017
On her book Our Father – A Sinti Family Recounts

Ármin Langer

18 October 2016
“The boredom of peaceful coexistence“

Marion Kraft

6 July 2016
"The part Black soldiers played in the liberation of Germany from Nazism has been largely neglected"

Çiçek Bacık

13 October 2015
“We’ve always been spoken and written about”

Fereshta Ludin

16 September 2015
“I wish more people would look in my eyes instead of at my scarf”

David Ranan

6 July 2015
“Other but not foreign”

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9 March 2015
On his book Osama bin Laden is Sleeping with Fishes

Alina Gromova

8 September 2014
Generation “kosher light”
Young Jews of Russian descent in Berlin

Canan Turan

4 July 2014
Kıymet or:
A cinematic tribute to my grandmother

Urmila Goel and Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19 March 2014
InderKinder
Dealing creatively with ethnic classifications

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham, and Özlem Topçu

29 January 2014
“New German stories”

„Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“

Einige Fragen an Fereshta Ludin

Julia Jürgens, Rafiqa Younes
Für das Recht, als Lehrerin mit Kopftuch unterrichten zu dürfen, ist Fereshta Ludin bis vor das Bundesverfassungsgericht gezogen (siehe unten Hintergrundinfo: Bundesverfassungsgerichtsurteile zum Kopftuchverbot). Am 17. September 2015 stellte sie bei im Jüdischen Museum im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten ihr Buch Enthüllung der Fereshta Ludin. Die mit dem Kopftuch vor.

Rafiqa Younes und Julia Jürgens haben vorab – am 16. September 2015 – mit ihr gesprochen.

Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes: Haben Sie geahnt, dass Ihre erste Klage, die Sie 1998 im Alter von 25 Jahren gegen Ihren Arbeitgeber einreichten, eine bundesweite Debatte über das Kopftuchverbot auslösen würde?

Fereshta Ludin: So etwas kann man nicht ahnen, denn ich war noch sehr jung und auch sehr idealistisch. Ich wollte meinen Beruf als Lehrerin ausüben und weder die Öffentlichkeit noch irgendeinen Politiker mit meinem Vorhaben ärgern.

Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes: Hat sich aus Ihrer Sicht der lange Weg durch die Instanzen gelohnt, in dessen Verlauf Sie eine öffentliche Person geworden sind – „die mit dem Kopftuch“, wie der wohl ironisch gemeinte Untertitel Ihres Buches lautet?

Fereshta Ludin: Ich bereue keinen Schritt. Vielmehr hätte ich es bereut, Ungerechtigkeiten ertragen zu müssen. Mit dem Gang durch die Instanzen habe ich mich aktiv gegen Diskriminierung eingesetzt. Viele Frauen waren ebenso betroffen wie ich. Eine öffentliche Person zu werden, war dabei nie meine Absicht. Deutschlands Öffentlichkeit hat das Thema ‚Kopftuch‘ auf mich fokussiert und viele gebildete und kompetente Frauen auf ihr Tuch reduziert. Jahrelang. Ich hoffe, dass sich das in Zukunft ändert. Das wäre mein Wunsch.

Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes: Wie haben Sie die Reaktionen auf die Debatte erlebt: Gab es Unterstützung von Menschen, mit der Sie nicht gerechnet haben? Und gab es andererseits auch Kritik, die Sie überrascht hat?

Fereshta Ludin: Kritik gab es immer und fast von allen Seiten, auch von der muslimischen Community. Ich war überrascht, als Politiker*innen den Mut hatten, sich positiv zu der Debatte zu äußern, und sie sich unabhängig davon, was sie selbst zum Thema Kopftuch dachten, für das gleiche Recht auf Arbeit und gegen die Diskriminierung dieser Frauen einsetzten. Das habe ich aber nur bei sehr wenigen bewundern können.

Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes: Wie empfinden Sie heute die Situation für Frauen, die in Deutschland ein Kopftuch tragen? Würden Sie sagen, die Atmosphäre in der Öffentlichkeit hat sich geändert?

Fereshta Ludin: Die Atmosphäre hat sich politisch geändert. Sie ist nicht mehr so verschlossen und vorurteilshaft, aber es gibt noch viel in der Antidiskriminierungsarbeit zu tun. Aus meiner Sicht ist es entscheidend, sich stärker für die Selbstverständlichkeit von ethnischer, kultureller und religiöser Vielfalt einzusetzen und sie zu fördern. In den letzten 17 Jahren, das heißt seit Beginn der öffentlichen Debatte um das Kopftuch, haben muslimische Frauen einen sehr langen und schweren Weg der Diskriminierung gehen müssen. Das ist vielen nicht klar und wir sollten auch darüber offen reden und reflektieren können.

Buchcover

Cover des Buches Enthüllung der Fereshta Ludin. Die mit dem Kopftuch; Deutscher Levante Verlag

Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes: In Ihrem Buch schreiben Sie, dass Sie, seit Sie sich im Alter von 12 Jahren entschlossen haben, ein Kopftuch zu tragen, immer mit denselben Fragen konfrontiert werden: Ob Sie dazu gezwungen würden, es zu tragen, und ob das Kopftuch nicht ein Symbol der Unterdrückung sei usw.? Welche Frage(n) würden Sie sich stattdessen wünschen?

Fereshta Ludin: Ich möchte ungern ständig auf die Gründe eingehen oder mich dafür rechtfertigen müssen, weshalb ich mich persönlich entschieden habe, ein Tuch zu tragen. Jede Frau sollte selbst über ihre Kleidungsweise bestimmen dürfen, auch eine Muslima mit Kopftuch. Es sollte keine Rolle spielen, welche Glaubensüberzeugung der andere hat, wenn er/sie vor einem steht, ob Mann oder Frau. Entscheidend ist, was er/sie sagt, wie er/sie lebt oder handelt. Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch.

Die Fragen stellten unsere Kolleginnen Julia Jürgens und Rafiqa Younes vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität.

Die Lehrerin Fereshta Ludin wurde nach ihrem 1998 erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Referendariat nicht in den baden-württembergischen Schuldienst übernommen, weil sie nicht auf das Tragen ihres Kopftuchs verzichten wollte. Sie klagte sich daraufhin durch alle Instanzen. Am 24. September 2003 erging ein Urteil des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, das der Klägerin recht gab und befand, dass „ein Verbot für Lehrkräfte, in Schule und Unterricht ein Kopftuch zu tragen, […] im geltenden Recht des Landes Baden-Württemberg keine hinreichend bestimmte gesetzliche Grundlage“ fände.

Zugleich wurden die Bundesländer auf die Möglichkeit hingewiesen, eine solche Verbotsgrundlage neu zu schaffen. In der Folge erließen acht Bundesländer Gesetze, die das Tragen von religiösen Kleidungsstücken sowie Symbolen im Schuldienst und zum Teil auch in anderen Bereichen des öffentlichen Dienstes untersagen. In fünf Bundesländern (Baden-Württemberg, Bayern, Hessen, Nordrhein-Westfalen sowie dem Saarland) wurden in verschiedener Form Ausnahmen für christlich-abendländische und jüdische Kleidungsstücke und Zeichen formuliert.

Am 27. Januar 2015 hat das Bundesverfassungsgericht in einer neuen Entscheidung ein pauschales Kopftuchverbot für Lehrkräfte an öffentlichen Schulen für verfassungswidrig erklärt.

Zitierempfehlung: 
Julia Jürgens, Rafiqa Younes (2015), „Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“. Einige Fragen an Fereshta Ludin.
URL: www.jmberlin.de/node/6345
Interviewreihe (12) Neue deutsche Geschichten Alle anzeigen

Neue deutsche Geschichten

Im Rahmen der Reihe Neue deutsche Geschichten laden unsere Kolleg*innen vom Akademieprogramm zu Migration und Diversität seit 2014 regelmäßig Gesprächspartner*innen ins Jüdische Museum ein, um mit ihnen anhand ihrer Biografien Geschichte und Gegenwart Deutschlands als Migrationsgesellschaft zu thematisieren. Fast immer entstehen im Vorfeld dieser Veranstaltungen Interviews, die wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt haben.

Karamba Diaby

26. Mai 2017
„Diese Repräsentationskluft sollten wir schließen“

Anita Awosusi

6. Februar 2017
Über ihr Buch Vater unser – Eine Sintifamilie erzählt

Ármin Langer

18. Oktober 2016
„Von der Langeweile des friedlichen Zusammenlebens“

Marion Kraft

6. Juli 2016
“Der Anteil, den Schwarze Soldaten an der Befreiung Deutschlands vom Faschismus hatten, droht in Vergessenheit zu geraten”

Çiçek Bacık

13. Oktober 2015
„Bisher wurde immer über uns gesprochen und geschrieben“

Fereshta Ludin

16. September 2015
„Ich wünsche mir, dass man mir mehr in die Augen schaut als auf das Tuch“

David Ranan

6. Juli 2015
„Anders, aber nicht fremd“

Ahmad Milad Karimi

9. März 2015
„Warum ich gerne Muslim bin und wieso Marlon Brando viel damit zu tun hat“

Alina Gromova

8. September 2014
Generation „koscher light“
Junge russischsprachige Jüdinnen*Juden in Berlin

Canan Turan

4. Juli 2014
Kıymet oder:
Eine filmische Hommage an meine Großmutter

Urmila Goel und Nisa Punnamparambil-Wolf

19. März 2014
InderKinder
Über den kreativen Umgang mit Zuschreibungen

Alice Bota, Khuê Pham und Özlem Topçu

29. Januar 2014
„Neue deutsche Geschichten“